Posted by
Message
slapahoe
LSU Fan
USA
Member since Sep 2009
6686 posts

Opinions for new hunting jacket
What do you wear?
I would like something that I don't have to wear a bunch of layering underneath


LSUintheNW
LSU Fan
Here and there
Member since Aug 2009
28316 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
#sitka


CP3
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2009
6235 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
But seriously, sitka

I've hunted in 20deg weather wearing just a flannel shirt,sitka jacket and sitka fleece lined pants. Was perfectly comfortable.
This post was edited on 12/7 at 12:55 am


Chris4x4gill2
Alabama Fan
North Alabama
Member since Nov 2008
2808 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
I got an Artic Shield before last season. It is very warm, and not as bulky as my older Cabelas stuff.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
celltech1981
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Jul 2014
3485 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
LINK


I'm very happy with this


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
FelicianaTigerfan
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2009
22962 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
Holy shit! I just looked up those jackets and they are expensive! frick that

Academy has a 3/1 parka for like 100


celltech1981
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Jul 2014
3485 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
quote:

Academy has a 3/1 parka for like 100


one thing i've learned from 20 years of hunting is that you don't cut corners with winter hunting clothes. Spend the money up front and you won't have to spend as much on layers and new jackets down the road.

The jacket I posted is a wool blend and windproof/water resistant. I normally pack it in and then put it on once I'm done climbing. I've worn it down to 25 degrees with no base layer on and have been fine.


SquirrelBones
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2014
203 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
That's why you just throw #sitkagear on your facebook pics. Then let everyone look it up and have the same reaction.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
80
SkintBack
Navy Fan
SoLo
Member since Nov 2015
207 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
I wear the First Lite Woodbury.......its the tits!!!


10MTNTiger
LSU Fan
Banks of the Guadalupe
Member since Sep 2012
1677 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
Depends.

Yeah Sitka is expensive, there are ways to get discounts and multiple places put them on sale. It is the best damn gear I have ever worn and it has saved hunts for me. For example, I just got back from a week in North Dakota, one morning I woke up and it was -8 with 30 mph winds gusting. I hunting a 20 foot ladder stand on top of an exposed ridge. There is no way in hell that I could have done that in Academy clothing. The time and money I invested into that trip would be lost if I had to go back to the house and lose two days waiting for temps to come up.

Its an investment in your hunting. If you are going to sit in piney woods where cold is 30 degrees once or twice a year, then I would agree Sitka is absurd. But if you have any desire to hunt elsewhere then I would strongly recommend it.


SquirrelBones
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Sep 2014
203 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
I've been wanting to try some First Lite gear, glad to hear good things. I'm thinking about trying some of their merino base/mid layers.


celltech1981
LSU Fan
Louisiana
Member since Jul 2014
3485 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
quote:

merino base/mid layers.



lemme give you some 150 dollar advice. I shopped around at goodwills and such and bought up some merino wool sweaters (from dillards originally, the warmest is express brand) (paid 5 bucks a pop for them) and they work well for a base layer. I have found 5 or 6 decent wool sweaters like this. I ordered some wool military surplus pants (i think they are finnish) from sportsman's guide and saved there too.


Coomdaddy
Kentucky Fan
KY
Member since Aug 2017
130 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
If you are LEO, firefighter, military, teacher or employed by a government agency you can get 40% off Sitka year round. The discount right now is 50%.

Just have to join LEOAdventures.com for $20


good_2_geaux
LSU Fan
Member since Feb 2015
62 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
thought you were going to say you found Sitka at Goodwill. I was about to take off of work and check every store in LA


reggo75
McNeese State Fan
Iowa, LA
Member since Jan 2016
867 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
I had some Merino Wool base layers on my Amazon wish list for about 2 years and last year my wife bought them for me for Christmas. Changed my whole layering and hunting clothing lineup. They are so thin, comfy, and warm that I usually don't have to layer anything else unless it is REALLY cold and windy.

I am using Gamehide Mathews Drenalin pants and jacket as my outer layer. I normally use the Cabelas MTP top and bottoms as a mid layer. I have the Polar Weight and the Mid Weight. (they are on sale right now)

I was in Colorado in October with temps in the upper 10's and 20's and I did not even put on my mid layers. I know it's a lot dryer there but I didn't get cold at all.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Coomdaddy
Kentucky Fan
KY
Member since Aug 2017
130 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
Haven't found any at Goodwill but to be honest, I haven't checked. I have saved probably $800 conservatively on Sitka gear over the last few years. Saved $258 on my order last week. It is still stupid expensive but buy once/cry once.


Rando
USA Fan
When IPs were Visible
Member since Apr 2015
11718 posts
 Online 

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
I have last years Academy 2:1 parka and gloves.

I rode all winter last year. Think 30 is cold? Try it at 80 mph

Quality is very good. My last academy hunting coat lasted 16 years.


Boat Motor Bandit
Member since Jun 2016
1064 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
Sitka gear is not that justifiably better than any other gear on the market. Actually some pieces are about average at best but are living off the name they have tried to establish. The price points are just not in line with quality of product. Good product comparable to Drake and Filson Yea. But not 1/2 as much more in price better.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
31
magicman534
LSU Fan
The dirty dell
Member since May 2011
582 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
Spend the money is my advice. I spent 600$ on a jacket and pants from pnuma outdoors and love them. Kuiu and Sitka are awesome too. The clothes aren’t as baggy but with layers are warmer. I’m assuming from the better quality materials and technology.


Marciano1
LSU Fan
Marksville, LA
Member since Jun 2009
12945 posts

re: Opinions for new hunting jacket
No need to get some super expensive BS like Sitka/Drake/Gore-Tex.

I roll with this Gamehide water/windproof insulated 3-in-1 and it makes 20 degree days feel like 70:

LINK
Image: https://gamehide.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/74w-SB-15-1500x1.jpg
This post was edited on 12/7 at 8:26 am


first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram