Posted by
Message
marssmi0827
Member since Jul 2017
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Currently enrolled for MADM760 with Meeks for Fall II and received this email yesterday:

To prevent lots of emails asking me about the course textbooks, the following three texts are required (the first one is inexpensive, the second is free, and the third one is a case):

1. Playing to Win: How Strategy Really Works, 2013 (by A.G. Lafley & Roger Martin); Harvard Business Review Press 978-1422187395. This book typically costs $10-$20 from Amazon. It is a tremendous book.

2. Mastering Strategic Management , 2011 (by Dave Ketchen & Jeremy Short). Flat World Knowledge Publishers. This is a standard textbook and I have free pdf downloadable copies of each chapter available to students on our MOODLE page. If you wish, you may purchase an electronic version, a B&W or Color printed version from the publisher.

3. Harvard Business School Case Study W16763: Netflix Inc: Proving the Skeptics Wrong (Nov 18, 2016). Instructions for ordering this case will be found on MOODLE. This is a downloadable case - cost $8.95. If you have not used the Harvard system before, you will see you need to set up an account. Very simple to do. Order link: LINK

Does anyone have PDF’s of number 1 & 3?? If so can you please send to marssmi@icloud.com! TIA
This post was edited on 10/4 at 9:00 am


Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
884 posts
 Online 

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I would recommend buying the hardback copy of PTW. You have to read chapters every week and they can be lengthy. I'm personally not a fan of reading that much off a screen. As far as the Netflix case study, I doubt anyone has it because he changes the cases up for each course. I took MADM 760 Summer AP2 and ours was on U-Haul. When you purchase it, it will be a .PDF so no worries there


marssmi0827
Member since Jul 2017
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks for the heads-up!!!!


ashl3yc0x
Member since Aug 2017
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey guys,
Quick question- are we allowed to take a term off? A friend of mine was saying that once you start the program, you can't take a quarter off.


zdt
Member since Aug 2017
20 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
From the Master of Business Administration section of the 2017-2018 course catalog:

quote:

Catalog

If a student withdraws from the program for more than two regular sessions, he/she must re-enter under the catalog in effect at the time of re-entry.


quote:

Time Limit

A student has eight years to complete the MBA degree starting when he/she begins graduate-level coursework. If the student does not meet the time limit requirement before graduate courses are completed, he/she must re- enter under the catalog in effect at the time of re-entry or obtain approval from the Graduate Studies Committee, the Dean of the College of Business, Education, and Human Development, and Graduate Council to extend the time limit.


Sure looks like you can miss up to two sessions in a row without any particular consequences, and beyond that you're mostly placing yourself at the mercy of future program requirement changes. It's probably worth talking to your student coordinator if you have specific concerns.


ashl3yc0x
Member since Aug 2017
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks! Yeah I want to take next summer off. Traveling + MBA doesn't work well when you want to keep a 4.00


9BREES9
New Orleans Saints Fan
Thibodaux
Member since Jan 2009
1018 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone made it to Acct- Ch. 5 yet? If so, how are y'all studying the different types of transactions? Or are you not worrying about the math in this chapter? FYI, there's a forum post where Ambrosio provided a study guide for the Final.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
----------------------------------------------------------
quote:
If you guys still need the ISDS 705 PDF give me an email address.
----------------------------------------------------------

Thanks SkipDigs! can you send it to mrperrygu@gmail.com as well.


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Guys, I am planning to take all of the Finance as specialization (FIN 710, 720 & 730). Could you guys shed some light in terms of the study involved and your experience with the professor. Also are these exams proctored, trying to gauge whether its worth doing specialization in finance or should look at alternatives
This post was edited on 10/4 at 1:28 pm


GSMBA16
Member since Aug 2016
111 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I had FIN 730 with Vines and all you need to do is Study and read the guide. I had FIN 720 with C. Hsiegh and it was a bit more difficult than FIN 701 & FIN 730. There is A LOT of computations and his True/False is very tricky. Finished FIN 720 with a 89.98 and got a B for the class, so when he states that there is no rounding he MEANS it!!! I am currently in FIN 720 with C. Hsiegh and it has been the hardest FINANCE class so far. The first two exams were TERRIBLE and he had everything but death threats coming his way from the students. There were over 80 students in that class to start with and now there is 47. People were dropping like flies after the 2nd exam. His first two test was all about Foreign Exchange rates and his presentation of the material "SUCKED", I don't have a professional way of putting it other than point blank. I have to make a mid B on this last test to make a "B" in the class which I will be more proud of than any "A" that I have made before. Those 2 Finance classes are the only "B's" that I have in the program and I have 2 classes left to take. Hope that helps!


jwilliams339
Member since Jul 2017
21 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone done the BADM 790 International Experience course? If so where did you go? What was it like? Would you recommend it? Was it well organized?


mayday904
Member since Jun 2017
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Quote:

If you guys still need the ISDS 705 PDF give me an email address.

I could use a copy.

mason882001@yahoo.com

Thanks!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Cin8
Maryland Fan
Nation's Capital
Member since Aug 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you in advance SkipDigs for the ISDS 705 PDF
Using brackets around "@" to prevent spam:

shoppinggurl[@]gmail.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Cin8
Maryland Fan
Nation's Capital
Member since Aug 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I signed up for the trip and was told this is a new program.


DC213
LSU Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jan 2016
53 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I got this report:
3. Harvard Business School Case Study W16763: Netflix Inc: Proving the Skeptics Wrong (Nov 18, 2016).

As well as the ISDS 705 book, a pdf version of the Mastering Strategic Management 2011 book and the epub version of the Playing to Win book.

Let me know if you need it.
This post was edited on 10/4 at 5:15 pm


marssmi0827
Member since Jul 2017
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@DC213 I’ll take the report & Playing to Win book please!! marssmi@icloud.com
This post was edited on 10/4 at 5:34 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Cin8
Maryland Fan
Nation's Capital
Member since Aug 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi DC213, would love a copy of the Netflix case study, playing to win, and the mastering strategic management book.

Adding brackets around "@" to prevent spam - shoppinggurl[@]gmail.com

Thanks in advance!
This post was edited on 10/4 at 6:31 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

The first two exams were TERRIBLE and he had everything but death threats coming his way from the students.


Man this is brutal


@GSMBA16, many thanks for providing valuable insight, are you planning to take FIN710 as well, and also do you know if FIN720 is done by Dr Vines.... based on above i would like to avoid Hseigh..
This post was edited on 10/4 at 6:44 pm


9BREES9
New Orleans Saints Fan
Thibodaux
Member since Jan 2009
1018 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
perry_g5, I am finishing up the program in a week. I will have the Finance specialization tag. I had Dr. Vines for FIN 701 and 730. Take him when he is available as he is OUTSTANDING. One of the best professors the program has to offer and it's not close. For FIN 720, I had no choice but to take Dr. Hsieh. His class was brutal. The only "B" that I received in the program. I made a "C" on his first exam as the class average was a 74. After that, I was able to finish with a B as I made A's on my remaining exams as I learned how he taught. He provided no chat sessions, no structure, no help, no curve. Now, the 1st test, I should've put forth more effort (Right after Christmas break). I learned a tremendous amount of material in his class and I loved it, obviously with being a FIN undergrad and grad student. He's just a tough professor and you absolutely need to have your head screwed on right for that session when you take him. I didn't have to take 710 due to my degree audit but it's my understanding that Dr. Hsieh teaches that course as well. Good luck on your journey


craig_miamifl
Member since Jul 2017
21 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@DC213:

Could you send the Netflix Case Study, Mastering Strategic Management and Playing to Win?

sarahkary28@yahoo.com

Thanks!




Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jump to page
Page First 163 164 165 166 167 ... 204
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 165 of 204next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram