- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message

Refs just did the same thing to SC that they did us
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:29 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:29 pm
Is it an SEC crew doing that game?? That was not as clear as ours, but definitely not enough to overturn... But they did. Again.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 3:30 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:31 pm to SuperFlyTiger
Not quite the same but yes they still got hosed.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:32 pm to SuperFlyTiger
quote:it’s the rule.
Refs just did the same thing to SC that they did us
The refs are merely enforcing it.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:34 pm to SuperFlyTiger
I appreciate the consistency, but f$&k those should be catches.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:34 pm to atltiger6487
quote:
it’s the rule.
What is the rule?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:34 pm to atltiger6487
What’s the rule? You have to maintain possession until you’re on the bus?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:53 pm to Padme
I don’t know what the rule was in 2005, but under today’s rules Early Doucet does not win the game at ASU
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:54 pm to OldManRiver
quote:
What’s the rule? You have to maintain possession until you’re on the bus?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:00 pm to SuperFlyTiger
Not the same because our guy caught the ball, had possession with a foot down inbounds outside the endzone then clearly crossed the plane. TD Play over. It's different when the catch is in the endzone
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 4:04 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:01 pm to SuperFlyTiger
That was not the same thing.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:04 pm to SuperFlyTiger
Actually, they got it right for SC. If you’re catching the ball along the boundary and attempting to stay in bounds, you have to complete the catch to the ground. Thats what happened for SC.
For LSU, Brown made the catch, took a step in bounds and then crossed the goal line. That should’ve been the end of it. Possession of the ball while crossing the goal line.
For LSU, Brown made the catch, took a step in bounds and then crossed the goal line. That should’ve been the end of it. Possession of the ball while crossing the goal line.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:06 pm to SuperFlyTiger
SEC refs have been bad.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:08 pm to ibleedprplngld
quote:that’s not the rule
For LSU, Brown made the catch, took a step in bounds and then crossed the goal line. That should’ve been the end of it. Possession of the ball while crossing the goal line.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:11 pm to SuperFlyTiger
I think that one was worse.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:16 pm to atltiger6487
quote:
that’s not the rule
He also maintained control to the ground.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:19 pm to atltiger6487
quote:
it’s the rule.
The refs are merely enforcing it.
Im calling BS on this. I can't remember having issues with this in the past and now we've had two in the first two days of the season. Something had to have changed within the rule or enforcement of specific parts of it. I refuse to believe it's just a coincidence.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:19 pm to atltiger6487
quote:
that’s not the rule
The rule requires judgement on whether the fall was part of the catch. A football move typically defines whether the fall was part of the catch or subsequent to the catch.
You must have that definition, otherwise, a receiver could catch the ball run 3 yards to the end zone fall into the end zone and drop the ball and "the rule" would be incomplete pass.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:23 pm to Turbeauxdog
That's exactly it. If the receiver was falling in the act of the catch, a "move common to the game" is not enough. You must also maintain control through the ground.
Was Brown falling? Probably so.
Was Brown falling? Probably so.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:26 pm to SuperFlyTiger
At least they are consistent
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:30 pm to Tigrdynasty
quote:
Not the same because our guy caught the ball, had possession with a foot down inbounds outside the endzone then clearly crossed the plane. TD Play over.
I don’t know how many times this needs to be said but this is not correct
The catch rule in the ncaa rule book LITERALLY addresses this.
Popular
Back to top

14





