Posted by
Message
festivalsandfitness
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Nov 2017
7 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone have an old syllabus from Meeks MADM 760? I would just like to see the schedule because I will be out of town for a few days and want to see if the group project falls within that period. My email is ashmig05@gmail.com if anyone could email it. Thanks!


Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
1133 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
There is a group project every week. You meet with your group and make a powerpoint/video going over the assigned case study


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Buck Strickland
Arlen, Texas
Member since Sep 2017
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
ashl3yc0x, I am working on figuring out Excel. I can use the formulas for NPV, IRR, and MIRR. Is there a source for finding formulas that aren't included in Excel by default? I've done some general web searches and haven't found much.


DieDaily
LSU Fan
West of a white house
Member since Mar 2010
2419 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Is there a source for finding formulas that aren't included in Excel by default?
You should be able to setup every problem in Excel without having to download any extra formulas, macros, etc. However, how to setup each problem might not always be obvious.

I know y'all said he doesn't require the textbook any more but does he still provide the Excel Tool Kits? The textbook we used when I took the class (which I thought was pretty decent) had sections where they would explain how to solve problems both in Excel and with a financial calculator. The great thing about the Excel examples was that Vines provided the Excel files that the text was using. So, you could actually dig into the formulas while you read, which I always found helpful.

Regardless, here are the tool kits he provided when I took the class.

LINK (Click the link and then click the download button in the upper right. Open these in MS Excel, not Google Spreadsheets.)

One watch-out for Excel novices are absolute references, which are when a function points at a specific cell (or cells) regardless of where you copy and paste that function. If you decide to start modifying these tool kits for your own purposes, make sure all of the functions are pointing where you expect them to. You can get burned otherwise.

Also, remember that Vines gives partial credit for showing your work: functions, formulas, etc. Don't rely on these toolkits too much or you might not be able to show any work because of an over-reliance on Excel functions.
This post was edited on 2/8 at 7:55 pm


craig_miamifl
Member since Jul 2017
109 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@DieDaily
Thanks for that. To my knowledge I don't think he's provided those. The class material is a few MS word pages he's created. For me it's been far and away the toughest course in the program so far.

The MS word reading material is more conducive to those with finance experience IMO. It's actually more reading (and video watching) overall filling in the gaps. You're really teaching yourself finance.

I thought going into the session based upon reading prior reviews that MADM701 would be the larger time commitment but FIN is taking much more.

Vines seems to be good giving partial credit and does many zoom sessions. I feel way behind the curve with some of the material discussed. Some of the stuff I don't even know what to ask. I can't be the only one lol. First course in program I've taken that I thought I really should have taken a prep course.

@Buck I don't know if it's going to help now but if you google Black Scholes calculator etc.. you can mess around with those. Using Excel and these calculators is the only way I'm surviving. The terminology itself is what I'm having to devote most my time to.
This post was edited on 2/8 at 8:46 pm


jwilliams339
Member since Jul 2017
35 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Grades are posted for Module 3 MADM701 Knotts


SkipDigs
South Carolina Fan
PA
Member since Aug 2016
54 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am kind of annoyed that I am losing points for minor errors in AP citation and that we are not able to see our errors. I know it will happen and I kind of allocate for it anyway as some instructors seem to really care about this more than others. It has not been an issue for me yet and I am just over half-way through the program, but I have a small accumulation of lost points for this. I get the idea that one must cite sources, but to lose points for something so trivial like a paragraph number for a direct quote from a website that nothing to with my understanding and application of the material seems strange. I mean really?? It has got to the point that, at times, I spend more time checking and re-checking my in-text citation format than I do actually writing the standard 2-page paper. I just think it would be wrong if someone had an 89 and ended up with a B due in part to an improper APA citation format. In all my years of business, I have not had do use APA for anything. rant done.


signa7
Member since Aug 2017
74 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@craig
I took FIN701 last fall and I felt like between it and ECON they were extremely time consuming. I spent so much time on the material and math in those classes and worried when I read that MKT701 and MADM701 are the most time consuming. I feel better reading your post because of your statement about MADM. I feel like i could have gotten by in FIN701 with a lot less time but I want to understand the material and get an A. The A is a personal goal. But to really learn the material in FIN and ECON it takes a lot of time. I have taken all the Math classes so far. Start next term With MADM760. It will be my first class with writing.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
mtntreks
Member since Oct 2016
153 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@SkipDigs

I'm not running into issues with APA, but I do see that that paragraph number is something they expect for direct quotes, so I guess it's valid. I'm in agreement though that the real business world don't use nor care about APA in any way shape or form. More to the point, not knowing what we get wrong is a bad change for the entire program and doesn't help learning.

@craig

FIN took a lot of effort on my part, and from what I remember, module 2 and Black Scholes is about the hardest it got. A lot of people recommend matching up a quant with a writing course, but I agree that the quant courses take some serious time if you don't already have a background in the subject.

@signa

MADM760 is a good one to get started with. Yes, it's a fair amount of writing, but most everything Meeks requires is what I'd call short answer format. There is a term paper that he wants in APA format, but he is one of the easiest and most lenient graders out there if you put in the effort and show you are thinking about the material.

I ended up with all writing courses for the last half of my degree. It wasn't my intention, but I ended up chasing the known good teachers and the quant ones ended up coming up first.


Buck Strickland
Arlen, Texas
Member since Sep 2017
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@DieDaily-Thanks a bunch. This really helps. To mirror what @Craig said, I am not aware of Professor Vines making anything like this available. I'm going to play around and see if I can educate myself on Excel. Does the Moodle system allow you to paste these formulas into the test answers section?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
SilverNblack
Member since Jul 2017
21 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I was wondering the same thing...Prof seemed vague to what type of questions and the details he would be focusing on. So I'm just going to cram as much info I can in. Especially, since his videos seem to focus on just one item from each chapter...any insight would be greatly appreciated. I plan on taking it tomorrow morning if all goes well.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
hannat
Southern California
Member since Jun 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Buck Strickland - you should go online and google how to calculate PV, IRR, MIRR and there are many youtube videos that show you how to calculate those steps by steps.


signa7
Member since Aug 2017
74 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@mtntreks

Thanks for the insight into MADM760. I have read nothing but positive things about Meeks and am looking forward to getting it started. These first 4 weeks in AP1 have flown by in ACCT701. I have never written in APA format so I may start looking into that. I was told of a program that helps with that but do not remember what it was.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
marssmi0827
Member since Jul 2017
74 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Fin 701 vines module 2 test grades are up


AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'm not seeing my grade showing yet. Must only be a portion of the class, so far.


craig_miamifl
Member since Jul 2017
109 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Looks like Vines has now posted everyone's initlal grades.
This post was edited on 2/10 at 8:59 am


Buck Strickland
Arlen, Texas
Member since Sep 2017
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@hannat-I have a decent understanding of NPV, IRR, and MIRR. However, I am struggling with completing problems 2-4 for module 3. I plan on attending/watching the Zoom sessions this week.

@craig-I assume finalized simply means he hasn't (if he is going to) curved the grades yet? My grade from module one did not change after finalization.


WDE251
Auburn Fan
Texas
Member since Dec 2017
101 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
MADM 701 (Knotts)

Module 4 exam was definitely easier than Module 3...or I just did a better job of preparing myself unlike last weeks fiasco.

Haven't heard much from the Williams MADM 701 folks. How is it going?


hannat
Southern California
Member since Jun 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Buck Strickland - I didn't understand a thing about the replacement chain and EAA from his material. His material is very confusing and I normally have to google more materials online to read. Once I understand the concept online, I go back and read his. I am struggling with his material about Cashflow Analysis myself. However, I understand problem 3-4, send me an email, I will send you my excel spreadsheet. You will understand the concept within a couple of minutes with my excel spreadsheet.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@hannat, @craig

FIN701 folks, someone generously shared the attached spreadsheet with all the calculations, pls see if these helps

FIN701_XLS


Jump to page
Page First 228 229 230 231 232 ... 309
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 230 of 309next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram