Posted by
Message
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
63 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thinking about taking three in Spring AP1. Am I crazy?
I have a demanding job and family commitments, but I made a 98 in ECON 705 and I had ISDS 705. I was bored most of this semester.

ACCT 701
FIN 701
FIN 710

Thoughts?


GSMBA16
Member since Aug 2016
112 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I would suggest NOT! I would pair ACCT 701 with either of the two FIN but if you have any kind of life outside of school I would not pair those 3 classes. The only time I would do 3 would be a ISDS 705, ACCT 701, & another course of choosing.


1967
Arkansas Fan
Texas
Member since Dec 2017
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I have a question. I need to take one of the following electives in the spring:

MADM 710
MKT 701
FIN 701

I've just completed MADM 701 and MADM 720. Both seemed to have quite a bit of work, but were fairly easy. I was thinking about FIN 701, but I don't have any finance background.

How was MADM 710 online? How does it compare to MADM 701 or MADM 720 in workload?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
sejaxon
Atlanta, GA
Member since Nov 2017
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey WDE251, I am also registered for MADM 701 with Williams. I am seeking the data analytics concentration. Looking forward to getting started next month!


Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Sep 2015
1115 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

data analytics concentration
Seems as if there a few of us doing this. Will you be in HCAD 750 for AP2?


bobbygreene90210
Member since Dec 2017
20 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@BusinessKnight,

I took Acct 701 and Fin 701 at the same time and got A's in both. I don't think its fair to use ISDS 705 as a typical benchmark as that is prob the easiest class in this entire program(especially if you know how to use the search function in a pdf doc). I can assure you that Acct 701 and Fin 701 are NOT easy A's and you will have to put forth a fair amount of work, weekly, if you want to achieve A's in them. I've never taken FIN 710 so I have no idea how much the workload is in that class. Unless FIN 710's workload is at or below the level of ISDS 705, i'd say just take ACCT 701 & Fin 701.


Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Sep 2015
1115 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
FIN 701 isn't a bad course at all. 4 exams worth 25% of your grade each. Vines does a great job providing practice problems and having Zoom sessions for any questions you may have. I didn't know what to expect as this was my first course in the program and dug myself a hole after not doing as well as I'd like on Test 1. Ended up finishing with a high B. ACCT 701 is a fairly simple course. I took it last session and made a high A. The weekly exam questions were directly from the textbook. Multiple choice, T/F. The midterm and final were a bit more difficult because there were actual problems to work out, and that's not something we did on the weekly exams. Take this FWIW
This post was edited on 12/6 at 10:17 am


socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
404 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi bobbygreene90210, I totally agree with you that ISDS 705 is not a good measure of the level of work required in other classes in the program. As you say, mastery of the PDF search function makes this by far the easiest class in the program. If anyone has not taken it already, I highly recommend pairing it with another class.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
50
cheetos9
Member since Sep 2016
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Fin 710 was one I wished I had doubled up on. It was four tests, all of the reading/practice of which can be done within two evenings prior - if you're a more math based person/quick reader. I thought Econ 705 was not bad at all and doubled on it, so would say you'd sail through this one also. I might have enjoyed this one the most, prof made his own textbook and it cut through all the crap to just teach you what you needed to know. I'd estimate just 4 hours of work every other week plus whatever time on the tests.

Fin 701 I did double up on, and didn't find it hard to do so. I feel like I probably had to put more time into 701 than I did 710, lots of reading.

I took fin 710 prior to fin 701 and found a fair amount of carryover. 710 was a more stripped down, testing you on the actual math only, whereas 701 was a lot on writing/explaining and very little math. Vines seems like a cool guy and really cared about teaching, but I wasn't a huge fan of this course.

Taking acct 701 in spring ap1, so can't weight in on that one.

If anything, I would say make sure and do Fin 710 since it's not always offered.





vantix
Member since Jun 2017
42 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey gang - for FIN 701 with Vines, was this proctored at all? Or just done via moodle? Open notes / book for the four exams?


Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Sep 2015
1115 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I took it over the summer and it was not proctored. You were allowed to use the book/reading guide. My advice is to work the practice problems he provides in Excel and use that for the exams. It will save a good bit of time as some of the math can be lengthy.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
WDE251
Auburn Fan
Texas
Member since Dec 2017
83 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
So am I. Hoping course materials are posted soon. I would prefer to get a head start! But glad to know somebody in class.


Marco22
Member since Sep 2017
49 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

So am I. Hoping course materials are posted soon. I would prefer to get a head start! But glad to know somebody in class.


Same here, it will be my 4th class in the program.
This post was edited on 12/7 at 7:54 am


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
114 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Just finished ECON705, great class with Shaughnessy and looking forward to the break.

Have a great holiday and new year everyone!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Sep 2015
1115 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
There will be a few of us in MADM 701 it seems


AstroTiger
Houston Astros Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2007
22833 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Got the FIN 730 final exam done last night. ISDS 705 test scheduled for 4pm tomorrow. ready for the month off



MKT 701 and ISDS 702 on deck for Spring 1. Will be my 4th straight session doubling up. So far so good.


kcb
LSU Fan
baton rouge
Member since Feb 2009
16 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone taken MADM 715? Any info on the class would be much appreciated. Thanks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
AstroTiger
Houston Astros Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2007
22833 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Seems as if there a few of us doing this. Will you be in HCAD 750 for AP2?



Jeaux, based on the reviews for Prof. Alexander, I'm going to skip HCAD and take the Spring 2 off and take ISDS 710 in the Summer.


I'm doing the Data Analytics Specialization rather than Concentration since I'm already going to have FIN 730 under my belt as one of the electives.


Jeaux Cool
Atlanta Braves Fan
Member since Sep 2015
1115 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

based on the reviews for Prof. Alexander, I'm going to skip HCAD
I don't think that's a bad idea. I've just about decided to do the same thing, but instead of sitting out AP2 I plan on taking an elective. That's why I was asking Brent about that MADM course.


AstroTiger
Houston Astros Fan
New Orleans Saints Fan
Member since Oct 2007
22833 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I'd be open for suggestions on a Spring 2 elective if it were something without busy work. I figured the new ISDS 710 would be something I would have interest in, while getting a specialization in the mean time. None of the other spring 2 electives seem to fall into what I am looking for.


Jump to page
Page First 197 198 199 200 201 ... 295
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 199 of 295next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram