- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Oregon player called out at home due to malicious contact
Posted on 5/31/25 at 10:45 am to lsupride87
Posted on 5/31/25 at 10:45 am to lsupride87
The ump

Posted on 5/31/25 at 10:45 am to TheOcean
quote:Nope. Not even close
Well that destroys all of pride's arguments
It’s very simple. The catcher establishes himself in front of the plate before a throw is ever made.
He immediately walked in front of the plate right as the pop fly is going out
Catcher up the line and in front of the plate with the Oregon runner still on third waiting to tag

This post was edited on 5/31/25 at 10:51 am
Posted on 5/31/25 at 10:52 am to lsupride87
quote:
3. What is the position of the throw to the plate?
a. If the ball is in flight directly toward and near enough to the fielder (within 60
feet) that the catcher can make a legitimate effort to field the throw, he is in the
act of fielding and can be blocking the runner’s pathway
Rule interpretation
Posted on 5/31/25 at 10:53 am to Srbtiger06
Right. And the catcher is up the line in front of the plate with the Oregon runner still on third….
The umps on the field made what most would call the correct call:calling nothing
But if you are going to review it and change the call on field it’s 100% obstruction. You can’t hang out in front of home plate before any throw is made and stay there
quote:He is in front of the plate before reacting to a single thing. It’s clear it’s obstruction from the own rule you posted
The “act of fielding” in Rule 8-7-c is defined as a “legitimate attempt to field the throw, ” providing the example of “in reaction to the direction, trajectory or the hop of the incoming throw, or in reaction to a throw that originates from the pitcher or drawn-in infielder.

The umps on the field made what most would call the correct call:calling nothing
But if you are going to review it and change the call on field it’s 100% obstruction. You can’t hang out in front of home plate before any throw is made and stay there
This post was edited on 5/31/25 at 10:57 am
Posted on 5/31/25 at 10:57 am to usc6158
quote:The ump did nothing wrong.
The ump
Posted on 5/31/25 at 11:03 am to lsupride87
quote:Must have been some big money riding on Utah Valley moneyline.
The crew made the right call. Repay was clearly rigged is my only thought
Posted on 5/31/25 at 11:10 am to lsupride87
quote:
The ump did nothing wrong.
Correct... the ruling on the field was runner safe at home
It was the replay official in Pittsburgh who overturned it to no obstruction, malicious contact, runner out & ejected (ETA: & auto suspended for Saturday's game)
Don't blame the umps on the field... blame the replay official all the way across the country
This post was edited on 5/31/25 at 11:12 am
Posted on 5/31/25 at 11:13 am to rt3
Also, just to be even more clear it was obstruction, the rule also reads you can block the plate if “in the act of receiving the ball”
The ball was past the catcher. He already blew it and the ball was way past him. He was no longer receiving the ball. He had “tried to receive the ball before and fricking sucked” when contact was made
The ball was past the catcher. He already blew it and the ball was way past him. He was no longer receiving the ball. He had “tried to receive the ball before and fricking sucked” when contact was made
Posted on 5/31/25 at 11:23 am to Lester Earl
Looks like an SEC ump to me
Posted on 5/31/25 at 11:32 am to Stonehog
quote:
Right call, runner clearly intended to hurt the catcher instead of trying to score. No attempt at a slide, he was just focused on tackling.
Didnt tackle, the Catcher blocked the plate without the ball.
The play was justified, the call was horrible.
Posted on 5/31/25 at 12:26 pm to Lester Earl
Really a bummer for our Duckies

Posted on 5/31/25 at 1:13 pm to SirWinston
The fact the kid misses the next game too is just the cherry on top of the shite sundae here.
Posted on 5/31/25 at 4:51 pm to ShamelessPel
This is a long rule and alot goes into it.
LINK
basically as I read it two things are at play, one of which is being overlooked by many IMO.
1) the player must avoid contact if there is a clear path to the plate. While this is arguable, if he slides to the side of the base he could touch home plate.
2) the catcher cannot block home plate without the possession of the ball. Unless he is attempting to field the ball. Even though the catcher in said play never had the ball, you can argue that he was in a position to make a play on the ball.
Rule 8-7a3 was applied here and is why the player was ejected.
I get that this used to be a part of baseball, but the rules are the rules. If he is sliding at this point they may have given him home, but because he was still upright when he made contact, I completely get why they ejected him and called him out.
LINK
basically as I read it two things are at play, one of which is being overlooked by many IMO.
1) the player must avoid contact if there is a clear path to the plate. While this is arguable, if he slides to the side of the base he could touch home plate.
2) the catcher cannot block home plate without the possession of the ball. Unless he is attempting to field the ball. Even though the catcher in said play never had the ball, you can argue that he was in a position to make a play on the ball.
Rule 8-7a3 was applied here and is why the player was ejected.
quote:
3) The runner must attempt to avoid a collision if he can reach the base without colliding.
PENALTY—If the contact is flagrant or malicious after the runner touches the base (plate), the runner is safe, but is ejected from the contest. The ball is immediately dead and all other base runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the collision. If this occurs at any base other than home, the offending team may replace the runner. If the contact occurs after a preceding runner touches home plate, the preceding runner is safe. The ball is immediately dead and all other base runners shall return to the last base touched at the time of the contact.
I get that this used to be a part of baseball, but the rules are the rules. If he is sliding at this point they may have given him home, but because he was still upright when he made contact, I completely get why they ejected him and called him out.
This post was edited on 5/31/25 at 4:59 pm
Posted on 5/31/25 at 5:08 pm to Stonehog
quote:
I’m glad you posted that frame
It further makes you look like an idiot so if that’s what you’re going for than good for you I guess.
This post was edited on 5/31/25 at 5:09 pm
Posted on 5/31/25 at 5:28 pm to RogerTheShrubber
quote:
Didnt tackle, the Catcher blocked the plate without the ball. The play was justified, the call was horrible.
Might wanna read the actual rules bro
Posted on 5/31/25 at 5:28 pm to Stonehog
quote:
Right call, runner clearly intended to hurt the catcher instead of trying to score.
You must be a f*cking Democrat. Only a Democrat could be that much of a fricking pussy.
And Democrats are wondering why all real men are leaving their party.
Posted on 5/31/25 at 5:39 pm to MMauler
The worst part is the coach from Directional Utah or wherever getting hyped that he is getting a break on a bs technicality. What a puss he looks like
Posted on 5/31/25 at 6:04 pm to HangmanPage1
Posted on 5/31/25 at 6:13 pm to Lester Earl
I thought the catcher could
Not be in base path without ball in glove?
I guess he dove head first late?
Is that the call?
Not be in base path without ball in glove?
I guess he dove head first late?
Is that the call?
Popular
Back to top
