Posted by
Message
Thomas Owen
Member since Feb 2018
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello Everyone,

I have read a lot of this great forum and feeling very good about my decision to start this program. Now, I need a bit of advice based on what will be offered Spring AP2.
I have been out of school for 20 years, and have the time to devote to this daily, but will do only 1 class per term initially.

The available courses for me are:
ECON 705
ISDS 705
MADM 760

I am an Electrical Engineer, but have served as CIO and manager of accounting for 20 years of a private New York company. I understand finance and accounting, as well as computing, social networks etc.

Where should I start with the program to get back into it, and why? Any one of these 3 would probably work out, but maybe something that gets me used to the online program and test taking?

Thanks so much -


mtntreks
Member since Oct 2016
153 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
There are multiple teachers in AP2 that we don't have a lot of information on. I recommend for ECON and MADM 760 you take with the known good professors, as it will get you off to a good start with the program.

ECON 705 with Shaughnessy - Mainly gathering data and running regressions in Excel.

ISDS 705 with Lin - supposedly the easiest course/teacher in the program. If you're looking to double up, it would be with this class.

MADM 760 with Meeks - Good teacher, very responsive. Lots of videos to watch every week. Uses some well known popular business books vs textbooks. A fair amount of writing, but not horrible.

I'd start with either MADM 760 or ECON 705. MADM 760 with Meeks is one of the best courses in the program, so I'd probably go with this one since you have a solid business background.



Thomas Owen
Member since Feb 2018
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks for the advice - I very much appreciate it.
Now, here is one of the things that concerns me about the 7 weeks sessions...

There is a 4 day period (Thursday - Sunday) about 2/3 of the way through where we do a company retreat, and it would be very close to impossible to do any coursework.
In fact, many times we purposely go off places where we have a chance to brainstorm and roundtable ideas without outside distractions.
I am very concerned about reaching a point during the term where I have difficulty preparing or submitting a required assignment on a Saturday.

Do the professors have any leeway to work with you in circumstances like this?

Thoughts?


darkfather79
North Carolina St. Fan
Leland, NC
Member since Oct 2017
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

...the way he words the results questions."


My thoughts exactly. For example question two of the homework from week 2, the restaurant/grocery store question. After going outside of the class to find additional teaching, I understand the hypothesis testing process much better. I have major concerns about the exam as well, especially since he could not really answer valid questions concerning it. "Refer to the syllabus" is not an answer you want to give students taking extra time to learn the material with you. Especially since the syllabus is a cookie-cutter production with one page of material specific to the class (grading & testing procedures).


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Laggard15
Highland, CA
Member since Feb 2018
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@Diedaily

Thanks for the heads up. I was hoping that it may be an easy class since I have been in HealthCare admin for 10 years... but if the class is so disorganized and the tests are ridiculous then I think I will have to hold off for now...



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
126 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

There is a 4 day period (Thursday - Sunday) about 2/3 of the way through where we do a company retreat, and it would be very close to impossible to do any coursework.
In fact, many times we purposely go off places where we have a chance to brainstorm and roundtable ideas without outside distractions.
I am very concerned about reaching a point during the term where I have difficulty preparing or submitting a required assignment on a Saturday.


Your post is not clear, 2/3 of the way through what; AP2, every week, every 7 week session. As far as leeway, there is none that I see. You literally need to be on your death bed to get a bye and even in that situation if you could have foreseen yourself being on said death bed, you're still screwed.

A lot of graded quizzes and papers do not open until Fridays, so that means you need to make sure you have the time and connectivity to meet requirements.

Do yourself a favor and before you start make 100% sure you have the time to devote and the flexibility in your schedule to take this endeavor on.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
DieDaily
LSU Fan
West of a white house
Member since Mar 2010
2419 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Do the professors have any leeway to work with you in circumstances like this?
I don't think you're going to be able to work around this. You could, of course, email the professor for whatever class it is that you plan on taking before the class starts and explain the situation to them, but I suspect they're going to tell you it's not fair to other students who have made their own sacrifices, blah blah blah, etc.

You may just need to sit out the sessions where you're "disconnected" for 4 days. Confirm this with admissions, but my understanding is that you have to complete the program within 5 years of your start date. The classes don't have to be taken consecutively.


Thomas Owen
Member since Feb 2018
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks for the replies, and I want to be clear.
Yes, it is only one time in the entire 7 week period when I would not be available for the 4 days and this occurs April 12-15th.

I ask the question because it is a concern to me, but hate to miss the entire term just because of this one block.

Thanks,
Thomas


mtntreks
Member since Oct 2016
153 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
You're probably fine taking what's essentially a long weekend with the classes you're considering.

ECON705 and MADM760 both just need things in by a certain day/time at the end of the week and don't care when you do the work.

MADM760 does have a group work component, and you must attend the group video conference, but most groups do this early in the week and then split off and do the work which is compiled separately at the end.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
WDE251
Auburn Fan
Texas
Member since Dec 2017
101 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@mtntreks

Agreed regarding the reflection project last week


CajunPilot1
Chicago Cubs Fan
Lafayette, LA
Member since Dec 2017
75 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
When are those taking the FIN 701 exam? It'll likely be tomorrow evening for me.


CCGRAD87
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lafayette
Member since Nov 2017
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Quick accounting question for you guys (the department, not the class). Is it customary that the tuition for both Spring AP1 and Spring AP2 are taken out of the Spring AP1 refund? This seems odd to me. Why wouldn’t they split the charge like they split the refund disbursement?


darkfather79
North Carolina St. Fan
Leland, NC
Member since Oct 2017
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@CCGRAD87 they do take the entire tuition bill out of your first disbursement.

http://www.lsus.edu/admissions-and-financial-aid/financial-aid


CCGRAD87
New Orleans Saints Fan
Lafayette
Member since Nov 2017
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’ll admit that that I only skimmed over that page. Thank you.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
signa7
Member since Aug 2017
74 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@Thomas Owen

It is definitely possible to do that. I took a course every term last year and went on 4 different long weekend trips. However, I knew the syllabus of the classes before i committed to the class. ECON705 is one where I took a Thursday-sunday off, I just had to really buckle down the beginning of the week to be able to take my assessment. When i took it the assessment opened on Wednesdays. That may have changed by now and I would email Shaudessy(? spelling)to find out.I ended the class with and A.

The one class I know without a doubt you could do that on based on ease of class would be ISDS705 with LIN. The only problem is there were 3 test that had to be taken on certain days. If you could get a syllabus for that term you would know. ISDS705 with Lin is by far the easiest class in the program. I went ahead and took it before it changes. It is NOT a good indicator of how hard the program is, so if you take it as your first class do not think the program will be a breeze. If you can search a PDF you will pass with a high A.
I have not taken MADM760 yet but by reading other post i feel it would be hard to take off because of the group work involved.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Buck Strickland
Arlen, Texas
Member since Sep 2017
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm taking it Wednesday evening. Even though we have one under our belt, and I'm satisfied with how I did, I'm not comfortable with module 2.


hannat
Southern California
Member since Jun 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Multis10 Who did you take for FIN710?


Multis10
Member since Aug 2017
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Dr. Chengho Hsieh. Currrently taking it


bookdragon19
Member since Dec 2017
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am taking mine on Wednesday. And I am not looking forward to it. I did pretty decently on the first one, but I think that was just luck and lenient grading.

Good luck on the exam!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
hannat
Southern California
Member since Jun 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Multis10 I heard he was difficult.


Jump to page
Page First 226 227 228 229 230 ... 309
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 228 of 309next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram