- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Like it or not, the call was correct (by the letter of the law)
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:41 am to NorthshoreTiger76
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:41 am to NorthshoreTiger76
“He shouldn’t be suspended for the next game. Take that rule out”
Agree. That look more like a garden variety roughing the passer foul at worst. The intent with targets no fouls by the rules committee is in the right place, but enforcement is all over the map and a little too subjective. Maybe they could revise this to what the NBA does with a flagrant “1” vs a “2” on personal fouls like that to distinguish the call yesterday
Agree. That look more like a garden variety roughing the passer foul at worst. The intent with targets no fouls by the rules committee is in the right place, but enforcement is all over the map and a little too subjective. Maybe they could revise this to what the NBA does with a flagrant “1” vs a “2” on personal fouls like that to distinguish the call yesterday
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:41 am to UliKunkel
Just put flags on the Qb's side thats about what its coming down to...if you hit the Qb high its a personal foul...it you hit the Qb low its a personal foul...soooooo...


Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:48 am to UliKunkel
quote:Touching or incidental contact (if even that occurred) is NOT FORCIBLE CONTACT
but he did make forcible contact with the head and neck area (see image below).
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:48 am to TigerDM
FACTS: White led with his hands, did not launch, did not hit with the crown of the helmet, and Fitz was not defenseless.
FACT: Fitz head turned sideways at or just after impact.
That is the ONLY thing the ref could have seen here to make that call and replay official to uphold. Need to determine if that head turn was from impact or reaction, if possible.
Clearly should have NOT been targeting based on first set of facts. From how quickly the replay verdict was returned I was 100% certain it would be overturned. This makes ZERO sense.
quote:
why didn’t Fitzgerald’s head snap back at all?
FACT: Fitz head turned sideways at or just after impact.
That is the ONLY thing the ref could have seen here to make that call and replay official to uphold. Need to determine if that head turn was from impact or reaction, if possible.
Clearly should have NOT been targeting based on first set of facts. From how quickly the replay verdict was returned I was 100% certain it would be overturned. This makes ZERO sense.
This post was edited on 10/21/18 at 9:50 am
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:55 am to OysterPoBoy
Isn't there also "defenseless" verbiage in there?
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:57 am to UliKunkel
It was a bad call. It was not targeting.
Posted on 10/21/18 at 9:59 am to UliKunkel
Agree 100% - think of it this way, if you’re going 21 mph in a 20 mph zone, you’re speeding. It is up to the cop to determine if you get a ticket, most won’t. In this case although only slight, there was helmet to helmet contact, based on the rule as written it’s s foul. Now it’s one of those where the official should have kept the flag in his pocket and no one would have given it a second look if it was targeting or not.
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:03 am to UliKunkel
Still don't see him making contact with the head of neck area. Unless the chest and shoulders are the head and neck.
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:09 am to UliKunkel
When he takes a forward step to run he gives up his QB status and becomes a runner! IMO
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:10 am to UliKunkel
Im not happy about it, but that gets called 9/10 times. It was not a bad call. I hate to say that but its true. Anytime your facemask/helmet hits the QB's facemask/helmet it will get called.
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:11 am to UliKunkel
No player shall target and make forcible contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent (See Note 2 below) with the helmet, forearm, hand, fist, elbow or shoulder.
This foul requires that there be at least one indicator of targeting (See Note 1 below). When in question, it is a foul (Rules 2-27-14 and 9-6). (A.R. 9-1-4-I-VI)
Note 1:
"Targeting" means that a player takes aim at an opponent for purposes of attacking with forcible contact that goes beyond making a legal tackle or a legal block or playing the ball. Some indicators of targeting include but are not limited to:
-Launch—a player leaving his feet to attack an opponent by an upward and forward thrust of the body to make forcible contact in the head or neck area
-A crouch followed by an upward and forward thrust to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area, even though one or both feet are still on the ground
-Leading with helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area
-Lowering the head before attacking by initiating forcible contact with the crown of the helmet
Note 2: Defenseless player (Rule 2-27-14):
-A player in the act of or just after throwing a pass.
-A receiver attempting to catch a forward pass or in position to receive a backward pass, or one who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier.
-A kicker in the act of or just after kicking a ball, or during the kick or the return.
-A kick returner attempting to catch or recover a kick, or one who has completed a catch or recovery and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier.
-A player on the ground.
-A player obviously out of the play.
-A player who receives a blind-side block.
-A ball carrier already in the grasp of an opponent and whose forward progress has been stopped.
-A quarterback any time after a change of possession.
-A ball carrier who has obviously given himself up and is sliding feet-first
This foul requires that there be at least one indicator of targeting (See Note 1 below). When in question, it is a foul (Rules 2-27-14 and 9-6). (A.R. 9-1-4-I-VI)
Note 1:
"Targeting" means that a player takes aim at an opponent for purposes of attacking with forcible contact that goes beyond making a legal tackle or a legal block or playing the ball. Some indicators of targeting include but are not limited to:
-Launch—a player leaving his feet to attack an opponent by an upward and forward thrust of the body to make forcible contact in the head or neck area
-A crouch followed by an upward and forward thrust to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area, even though one or both feet are still on the ground
-Leading with helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area
-Lowering the head before attacking by initiating forcible contact with the crown of the helmet
Note 2: Defenseless player (Rule 2-27-14):
-A player in the act of or just after throwing a pass.
-A receiver attempting to catch a forward pass or in position to receive a backward pass, or one who has completed a catch and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier.
-A kicker in the act of or just after kicking a ball, or during the kick or the return.
-A kick returner attempting to catch or recover a kick, or one who has completed a catch or recovery and has not had time to protect himself or has not clearly become a ball carrier.
-A player on the ground.
-A player obviously out of the play.
-A player who receives a blind-side block.
-A ball carrier already in the grasp of an opponent and whose forward progress has been stopped.
-A quarterback any time after a change of possession.
-A ball carrier who has obviously given himself up and is sliding feet-first
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:11 am to Spotswoode
quote:
Also, it’s just crazy that the Bama LB was not flagged for that hit against Tennessee.
That was so much more egregious of a hit, and no flag was thrown. If they way White was guilty of targeting, how in the hell can they say the gump wasn't guilty of it????
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:12 am to UliKunkel
We agree that it IS the “letter of the law” but the issue is that the law is not being enforced consistently!!!
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:22 am to UliKunkel
quote:
forcible contact with the head and neck area
That didn't happen
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:40 am to UliKunkel
quote:
UliKunkel
Steve Shaw alter
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:50 am to The Mick
Devin White did not hit him above the shoulders, period.
Even the couple of pricks showing still frames to base the claim are wrong. No contact occurred. Hands hit chest of quarterback in stride.
Shouldn’t have even been a penalty.
Even the couple of pricks showing still frames to base the claim are wrong. No contact occurred. Hands hit chest of quarterback in stride.
Shouldn’t have even been a penalty.
Posted on 10/21/18 at 10:51 am to UliKunkel
quote:
he did make forcible contact with the head and neck area
Since when is the chest the head and neck area?
Posted on 10/21/18 at 11:01 am to UliKunkel
You stfu!!! Take this shite to the sec rant!
Posted on 10/21/18 at 11:04 am to The Mick
quote:
Barrett Sallee Barrett Sallee @BarrettSallee That's the worst targeting call that I've ever seen. Now Devin White has to miss the first half of the Alabama game.
quote:
Mike Golic Mike Golic @espngolic Replying to @Mr_Playbyplay Just a horrible call, they even get to watch replay and still rule against him, I just don’t get it. The kid led with his hands, seriously, it’s so aggravating
Popular
Back to top
