Posted by
Message
Multis10
Member since Aug 2017
40 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
He’s very approachable and host plenty of zoom sessions that allow you to ask questions. That being said, I wish the class was a different format. There are 4 tests and total of 168 points for the whole class. No curves, no assignments. It’s self taught via the word document book he has created. If you have a strong interest in finance I would say to take it but be advised that it will require quite a bit of work to thoroughly know the material. I think he’s a good professor but wish there was more video lesssons vs just reading from a book.


Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
963 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Those of you in ISDS 702, any idea of what to expect from the exam? Since the homeworks are about calculations and the exam won’t have any, I’m unsure of what to study so it’s a bit worrisome.
This post was edited on 2/6 at 9:41 pm


CajunPilot1
Houston Astros Fan
Lafayette, LA
Member since Dec 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I'm not comfortable with module 2.
I agree. I feel like this module has a wide range of topics. With only 10 questions it makes it difficult to prepare.

I'll be taking it at some point tonight. May be later than I would have liked. Good luck.


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
58 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Those of you in ISDS715, beyond reporting some significant issues a few weeks in, how's things looking mid way through? Did things improve or is it still a train wreck? I've got my eye on ISDS715 for summer AP2 but would like to wait until this course has its bugs worked out.


Thomas Owen
Member since Feb 2018
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello Everyone,

Very new to this...I am currently looking at an option of two different courses for Spring AP2 (my first term):

ECON 705
ISDS 705

Where can I see a list of the courses being offered and instructors?

Thanks


Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
963 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Have you been accepted? If so, you can view the available courses and the instructors at compass.lsus.edu. Once you log in, go to registration and select Add/Drop


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
hannat
Southern California
Member since Jun 2017
29 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone taken the FIN701 Exam yet? I will take it tonight and I am super nervous.


robbie022491
Member since May 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hannat,

I took it yesterday. Personally, I had more quantitative questions this time versus the first test but still had more qualitative than quantitative. Just keep your documents pulled up and your formulas ready and you should do fine. I had about 8 minutes left over to go back and make sure I was comfortable. On the first test, I ran out of time.


Thomas Owen
Member since Feb 2018
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello All,

looking at a late signup for Spring AP2 and the only thing I can take is ECON 705 with Dr. Mary White, or MADM 760 with Dr. Nathan Heller.

Any comments on either of these? My first term and sure wanted a good start...

Thanks


Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
963 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Have you tried searching this board? Both of those have been discussed before as they are new professors. It's unlikely anyone will know anything about them due to this.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
82
Buck Strickland
Arlen, Texas
Member since Sep 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just took it. I'll be surprised if I passed. I had about 6 quantitative problems. I'm honestly expecting I made around a 50.


AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Buck Strickland, I just took it and had about the same amount of quantitative questions as well. A little more complicated than I thought based on the wording, but I'm hoping to come out with a B..

The first test I finished all but one question in 30 minutes, so I was expecting it to be the same honestly since he mentioned average scores would increase throughout the course.


CajunPilot1
Houston Astros Fan
Lafayette, LA
Member since Dec 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just took the FIN 701 exam. I actually got all 10 conceptual questions. I spent a lot/most of my time preparing for the quantitative questions. Kind of a bad draw of questions for me. I'm anxious to see how I did.

Ah well, on to Module 3.


Roughly halfway through this term. Good luck to all in finishing strong.


hannat
Southern California
Member since Jun 2017
29 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
CajunPilot1 you are lucky because the calculation questions are a lot tricker than the materials. I finished mine too but can't predict the grade.


craig_miamifl
Member since Jul 2017
28 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Just finished FIN exam. 4 QUAN/6 QUAL. Went good. A lot more confident this exam.

W/o a finance background this course is just brutal personally. Terminology is what is killing me. I can throw the stuff on a spreadsheet/calculator and get the answer but understanding everything I'm doing is another. I'd highly advise anyone in same boat to prepare a bit before going into this course.

Off to Module 3
This post was edited on 2/8 at 12:06 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
963 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Those of you in FIN 701, are you working the practice problems in Excel? If so, the math should be simple. When I took the course I would just work all problems in Excel and find the comparable test question to plug the numbers in.


hranyone
Member since Jan 2018
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I wouldn't call it a train wreck, but it isn't any better. That said, it isn't difficult either. My complaints are not with the class (material, assignments, tests) but with the instructor. The assignments are not difficult if you read the information provided and the tests (as long as you memorize the power point slides verbatim) are easy. I do like the class. But it is also a topic I am very much interested in.

I can tolerate the instructor, he is just very hands off. Don't expect any communication from him, he won't respond to emails even when asked legitimate questions, and does nothing to engage the students like other professors in the program. But, the material is not rocket science so other than having a question such as "the syllabus states there are 7 tests but the course assignment schedule shows only 6" (which he has not responded to from over 2 weeks ago)...you get where I am going.

He has a lot of little mistakes in his power points - nothing that contradicts the information, just typos or missing information. But that is easy to look past, but at the graduate level I would expect a little bit more accuracy. He isn't quick to give grades back either. I have only received the first week's written assignment grade.

Overall, the class is ok. Not great but not bad.

Honestly, my two cents is that LSUS does a great job recruiting knowledge experts but need to consider there is more to teaching online than just knowledge. Many Universities require a higher education learning certification. I don't think LSUS requires one from what I can tell. I do believe the professor is extremely knowledgeable in the subject matter though. But, it's hard to tell because that whole no communication thing.

And, by the way, this is my second graduate degree from a non degree factory university and my spouse has 2 graduate degrees as well, so I am speaking from experience from 3 other online programs - I'm just not Mr. Complainer.

Excuse the typos...typing on phone
This post was edited on 2/8 at 12:12 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
craig_miamifl
Member since Jul 2017
28 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@Jeaux
Yep. Using Excel and online calculators. Wish they'd all be quantitative problems lol. Exam 1 I think I spent too much time focusing on the math. Hoping made up for it on Exam 2. Guess we'll see.
This post was edited on 2/8 at 12:18 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Buck Strickland
Arlen, Texas
Member since Sep 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Jeaux, I used calculators solely on exams one and two. I started trying excel today. My issue there is that I have very little experience with excel. The only two business classes I took in college were economics and that was over 20 years ago. I'm hitting it out of the park on courses that involve writing, but struggling with finance.


ashl3yc0x
Member since Aug 2017
78 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I would never have been able to get As in FIN701 without excel... its a lifesaver! I would highly recommend using it to solve homework problems and then use the excel templates to solve the exam problems.
This post was edited on 2/8 at 1:40 pm


Jump to page
Page First 227 228 229 230 231 ... 235
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 229 of 235next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram