- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Score Board
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- SEC Score Board
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Trying more to understand this fumble non recovery
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:27 am to Swagga
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:27 am to Swagga
quote:I guess if you were a bama fan, today you would be wanting to abolish 2 point conversions. THat's all we need is players out of bounds(that at that point can't be contacted by opposing players) touching and moving the ball
That rule needs to be addressed immediately. There’s absolutely no reason LSU shouldn’t have gotten the ball there.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:29 am to Bedtiger
quote:
Someone show me where you have to have 2 hands on the ball for x seconds to have “ possession”.
I already quoted the exact rule, in a reply to you, in this very thread.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:31 am to lostinbr
I stand corrected on the act of a common football move. As far as that goes, it’s subjective to the official that makes the call, and the replay official. The guy on the field thought it was enough and the replay official didn’t. I still personally think that he had possession (obviously my opinion doesn’t matter to the rules committee). Biggest thing is, if the SEC officials/replay officials had any sort of consistency, then there would be less controversy on these type of calls. Don’t get me wrong, you would still have the fans that are never wrong and the SEC is against LSU mindset, but it would go a long way for most fans. Case in point, you can find a video from Twitter that shows a finger tipping a pass, and they still come out and say that there isn’t any video evidence.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:40 am to novabill
quote:
You see the clip of the Packers kick return guy that lays on the ground with his feet out of bounds and touches the ball that was inbounds? The ref threw a flag for kicking out of bounds. It was explained that the return man was out of bounds and as soon as he touched the ball it too was deemed out of bounds. Last night the Bama player was out of bounds and as soon as he touched the ball it was deemed out of bounds. If the ball was not possessed at that point it remains so. The question, for me at least is whether or not LSU had secured possession prior to him touching the ball.
And in both of these cases the player committing the illegal touching should be penalized at least and not the other team.
The rule has to be changed to punish the offending player in some form and it should be something like 10-15 yards from the previous spot. This would discourage cheap but legal loopholes that go against the spirit of the game.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:41 am to lostinbr
quote:
3. Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable that player to perform an act common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch or hand the ball, advance it, avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., and
This doesn’t make any sense from the standpoint of falling on a fumbled ball on the ground.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:51 am to lostinbr
quote:
No. The Alabama player touching it from out of bounds is in no way taking possession of the ball. It’s effectively the same as the ball touching the sideline at that point, because he is out of bounds.
it may have been "effectively the same as the ball touching the sideline" because of the rule, but it literally is not touching the sideline. and is in fact in bounds the defender having completely stripped the runner of possession and the possession of the ball should now be considered neutral and a player not in the field of play should not be allowed to effect possession, or should at least be penalized imo.
an amendment and exception to the rule should be considered
well now that I think more about it, if it was a defender lying out of bounds and touching the ball, the ball would have to be ruled dead on contact there as well, so the rule would have to be the same for either circumstance. i think...maybe
This post was edited on 11/6/22 at 8:57 am
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:55 am to TT
quote:Play is over….now.
It’s an illegal touch, therefore it’s a dead ball.

Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:57 am to Y.A. Tittle
quote:
This doesn’t make any sense from the standpoint of falling on a fumbled ball on the ground.
It doesn’t say the player has to perform a football move. It says a player has to maintain control long enough to perform a football move.
It’s basically a way of saying you have to clearly secure the ball to gain possession. If that wasn’t a requirement, then every OL who gets two hands on a ball after a strip/sack would be down on the spot and retain possession.. regardless of whether the ball squirted back out of his hands immediately after.
This post was edited on 11/6/22 at 8:58 am
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:58 am to burke985
LSU had two hands on the ball. The ONLY reason he didn't maintain possession was an ILLEGAL touch. There is NO logical reason for Alabama to get possession of that ball.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 8:59 am to burke985
My biggest issue with the ruling is that I don’t believe there was indisputable evidence that the Bama player touched the ball. It certainly wasn’t more clear than the tip in OT.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:00 am to lostinbr
quote:
Namely that the player must maintain possession long enough to “perform an act common to the game” (e.g. the old “football move”).
He kneeled
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:00 am to BigDropper
quote:
If the shoe were on the other foot and LSU benefitted from this rule, what would you be doing right now?
Same thing.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:03 am to burke985
Posted this in another thread
The sec has already stated they used rule 4 section 2 article 3
So this whole thing revolves around whether Brooks had possession or not. The SEC believes he did not. The recovery is basically under the same scrutiny as a complete pass (Rule 2 section for article 3.g).
IMO because the bama player knocked it loose, they deemed he did not have possession because Brooks didn’t “complete the catch” and when latua touched it the second time, the ball was declared dead as rule 4 sec 2 art 3 was applied.
The main objection from an LSU perspective should be that the play was overturned as conclusive Brooks didn’t have possession defined at rule 2 sec 4 article 4.a
I suppose the recovery rule overrides the possession rule. But this is a matter of judgement and was ruled controlled on the field.
The sec has already stated they used rule 4 section 2 article 3
quote:
ARTICLE 3. a. A ball not in player control, other than a kick that scores a field goal, is out of bounds when it touches the ground, a player, a game official or anything else that is out of bounds, or that is on or outside a boundary line. b. A ball that touches a pylon is out of bounds behind the goal line. c. If a live ball not in player possession crosses a boundary line and then is declared out of bounds, it is out of bounds at the crossing point.
So this whole thing revolves around whether Brooks had possession or not. The SEC believes he did not. The recovery is basically under the same scrutiny as a complete pass (Rule 2 section for article 3.g).
IMO because the bama player knocked it loose, they deemed he did not have possession because Brooks didn’t “complete the catch” and when latua touched it the second time, the ball was declared dead as rule 4 sec 2 art 3 was applied.
The main objection from an LSU perspective should be that the play was overturned as conclusive Brooks didn’t have possession defined at rule 2 sec 4 article 4.a
quote:
a. Player Possession. The ball is in player possession when a player has the ball firmly in their grasp by holding or controlling it with hand(s) or arm(s) while contacting the ground inbounds.
I suppose the recovery rule overrides the possession rule. But this is a matter of judgement and was ruled controlled on the field.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:04 am to burke985
The replay ref blew it. It wasn’t a bad call. It was a corrupt call. There is a big difference. Our guy recovered that fumble.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:07 am to BayouBlitz
quote:
The LSU player didn't show complete possession of the ball.
I don't think there is any such thing as "complete" possession. He had 2 hands on the ball and was in the process of gathering it to his body.
Rule should be changed to the ball has to be out of bounds or the oob player must have possession to kill the play.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:08 am to burke985
This should only matter if the person recovering the ball is OOB or if a player OOB tips in back into play for his team to recover.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:11 am to burke985
The rule is fine. It was just misapplied in my opinion because the LSU player had gained possession of the ball therefore when the bama player touched it it wasn’t a loose ball out of bounds.
But the rule itself is fine, good and easily understandable stop overreacting because y’all don’t understand the finer points of football mechanics. This rule does not need to be addressed at all.
But the rule itself is fine, good and easily understandable stop overreacting because y’all don’t understand the finer points of football mechanics. This rule does not need to be addressed at all.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:13 am to BayouBlitz
And people keep saying "touching the ball with two hands". The LSU player grabbed the ball with two hand. Not just touched it.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:18 am to burke985
I think it was a misinterpretation of the rule. The claim was that the out of bounds player, by touching the ball, killed the play before LSU player completed full possession. I don't see where in that rule "full completed possession" is required. Simply touching the ball should not affect the act of possession, regardless of who touches it.
Posted on 11/6/22 at 9:21 am to Tiger_Man61
quote:
The rule is fine. It was just misapplied in my opinion because the LSU player had gained possession of the ball therefore when the bama player touched it it wasn’t a loose ball out of bounds.
But the rule itself is fine, good and easily understandable stop overreacting because y’all don’t understand the finer points of football mechanics. This rule does not need to be addressed at all.
This. It was the misapplication of the rule.
Popular
Back to top


0






