Started By
Message

Louisiana lawmaker again trying to do away with vehicle inspection stickers (brake tags)

Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:23 pm
Posted by Motorboat
At the camp
Member since Oct 2007
22635 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:23 pm
Good. Let's get behind this bill.

WAFB

A northwest Louisiana lawmaker again is trying to get rid of the state’s vehicle inspection stickers.

State Rep. Larry Bagley said his first proposal was eight years ago. He believes it did not pass because the governor at the time was not in favor of it. But with a newly elected Republican governor, Bagley has written a new proposal in hopes of getting rid of the stickers.

“What better way to show the people that he (Gov. Jeff Landry) wants to tighten things down and give them some of their money back and take one of these small taxes off everybody?” he said.

Bagley said that state inspection stickers are an unnecessary nuisance.
Posted by Shexter
Prairieville
Member since Feb 2014
13815 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:23 pm to

TAX ON THE POOR!
Posted by jbgleason
Bailed out of BTR to God's Country
Member since Mar 2012
18888 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:24 pm to
That man has my vote!
Posted by Ryan3232
Valet driver for TD staff
Member since Dec 2008
25770 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:25 pm to
As someone with an inspection sticker that expired January 2024, I can get behind this. The idea of going to waste a lunch break has been consistently getting pushed back
Posted by PureBlood
The Motherland
Member since Oct 2021
3829 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:26 pm to
Any road in the state will show that the money is not being utilized where it's been intended and therefore should be considered an illegal tax
Posted by Swagga
504
Member since Dec 2009
16095 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:27 pm to
As someone with a brake tag that expired in 2021 I can also get behind this

Screw those things.
Posted by Pettifogger
Capitol Hill Autonomous Zone
Member since Feb 2012
78997 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:27 pm to
I assumed brake tags in LA were just like emission certificates, is that not the case?
Posted by TigerintheNO
New Orleans
Member since Jan 2004
41128 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:28 pm to
quote:

expired January 2024




Mine expired when Trump was still President
Posted by CarRamrod
Spurbury, VT
Member since Dec 2006
57401 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:28 pm to
i havent gotten an inspection sticker since 2012.
Posted by bayoudude
Member since Dec 2007
24938 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:29 pm to
quote:

I assumed brake tags in LA were just like emission certificates, is that not the case?


Nope they only test emissions in Nola and Baton Rouge that I’m aware of. It was always blinkers, wipers, brake lights , high beam, low beam and horn

ETA: MS resident now and they don’t have them. They do hit me with a damn ad Valorem tax yearly for registration that’s quite steep.
This post was edited on 2/20/24 at 1:31 pm
Posted by CarRamrod
Spurbury, VT
Member since Dec 2006
57401 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:29 pm to
quote:

Mine expired when Trump was still President
1 upped.
Posted by Pettifogger
Capitol Hill Autonomous Zone
Member since Feb 2012
78997 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:30 pm to
Ah, so they genuinely check to see if those functions work and you have to pay someone to verify that annually?

I've seen a million threads about brake tags over the years I just never stopped to think about what it actually entailed.
Posted by CarRamrod
Spurbury, VT
Member since Dec 2006
57401 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:31 pm to
quote:

Nope they only test emissions in Nola and Baton Rouge
its a 5 parish region. (Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston, and West Baton Rouge parishes)
Posted by KamaCausey_LSU
Member since Apr 2013
14441 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:32 pm to
Relevant last paragraph of the article. Just more evidence that inspection stickers have never been about public safety.

quote:

Revenue from state inspection stickers typically goes to Louisiana State Police. But with a new tax on vaping products, LSP is now in favor of the removal of inspection stickers.
Posted by LA Lightning
Member since Jun 2023
134 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:32 pm to
Checking in. Mine expired in 2019.
Posted by SixthAndBarone
Member since Jan 2019
8102 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:34 pm to
How can any republican support an unneccesary regulation taht results in a created fee/tax? And don't tell me the mom and pops won't survive, if they rely on fees forced by our government to survive, then that's their problem.
Posted by Bard
Definitely NOT an admin
Member since Oct 2008
51374 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:35 pm to
quote:

As someone with an inspection sticker that expired January 2024, I can get behind this. The idea of going to waste a lunch break has been consistently getting pushed back



Mine expires at the end of the month but I can't get it renewed because I don't have the new registration. Checked the OMV to renew, but they say it's current. Now I am having to call and wait in a queue when I have the time.
Posted by boxcarbarney
Above all things, be a man
Member since Jul 2007
22695 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:35 pm to
I had my windshield replaced two months ago, and I haven't gotten a new brake tag yet.
This post was edited on 2/20/24 at 2:03 pm
Posted by GreatLakesTiger24
COINTELPRO Fan
Member since May 2012
55520 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:36 pm to
mine expired over 3 years ago
Posted by BigBinBR
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2023
3893 posts
Posted on 2/20/24 at 1:47 pm to
This sounds great and all, but Ascension, East Baton Rouge, Iberville, Livingston and West Baton Rouge parishes will all still have to have inspections. It will just be the emissions part.

It’s a requirement of the Clean Air Act of 1970.
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram