Started By
Message

re: Here is the NCAA Catch Rule...interpret it as you will...

Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:14 pm to
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
128083 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:14 pm to
He didn’t make a football move.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
128083 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:15 pm to
quote:

He possessed the ball breaking the plane of the goal with foot down


Literally does not matter unfortunately
Posted by TrueTiger
Chicken's most valuable
Member since Sep 2004
80265 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:17 pm to
Posted by MikeTheTiger71
Member since Dec 2021
4304 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:18 pm to
quote:

He didn’t. He took 1 in bounds step while falling


The rule states having control long enough to make a move common to football. It’s about length of time, not whether the moves in question were in bounds. That’s completely irrelevant to the requirements of the rule. He had control long enough to take two steps and put a knee down before finally going to ground. It doesn’t matter where those steps or knee were since he had already established control in bounds.
Posted by SofaKingTrill
Member since Mar 2008
8049 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:23 pm to
quote:

c. If the player loses control of the ball while simultaneously touching the ground with any part of his body, or if there is doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.


And this here is the part we are worried about. Brown maintained control of the ball with his left arm under and cradling the ball. As the player is falling and cradling the ball, the tip of the football hits the ground causing some movement. IT DOES NOT, however, come out of possession of the receiver. In fact, the left arm stays under the ball, cradling the ball, and you can see the movement stop quickly on one of the angles with his left arm still cradling the ball and maintaining control. You then also see the right arm wraps the football up. So the player maintains possession even with the ball hitting the ground and moving slightly. Therefore, the rule states that this "should not be considered loss of possession," and that the player must "lose control of the ball for this to be considered loss of possession."


Read it and weep Fun Bunch.
This post was edited on 9/3/25 at 2:58 am
Posted by Gene Heinous
the Pleasure Dome
Member since Sep 2021
710 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:28 pm to
quote:

What if he had taken 4 steps before going to ground? 5 steps? 20 yards? At what point does it cease being “in the act of making the catch”? There is no interpretation of the rules that would make going to ground relevant once a player has maintained control of the catch long enough to make a move common to the game. It’s a misinterpretation of the rule to think otherwise because then you would have to apply it even if the receiver went to ground 99 yards down field after catching the ball. It was a TD by rule unless you don’t think the time he had to take 2 steps after the catch was long enough to make a move common to the game.


I have seen several booth official types explaining the possible sequences involved in making a catch. One criterion usually mentioned is that if the receiver, after securing the ball (no bobbles) takes 3 steps in the field of play then the catch is ruled successful. It says somewhere in the rule books that it doesn't matter if the steps are in or out of bounds (as long as the first one is in bounds).

In a case like this, a good DB coach would teach his DB's to stay on the receiver and try to knock it out of his hands or cause a bobble even if the receiver is already out of bounds after the first step.
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 6:44 pm
Posted by TitleistProV1X
Member since Nov 2015
3631 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:31 pm to
Yea if that wasn’t a catch then any receiver that dives to the end zone and reaches out better never let the ball move because it will be incomplete, doesn’t matter if they caught it at the 10 and dove in.
Posted by NOSTRODAMUS
Prairieville/Dutchtown
Member since Dec 2003
16786 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:47 pm to
quote:

If he loses control of the ball which then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch.


This part was added by some retard with coke bottle glasses who never played a down of football in his life.
Posted by That One
Northern Virginia
Member since Jul 2004
6082 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 9:26 pm to
iMO, in our context, the catch was completed when a football move was made with a few steps and a dive. The ground contact, the ball moving, and all that crap is moot when he crossed the plane. Touchdown!!!
Posted by Scoob
Near Exxon
Member since Jun 2009
23003 posts
Posted on 9/3/25 at 9:46 am to
I would have counted it as a TD.

Ref on the field who said out at the one;
He did his job. Saw the ball secured, saw 1 foot in at the one, weird angle, saw second foot out as the player was right at the angle.

He called it a catch where the foot was in, I dont think he saw ball cross goal for sure. So to him, it's a catch and let the booth decide where.

Booth overthought it
Posted by AlxTgr
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
86529 posts
Posted on 9/3/25 at 9:57 am to
Looking back on it with less emotion, I have to agree it was the correct call. The overturning part is a bit more difficult to reconcile.
Posted by cattus
Member since Jan 2009
15444 posts
Posted on 9/3/25 at 10:02 am to
A young man's first touchdown on his new team was taken from him and it was spectacular!
Posted by TeygerFan
Member since Dec 2016
563 posts
Posted on 9/3/25 at 1:08 pm to
Well either way, if that wasn't a catch, then the first fumble should have also been incomplete
Posted by td1
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2015
3145 posts
Posted on 9/3/25 at 1:40 pm to
quote:

He wasn't in the act. He had completed the catch and scored by crossing the goal/touching the pylon. Then fell down.


Was the play not dead once he crossed the goal line, or when he stepped out? He maintained control of the ball the entire time he was inbounds.

By their logic any pass where the player steps out of bounds, the clock should run until we make sure he isn’t going to drop it out of bounds.
Posted by Neveragain
Ok, maybe one more time
Member since Apr 2023
283 posts
Posted on 9/3/25 at 2:15 pm to
Why was it ruled out at the 1 yd line? It wasn't even close. He was in bounds by at least a foot and the official was literally looking at Browns feet.

Also, I missed who called for the review? It wasn't ruled a TD at first so it wasn't reviewed for that, we were lining up to run a play at the one so we didn't call for a review? I may have missed why it was reviewed
Posted by Zippydog
metairie , La
Member since Jan 2020
1103 posts
Posted on 9/4/25 at 2:24 pm to
Correct-a-mundo !!
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
128083 posts
Posted on 9/4/25 at 2:26 pm to
quote:

Read it and weep Fun Bunch.



Brian Kelly CONFIRMED the call was correct.

Posted by paulb52
Member since Dec 2019
7521 posts
Posted on 9/4/25 at 2:28 pm to
So it was an LSU touchdown. A catch was made and he crossed the goaline.
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
128083 posts
Posted on 9/4/25 at 2:34 pm to
quote:

So it was an LSU touchdown. A catch was made and he crossed the goaline.



Your Head Football Coach disagrees
Posted by TigerSooner
Member since Nov 2023
3634 posts
Posted on 9/5/25 at 1:59 am to
It's 2 AM and refs are still stupid.
Jump to page
Page First 5 6 7 8 9 10
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 7 of 10Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram