Posted by
Message
DEG
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Jul 2009
9161 posts

Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Chris Blair is a good dude and has been a great ambassador for LSU, don't get me wrong. This is about what happens in the booth. His voice is inauthentic and his enthusiasm is too tempered and comes off manufactured at times.

Hawthorn, for all of his errors, never lacked authenticity and his voice was unique and recognizable. And he never held back.

Thanks for listening guys. I feel better now.


Mickey Goldmill
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2010
9321 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I actually 100% agree with you. He's much more polished obviously but his "big calls" just don't get me excited like Hawthorne's did.


UrbanBaw
LSU Fan
Tulsa, OK
Member since Aug 2019
17 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Not a fan of Blair either


Caymus
Northwestern St. Fan
Member since Jul 2015
344 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I remember my first time hearing Jim Hawthorne, all I thought was that is the perfect voice to call LSU football.


TigerStick
LSU Fan
Atlanta, GA
Member since Aug 2005
1052 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I agree.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
213
jimbeam
USA Fan
University of LSU
Member since Oct 2011
56179 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Agreed


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
184
Olric
New Orleans Pelicans Fan
New Orleans
Member since Jul 2015
470 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I'd much rather know what happened than have a broadcaster excitedly get the call wrong 2-3 times


DEG
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Jul 2009
9161 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
quote:

He's much more polished obviously but his "big calls" just don't get me excited like Hawthorne's did.


well said


AustinKnight
LSU Fan
Austin, TX
Member since May 2012
3398 posts
 Online 

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
As his love for LSU grows calling games and his comfort zone expands it will become more authentic.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
962
Tiger on the Rag
LSU Fan
Cattle Gap Egypt
Member since Jan 2018
2802 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Agree


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
23
TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
David Bowman
LSU Fan
Member since Jul 2019
77 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I may be in the minority but I couldn't stand Hawthorne. He constantly screwed up calls ("Jack Hunt!!!") and was sooo negative when things weren't going great. Every pass completed against us was "wide open". Killed me to listen to him. We're lucky to have Blair.


rilesrick
Member since Mar 2015
6512 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
First 20 Year Jim is way better than First 3 Year Blair. But tired old Jim sucked and needed to go. Blair has done a good job to this point.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
795
thunderbird1100
LSU Fan
GSU Eagles fan
Member since Oct 2007
57240 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Blair is way better, Hawthorne flat out would get calls wrong, no idea why people think he was so irreplaceable.
This post was edited on 9/11 at 2:25 pm


jmon
LSU Fan
Mandeville, LA
Member since Oct 2010
2795 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
quote:

He's much more polished obviously AND his "big calls" ARE NEVER WRONG


Not hating on Jim, but I'd say for what both did and do, they are probably even.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
89
Solo Cam
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Sep 2015
14371 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Just due to nostalgia Jim will always be the voice of the Tigers for me.

I can listen to him calling 97 Florida close my eyes and be 5 years old beside my brother again.

With that said - someone needs to tell Chris that the “put a tiger 6 on it” shite needs to go. Corny asf


SCP
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2016
436 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Hawthorn may have been good 20 years ago. The last 5-10 years of listening to him call a game was excruciatingly painful. He should have retired a decade before he did IMO.


DEG
LSU Fan
Atlanta
Member since Jul 2009
9161 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
quote:

Blair is way better, Hawthorne flat out would get calls wrong


His passion and enthusiasm was a fair tradeoff for me, but I get it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
121
Alt26
LSU Fan
Member since Mar 2010
13753 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I had to listen to the radio call for the first time in forever last week due to being out of the country and unable to get my stream to work in the 2nd half. With Blair you understand exactly what is happening. IMO that is the most important part. However, he does lack the pure excitement of Hawthorne.

Also, Doug Moreau is useless. His "analysis" is basically the obvious observations my grandfather might discuss while watching the game. It's clear he doesn't do a deep dive into game prep. Nothing personal against him, but he doesn't really bring anything to the table.


sta4ever
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2014
4695 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
Jim was a fan. Chris is still new to Baton Rouge. Jim was calling straight from the heart with his excitement and passion for the Tigers. Anytime we had a big win in football or a walk off in baseball, I always had to go and find Hawthorne’s call for those particular plays because they were always special.

Jim will forever be the Voice of the Tigers to me. Grew up listening to him call games on 98.1


The Pirate King
Texas Tech Fan
Pangu
Member since May 2014
30993 posts

re: Unpopular opinion: Jim Hawthorn > Chris Blair
I’ve gotten blasted for saying this.

Blair sounds too sterile and rehearsed


Page 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 8next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram