Started By
Message
locked post

Stop with the whole he had two steps in but on the touchdown

Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:40 am
Posted by killercoconut
Lafayette
Member since Jun 2008
3849 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:40 am
Replay

I still think it’s a touchdown as he got one foot and possession as he breaks the goal line.

But if you watch the replay he gets one foot in and the second foot comes down out of bounds. Shouldn’t have any bearing on the call but this argument is not valid.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 11:50 am
Posted by CDawson
Louisiana
Member since Dec 2017
19143 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:41 am to
quote:

But if you watch the replay he gets one foot in and the second foot comes down out of bounds.


Control and “football move” aren’t defined as in bounds or out of bounds. He absolutely took two steps with control and crossed the plane.
Posted by DCtiger1
Member since Jul 2009
10963 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:43 am to
If a running back dives, hits the pylon and fumbles ob when he hits the ground it’s a fricking TD. The rule is moronic
Posted by nola2269
New orleans
Member since Nov 2018
507 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:46 am to
The second foot is irrelevant because the first foot was down before the goal line which means he had possession and crossed the goal line. No diff than a RB breaking the plane and then losing the football (exactly like Durham did). if his first foot was down in the endzone then maintaining clear possession to the ground is necessary
In this case it was not, he had possession and broke the plane.
Posted by killercoconut
Lafayette
Member since Jun 2008
3849 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:46 am to
quote:

Control and “football move” aren’t defined as in bounds or out of bounds. He absolutely took two steps with control and crossed the plane


But he doesn’t take two steps in bounds lol. That’s my whole point. I’m not sure where yall are even getting this. Watch the video
Posted by HughsWorkPhone
Member since Sep 2017
1424 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:50 am to
quote:

If a running back dives, hits the pylon and fumbles ob when he hits the ground it’s a fricking TD. The rule is moronic


A RB clearly has possession. The call was incomplete pass, regardless of touchdown.

It should have been a completed pass as he wasn’t falling when he caught it. He made a football move, and if he didn’t then our TE surely didn’t on his fumble. So either both were incomplete or neither were.

If brown were to have gone up for the ball and lost it when he hit the ground it should have been incomplete. But he caught it in stride and ran with the ball before falling down
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 11:51 am
Posted by Fast Times @ LSU
Camas
Member since Jan 2005
1903 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:52 am to
How is Brown’s TD not a TD, but Bauer’s is a catch?
Posted by Thorny
Montgomery, AL
Member since May 2008
2185 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:09 pm to
quote:

He made a football move, and if he didn’t then our TE surely didn’t on his fumble. So either both were incomplete or neither were.


This is why nobody can actually define a catch. I've become somewhat immune to all the buffoonery around whether they will call something a catch or not. I'm just glad that this time, it ended up not being needed..

GEAUX TIGERS!
Posted by Asleepinthecove
Lafayette
Member since Jan 2023
1951 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:10 pm to
quote:

How is Brown’s TD not a TD, but Bauer’s is a catch?


I thought the Bauder fumble should have been an incomplete pass because he didn’t even have the chance to take two steps and a football move.
Posted by Fast Times @ LSU
Camas
Member since Jan 2005
1903 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:12 pm to
I thought the same
Posted by mtntiger
Asheville, NC
Member since Oct 2003
29258 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:13 pm to
He had two feet down before crossing the goal line. One foot was down when he caught it, he took a step, then was pushed as he crossed the goal line. It was a catch and a TD.

The refs got it wrong. You got it wrong.
Posted by Geauxgurt
Member since Sep 2013
13001 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:16 pm to
quote:

I still think it’s a touchdown as he got one foot and possession as he breaks the goal line.


Then it’s not a touchdown and is incomplete. You need one foot in bounds to get possession, sure, but you have to maintain control to the ground even if you break the plane. The goal line isn’t some magical mark that lets you stop the game instantaneously for every circumstance.

In the end, it was disappointing but it was the right cal by the rules.
Posted by TigerSooner
Member since Nov 2023
3569 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:20 pm to
Refs are stupid and will always be stupid. End of story.
Posted by Gavin Elster
Member since Mar 2020
3258 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:25 pm to
quote:

In the end, it was disappointing but it was the right cal by the rules.

And yet the rules analyst, announcers and everyone commenting on the game, both media and fans, agree it was a TD. Learn the rules before you post here.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 12:25 pm
Posted by GetmorewithLes
UK Basketball Fan
Member since Jan 2011
22072 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:27 pm to
quote:

He made a football move, and if he didn’t then our TE surely didn’t on his fumble. So either both were incomplete or neither were.


I said the same thing about Hilton’s fumble. The catch and fumble was irrelevant to that play as it still would have been a turn over on downs if incomplete.
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61642 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:30 pm to
quote:

But if you watch the replay he gets one foot in and the second foot comes down out of bounds. Shouldn’t have any bearing on the call but this argument is not valid.


The NFL rule states you need a 3rd step or a football move or you have to survive the ground.

Did he make a football move by diving in to the end zone around the pylon?

To me, the best argument for the catch is that he actually did survive the ground. The ball moved but he never lost control. That play is ruled a catch 90+% of the time.

ETA: I don’t know what the college rule is. Would love to see if it’s even documented.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 12:31 pm
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26289 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:33 pm to
The fact that he hit the pylon should have been enough.
Posted by TeamLSU
Member since Feb 2009
3601 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:34 pm to
quote:

The call was incomplete pass, regardless of touchdown.



Well you're WRONG. The INITIAL call was COMPLETED pass and out at the half yard line.
Posted by CapitalTiger
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Sep 2019
237 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:35 pm to
quote:

You need one foot in bounds to get possession, sure, but you have to maintain control to the ground even if you break the plane.


How many steps do you need before you break the plane, then?
Posted by Bayou
Boudin, LA
Member since Feb 2005
41236 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:35 pm to
We beat the #4 team in America that was fvored to beat us. All the pundits shat on us. We beat them in their wannabe artificial version of Death Valley AND we beat the refs!
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram