Posted by
Message
Falco
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2018
318 posts

Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
review 1

This review is mostly about the camera and it not being up to par with iPhone 12.

Review 2 this one tells you to buy a 4 instead of a 5


quote:

Google's Pixel 5 is here, but it didn't exactly blow our minds. Released alongside it is another phone that's more worthy of your consideration: The Pixel 4a 5G. Ignore the name, it's basically a Pixel 5 but $200 cheaper. You give up on a few benefits like an IP rating, 90Hz display, and metal build, but you get a bigger screen and a headphone jack, all with the same camera and internals.





A lot of the complaints are about Google cutting corners and the Snapdragon system. Then the 5 is not worth the extra $200 over the 4. I have a 3a XL and was thinking of upgrading but after the reviews I may switch to a OneNote or something similar.


List Eater
Houston Fan
Htown
Member since Apr 2005
22358 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
I have a 3a xl but will go to 4a if there's a BF deal again. The specs on it are actually pretty amazing in comparison with the non a line


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2006
34946 posts
 Online 

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
You've made me consider the 4a5G now that I've read some articles. Not sure I'd notice the $200 difference to get a 5, which is what I was intending to get.
This post was edited on 10/19 at 12:48 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
BottomlandBrew
LSU Fan
Member since Aug 2010
21829 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
I'm not a fan of them dropping the photo processor, and I initially wasn't a fan of the slower main processor, but the benchmarks I've seen have been really good, so who knows.


Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2006
34946 posts
 Online 

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
Just recalled that only the Pixel 5 has wireless charging.

I've been thinking this may be more useful to me. I've never had a phone with it but my Pixel 2 charge port is loose and now I want that feature.


AlxTgr
LSU Fan
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
68844 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
Maybe I am not reading this right, but my 4XL has wireless charging.


SG_Geaux
LSU Fan
Googolplex Posts
Member since Aug 2004
69591 posts
 Online 

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
I haven't seen a bad review.

You have one Photo "enthusiast" bitching about the camera.

You have another recommending the 4a 5G as the better value, which it is.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
bbap
Pacific Fan
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Feb 2006
93477 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
He's talking about of the new models: 5,4a,and 4a 5G.


TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2006
34946 posts
 Online 

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
Yes.

I'm holding out to see what Google Fi offers are there. Hopefully something next month.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
sportsaddit68
LSU Fan
Hammond
Member since Sep 2008
3499 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
Android 11 has been a complete clusterfrick for me and my pixel 3a. Sounds cutting out constantly, screen freezes a few times, among other issues. I'm not updated to an android until they fix 11 or 10 is default on phone


AlxTgr
LSU Fan
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
68844 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
I have not had any problems on mine.


JasonMason
SMU Fan
Memphis
Member since Jun 2009
3355 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
quote:

I've been thinking this may be more useful to me. I've never had a phone with it but my Pixel 2 charge port is loose and now I want that feature.


Have you tried to clean it out? I was having the same problem with my Pixel 2 and a friend told me he cleaned his out (scraped around the edge with a sewing needle). I did it and it's working fine now. When you think you've cleaned a lot of the junk out....there is still more to clean out.


sportsaddit68
LSU Fan
Hammond
Member since Sep 2008
3499 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
LINK

This is a link to some people complaining about having the same issue I have. Android 11 has made Audible a night are for my commute. I even did a factory reset.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Teddy Ruxpin
LSU Fan
Member since Oct 2006
34946 posts
 Online 

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
Ya I actually googled that the other day but not much came out.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
seawolf06
LSU Fan
Raleigh, NC
Member since Oct 2007
7443 posts

re: Google Pixel 5: Why are the reviews so bad?
quote:

buy a 4 instead of a 5


Isn't this the same thing they said when the 4 came out (to buy a 3 instead)?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram