Posted by
Message
perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
mine is the same, think systems are under maintenance until 2nd week when class resumes


perry_g5
LSU Fan
Member since Apr 2017
68 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Happy New Years everyone , hope everyone had a good time


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
130 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Happy New Year All! Hopefully 2018 will be the year I complete this program.


Unlockthedream
Member since Jan 2017
25 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I had to change my schedule for personal reasons and just dropped ACCT 701 w/ Ambrosio for Spring AP 1. If you need the spot, it should be available now.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
63 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
For those of you who are looking for your classes in Moodle, you can still get to them in the main section by scrolling to the bottom. They just do not show up in the "classes" menu at this time.
This post was edited on 1/2 at 1:26 pm


Aurebelman
Auburn Fan
Andalusia, AL
Member since Nov 2016
127 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Nothing has been posted as in ISDS 715 (project management). I wish I has the syllabus or text book requirements to get a head start. Never had a teacher wait this long to post.


samyn
Arizona
Member since Aug 2017
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi all, Just wondering has anyone here signed up for the BADM 1 unit pre-course for finance or accounting. If you have, what are they listed under in the course catalog? I can't seem to find them under Business Administration.

Thanks!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
63 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Aurebelman:

I know a lot of people in Andalusia. Did you graduate from AHS?


Aurebelman
Auburn Fan
Andalusia, AL
Member since Nov 2016
127 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
No, I'm from Mobile. I've been here 5 years and met some great people. Andalusia is a great place to raise a family.


jgomez
Member since Jan 2018
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Greetings.

Learned about this website from degreeforum.net researching 100% online AACSB MBA programs.

The LSUS MBA seems to check a lot of boxes for me, like waiver of GMAT if you have a graduate degree (I have a MS in IS) and others.

Been working in IT for years and will be choosing Project Management as a concentration. Been wanting to get an MBA for awhile but I wanted to make sure it was AACSB accredited, just like my graduate degree.

Besides cost and time, what made you choose the LSUS MBA program? Chances are I will be taking one course per term unless there's a course pairing I can knock out given my background.

Thanks for your replies.
This post was edited on 1/3 at 9:52 pm


BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
63 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
JGOMEZ:

For me, these are the essentials to be in this program but not in order:

PROS
Accreditation (extremely important. Without it, why bother?)
Cost (why spend 60-100K or more for the same degree?)
Time to completion (I am getting old and have a family)
Quality of education (same program as LSU Baton Rouge with some great instructors and you need what you will learn)
Entirely Online (I almost went IVY, but it would have involved travel and a lot more out of the office time I don't have along with some traditional brick and mortar hoop jumping)
GMAT waiver for graduate degree (I already have 2 other graduate degrees, so I am glad to not have yet another gateway barrier to spend time effort energy and money on to prove what is already proven in my other graduate work - that I can do graduate work)

Cons
Entirely online (the pro is also a con because you really don't get to know your classmates, which is one reason I like this forum - it has potential to build community)
Some students are not high quality (You will see this soon enough. I can't believe how many people ask questions in the forum that are plain as day in the syllabus and how much whining there is because a test is hard)
LSUS is not a top school by reputation

The reality is that you don't necessarily need to go to a top school. If you need your school name over the degree, then go somewhere else. The school name has some value and the network you build has some value, but not as much as people make it out to be provided you are already functioning in your career. I already have a significant network in my field, so the network is not worth tens of thousands of dollars and a lot more time to completion for me. As for school name, I already have Ivy on my resume, so it doesn't matter. But, seriously, unless you are going for an elite career path, you don't need Ivy on your resume.

This is a good program and its value proposition makes it very difficult not to choose LSUS.
This post was edited on 1/3 at 11:25 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
63 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Aurebelman:

Ironic.

I work in Mobile and used to live in Andalusia.


red_giraffe
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since May 2012
810 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

but it will scream LSUS, which isn't much better.


Damn, LSU Shreveport is really considered that bad?


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
130 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Damn, LSU Shreveport is really considered that bad?


I told my IT guy, who is from LA, that I was going to LSUS and before the S came out on the end he said "that's awesome" and then the "S" came out and he said "oh".


Aurebelman
Auburn Fan
Andalusia, AL
Member since Nov 2016
127 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
About LSUS reputation...All I can say is that I have had two interviews recently and never heard a negative thing mentioned about the 'S'. In fact, I was offered both positions. One was a 12% pay increase, the other a 25%. And I am still 2 courses away from completion.

I had interviewed probably 8-10 times prior to starting my MBA and only received 1 offer.

I can't say the LSUS MBA was the absolute difference maker but I think it showed to employers my dedication to continue my education even when it isn't convenient (35 w/ 2 kids and a full time demanding career)


ashl3yc0x
Member since Aug 2017
79 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
No one in California is concerned with the LSU Shreveport vs Baton Rouge campus. It's not really worth an additional 40k. My stepdad is CFO of the largest distributor of alcohol in US&Canada and he only acquires the top of the class for his MBA hires, and HE doesn't see the Shreveport as a negative. Its more about how competent you are as a person, than the extra letter on the diploma. I mean it would be rad to walk at graduation at LSU but its not worth the extra money.

Again, this is just from the top of the stack in California, so the reputation might differ from where you guys are at... but the LA IT guy seems like a snob. Unless he went to UCLA he shouldn't critique a good school.


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
130 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I chose LSUS because its one of the most cost and time effective AACSB acccredited programs out there, period.

I have a thick skin and don't really give a crap what my IT guy said, just thought it was odd that he'd go out of the way to diss LSUS (disclaimer: his wife is a LSU grad).

I am primarily doing this as a way to enhance what I already do rather than using the MBA for a career change or advancement.

Bottom line, I wouldn't be in this program if I didn't think it had value.
This post was edited on 1/4 at 9:50 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
130 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

In fact, I was offered both positions. One was a 12% pay increase, the other a 25%. And I am still 2 courses away from completion.


That's great you're seeing the benefits even before graduating.


ashl3yc0x
Member since Aug 2017
79 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

In fact, I was offered both positions. One was a 12% pay increase, the other a 25%. And I am still 2 courses away from completion.


That is amazing!
I took a position as an Operations Manager for a smaller company (no pay raise - yet) but I have been doing P&L statements and helping them save lots of money! I am so glad I started the MBA program. Numbers are way more fun than microbes :)


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
416 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
ashl3yc0x, I completely agree with you and your step dad's viewpoint.

Here in California all anyone hears or cares about is the LSU. Most out here don't even know that the "main" campus is in Baton Rouge so even if I was crazy anough to pay an additional $34,000 for their online MBA program, it wouldn't get me any more respect. I can understand why some within the state of Louisiana could make a differentiation, but once you're out of that region it's a non-issue.

I have my degree hanging in my office now. People just see the "Louisiana State University" in big letters and pay no attention to the "Shreveport" below in smaller font.
This post was edited on 1/4 at 4:13 pm


Jump to page
Page First 207 208 209 210 211 ... 319
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 209 of 319next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram