Started By
Message
locked post

Andy Reid: I asked officials to review Joe Mixon fumble, they said he gave himself up

Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:24 pm
Posted by slackster
Houston
Member since Mar 2009
91319 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:24 pm
PFFLINK

Twitter video of play in question

quote:

NFL rule - when a runner declares himself down by: (1) falling to the ground or kneeling, and clearly making no immediate effort to advance,


What say you?
Posted by LooseCannon22282
Mobile, AL.
Member since May 2008
35403 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:26 pm to
I say the Chiefs lost that ballgame on that blunder at the one-yard line at the end of the 1st half.

sorry for the bit of derailment here but frick KC


they burned my parlay card.

let me melt Dammit
Posted by TheWalrus
Land of the Hogs
Member since Dec 2012
46135 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:26 pm to
I’d have melted like never before if they called it
Posted by Adam Banks
District 5
Member since Sep 2009
36381 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:26 pm to
Between this and winning off a coin flip technicality if the refs had called this a fumble then legit arguments the nfl would have been fixing things
This post was edited on 1/30/22 at 6:28 pm
Posted by gameovergt
Orange Park, FL via Stevenson, AL
Member since Nov 2010
1963 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:26 pm to
No fumble. Mixon assumed the player that touched him was a KC Chief. Given himself up on play.
Posted by saintsfan22
baton rouge
Member since May 2006
78444 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:27 pm to
quote:

I say the Chiefs lost that ballgame on that blunder at the one-yard line at the end of the 1st half.

The blunder on the 5 yard line with 80 seconds left where they go from "maybe they let them score" to two straight sacks.
Posted by sgallo3
Lake Charles
Member since Sep 2008
25252 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:28 pm to
He got touched before he went down also. But when he is down he lays his right shoulder pad into the ground to give himself up anyway
Posted by flyingtexastiger
Southlake, TX
Member since Oct 2005
1752 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:29 pm to
quote:

when a runner declares himself down by: (1) falling to the ground or kneeling, and clearly making no immediate effort to advance,


Think you answered your own question there???

When did the whistle blow?
Posted by Joshjrn
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2008
31519 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:29 pm to
I don't know the rule, but my kneejerk is that a player who believes themselves to be downed (and actually making contact with the ground) who then lets go of the ball intentionally has given themselves up. But knowing the NFL, there's some super arcane rule on the subject.
Posted by LooseCannon22282
Mobile, AL.
Member since May 2008
35403 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:29 pm to
quote:

The blunder on the 5 yard line with 80 seconds left where they go from "maybe they let them score" to two straight sacks.




Yes.

but would they even be in that situation had they gotten a TD before half?

or even a FG?

I don't know
Posted by H-Town Tiger
Member since Nov 2003
60726 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:30 pm to
He’s not down by contact?
Posted by shel311
McKinney, Texas
Member since Aug 2004
112623 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:30 pm to
quote:

What say you?
First watch looked like he obviously tripped and/or fell

After a couple of watches, I'm thinking maybe he did give himself up.
Posted by UAinSOUTHAL
Mobile,AL
Member since Dec 2012
5207 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:31 pm to
Mixon literally stands up with the ball and drops it after his knee was down.
Posted by Corporal Beavis
Member since Aug 2013
1297 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:35 pm to
Looks like 55(frank Clark?) reaches and grabs him on his way down which I believe would be down by contact.

If he didn't touch him though, at what point is he "giving himself up". Cause if he got up and ran to the endzone that very well may be a TD
Posted by nvasil1
Hellinois
Member since Oct 2009
17423 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:36 pm to
quote:

quote:

The blunder on the 5 yard line with 80 seconds left where they go from "maybe they let them score" to two straight sacks.

Yes.

but would they even be in that situation had they gotten a TD before half?

or even a FG?

Let's face it, the Chiefs end-of-half management today made Les Miles blush.

They seemed caught between 2 or 3 minds on what to do. Almost like they were listening to Romo.
Posted by slackster
Houston
Member since Mar 2009
91319 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:37 pm to
quote:

He’s not down by contact?


Nope. Hit his own guy.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
288259 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:37 pm to
Unless there is a deeper description to that rule,


He fell to the ground, and:

clearly making no immediate effort to advance,
Posted by SteelerBravesDawg
Member since Sep 2020
43337 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:38 pm to
I think he gave himself up.
Posted by slackster
Houston
Member since Mar 2009
91319 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:40 pm to
You can’t see it on the video in the OP, but he wasn’t touched by any defender.

I thought the whistle may have blown live, and even in the replay he clearly didn’t make an attempt to advance.

It wasn’t “giving yourself up” in the traditional sense, but it checks the box imo.
Posted by Madking
Member since Apr 2016
66140 posts
Posted on 1/30/22 at 6:41 pm to
Looked like he tripped on the guys foot to me
This post was edited on 1/30/22 at 6:42 pm
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram