Posted by
Message
socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Well, Saturday night I took the final exam in FIN 730. I'm now finished in the MBA program! It's a surreal feeling. It seems like yesterday that I was starting out in my first class, MKT 701. It was actually July of last year.

I am so very grateful that I found this TigerDroppings thread dedicated to the LSUS MBA program. I can't begin to express how helpful the people I've met on this thread have been. I received so many tips and advice that made the process much smoother.

Big thanks to Lsusports. We became close friends and he shared a wealth of knowledge. We encouraged each other across the finish line. You're the man!

Also thanks goes out to Winchester12, he too became a great friend as we went through multiple classes together. His advice and guidance were extremely helpful.

Also a shout-out to Paul Allen. He was able to help me with choosing class order and professors. Also shared tips on professor styles and preferences.

Others that helped alot were Wolfpack714, 9BREES9, Jeaux Cool, Vantix, brentb71, SilverNblack, perry_g5, Nolamom, and AstroTiger. I'm sure there's more and thank you to all.

Very much looking forwarding to graduating on the 17th in Shreveport. For any of you planning to attend graduation, please let me know so we can meet up. My email is socal77@gmail.com

This post was edited on 12/4 at 8:48 pm


Winchester12
Member since Nov 2016
104 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
socal77 you are the man! Huge congrats to you on graduating! Big thanks to you as well for all of the information and advice you have provided on this thread for the last year and a half, and in the multiple classes we had together. You have been a huge asset going through the program.

You're right bout this thread has been invaluable for planning out classes and having a good strategy for completion. Lets keep it going!!

Again congrats socal77 and everyone else that is graduating!


mtntreks
Member since Oct 2016
72 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Done with MADM752. Got my A locked in, but what a boring class!

It's a bit disappointing the family business course is so crappy when MADM751 was such a great class.


Winchester12
Member since Nov 2016
104 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
mtntreks I'm scheduled to take MADM 752 with MKT 701 in Summer AP1 of 18. Really dreading what will be my last semester. Any tips and advice for 752 would be much appreciated. I know that previously people complained about the proctored quizzes not making much sense. What should I be prepared for??
This post was edited on 12/4 at 8:25 pm


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
50 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
congrats Social, enjoy your time off, one down..


socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey Perry, trust me when I tell you the remaining 9 courses will go by fast!!


mtntreks
Member since Oct 2016
72 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@Winchester12

We'll be in MKT701 together in Summer AP1. That's my last class.

MADM752 reverted to something closer to the previous format. This class wasn't bad in terms of difficulty, and there's no question that Dr. Knotts wrote the quizzes.

There's a short weekly topical paper due, a weekly quiz, and there's a multi-week project which requires you to interview a family business owner. Each week had around 30 minutes of videos to watch as well.

Best advice I have is to use the audio / screen cast lectures that she provides to prepare for the quizzes and forget about reading the book chapters. The book is a horrible wall of text and useless.

I paired with MADM760 and it went fine. This class requires a moderate amount of work to do well. I just found most of the material dull. The best part of the class is the weekly 15 minute video from The Profit.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
vantix
Member since Jun 2017
37 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrats and best wishes to you socal. With any luck I'll be done after spring ap1. Thanks for being part of this amazing forum!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
brentb71
Member since Dec 2016
352 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrats socal


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Marco22
Member since Sep 2017
37 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrats Socal


joeskee2000
Alabama
Member since Nov 2016
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrats socal77...


Unlockthedream
Member since Jan 2017
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
FIN 701 Module 1 is now available on Moodle for anyone who wants to get a jump start on reading/video review prior to start of Spring AP1. I plan to do so as soon as I complete the last ISDS 705 test this Friday. This is my first session with 2 courses so I'm grateful for the opportunity to get some work done during the break.


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone know if there is a policy regarding when grades are posted/available? Fall AP2 wraps this weekend and my company's reimbursement cutoff is Dec 13th which only leaves 3-4 days to get them posted. My Fall AP1 class was made available within this timeframe but wanted to see if there was a policy, suspecting there is since there are earlier deadlines for most if not all classes for the week 7 module.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thanks for all the Congrats, guys. I remember congratulating people on graduating and wondering how nice it would feel when I got there. Keep up the work and it truly goes by fast!


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
39 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Big congrats socal77, my tunnel isn't even lit yet.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
927 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrats Socal! Can't wait to finish up these last 4 courses!


socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
384 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Jeaux Cool, your right there, man. Those 4 classes will fly by.

I'm going to hang around this forum so I can enjoy seeing you finish up.
This post was edited on 12/5 at 1:33 pm


Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
North Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
927 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Well I appreciate that. I'm sure I will be in touch about MADM 701 and possibly ISDS 702 if you took it


AstroTiger
Houston Astros Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2007
22761 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
congrats my friend


I'm looking forward to that feeling in 6 short months


WDE251
Auburn Fan
Texas
Member since Dec 2017
20 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Greetings to all! I was recently accepted into the LSUS Online MBA program and will begin my first class on Jan. 15. I completed my undergraduate at Auburn in HR and have been working in the field for 10 years. I plan to pursue a concentration in HR with my MBA. For the past few weeks, I have had a chance to go back and read through a lot of the post on this thread and have gotten some great insight into the rigors of the program. Congrats to all that are finishing up! I am registered for MADM 701 with Williams. From everything I read, it is best to knock this out ahead of time. If anybody else is taking MADM 701 in Spring AP1 or is just starting the program, give me a shout. And to all the vets, I hope to be able to lean on you all as a resource.



Jump to page
Page First 196 197 198 199 200 ... 216
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 198 of 216next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram