Started By
Message

re: Miles on the illegal formation call

Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:36 pm to
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61849 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:36 pm to
quote:

"My responsibility on the play is to step off the line," Dupre said. "I looked at the official and he nodded. I looked at Travin and I saw with my own eyes he was on the line where he was supposed to be.

Nola.com



That concussion affected Dupre's eyesight.
Posted by Mr.Perfect
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2013
17564 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:38 pm to
quote:

ag was thrown at the snap. In the beginning of the vid, you see Dupre looking toward the ref and motioning. But, Dural is not. No idea if he had prior to the beginning of this part of the vid


1. You done have to check in... it's good practice.

2. The head linesman is already counting again at the same time Dupre is moving. .. so he clearly was already confused
Posted by 13SaintTiger
Isle of Capri
Member since Sep 2011
18371 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:40 pm to
Why the frick did the opposite side ref throw the flag
This post was edited on 9/27/15 at 5:41 pm
Posted by SammyTiger
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2009
78156 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:43 pm to
It looks marginal at best

Dural looks about as far off the ball as the other 6 that are on the line

Dupree clearly indicates to the ref and is farther off than Dural.

Looks like a shitty call.
Posted by mikeytig
NE of Tiger Stadium
Member since Nov 2007
7726 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:47 pm to
Wow-seems like the SEC officials really had it out for us. Some of the holding calls as were very questionable.
Posted by XbengalTiger
New Bama Standard 9-4
Member since Oct 2003
5566 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:49 pm to
quote:

It was clearly an illegal formation 
No, it really was not. One WR was about 1 yard off the LOS. The other was about 2 yards off the LOS. The LOS is not a 6 inch zone. Offensive Tackles not in a 3 point stance often set up further from the LOS in order to block the edge. Offensive lines form a V shape BECAUSE players that are considered 'on the line' can be a little off the line without being considered in the backfield. It is a judgement call and if the players communicated with the ref, no flag should have been thrown.
Posted by bmy
Nashville
Member since Oct 2007
48203 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:54 pm to
quote:


No, it really was not. One WR was about 1 yard off the LOS. The other was about 2 yards off the LOS. The LOS is not a 6 inch zone. Offensive Tackles not in a 3 point stance often set up further from the LOS in order to block the edge. Offensive lines form a V shape BECAUSE players that are considered 'on the line' can be a little off the line without being considered in the backfield. It is a judgement call and if the players communicated with the ref, no flag should have been thrown.


taking this a step further.. if two WRs are on the same side of the field and one indicates to the ref and gets approval, that should go for the other WR as well if they are lined up the same

Posted by GetmorewithLes
UK Basketball Fan
Member since Jan 2011
22129 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 5:56 pm to
quote:

No, it really was not. One WR was about 1 yard off the LOS. The other was about 2 yards off the LOS. The LOS is not a 6 inch zone. Offensive Tackles not in a 3 point stance often set up further from the LOS in order to block the edge.


I was wondering what the tolerance is for this rule. I was just looking at a still shot replay on youtube and it appears that Dural is lined up with his front foot even or ahead of the RT outside foot and he is leaning over his foot by about one foot. In other words the LOS is the 13 yd line and Dural and the RT are on the 11.5 yd line at worst. Dupre is one yard behind Dural.

For those that want to study by themselves see link and go to time 1:45:31

LINK

or better yet just look at the pic in the post above this one
This post was edited on 9/27/15 at 6:00 pm
Posted by Victry4LSU
Member since Jun 2006
552 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:01 pm to
quote:

it was clearly an illegal formation

nothing to see here


Why wasn't LSU flagged on the very next play? Same exact formation.
Posted by XbengalTiger
New Bama Standard 9-4
Member since Oct 2003
5566 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:11 pm to
quote:

or better yet just look at the pic in the post above this one
That screen shot was taken before the slot WR backed up another yard. Watch the actual play from the YouTube link. The slot backs up and gets re-set before the ball is snapped. And, as others have said the ref on the other side of the field is the one that threw the flag. Why didn't the ref right next to the 2 LSU WR's throw the flag? Seems odd...
Posted by TigerinSoCal
Pasadena, CA
Member since Dec 2008
996 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:21 pm to
Good graphic with the pic. I take back what I said earlier. Looking at that still shot, Dural is pretty even with the linemen and you can clearly see he is about as close to the line of scrimmage as the linemen are. So as others have said, very ticky-tack if not just a blatantly bad call.

And WTF is the ref on the opposite side making that call!
Posted by bayoubengalfan4life
shreveport
Member since Jan 2012
623 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:25 pm to
Sec officiating is horrible this year
Posted by TigerBait69
Madison, MS
Member since Mar 2006
1100 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:38 pm to
I thought 7 had to be on the line, not 8??

If so, the slot WR is irrelevant.
Posted by km
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2008
5653 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:39 pm to
Our left tackle was way off the line. Maybe they called him in the backfield
Posted by Methuselah
On da Riva
Member since Jan 2005
23350 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:40 pm to
quote:

Sec officiating is horrible this year

It's always pretty damned bad.
Posted by Phil2012
The planet
Member since Dec 2005
6213 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:41 pm to
The SEC is run by mobsters...what's new here...and LSU has never had what I would consider strong leadership...but ya' got to remember, the mob don't play!
Posted by MetArl15
Washington, DC
Member since Apr 2007
12620 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:44 pm to
That would forfeit the game.
Posted by catnip
Member since Sep 2003
16376 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 6:48 pm to
Dupree was looking at an official not in view. But the official on the opposite side of the field threw the flag. You can see him throw it. So why didn't the ref who seemed to ok the formation have a discussion with the others. "I know nothing"!?
Posted by White Tiger
Dallas
Member since Jul 2007
15174 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 7:13 pm to
K. Thanks.
Posted by White Tiger
Dallas
Member since Jul 2007
15174 posts
Posted on 9/27/15 at 7:16 pm to
I count 4 in the backfield. QB, FB, RB and slot man. Looks like legal formation to me. Tell me what I am missing other than a curious call on a Fournette TD run.
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 7Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram