Posted by
Message
Tigerfan56
LSU Fan
Member since May 2010
8675 posts

What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
I am referring to Minnesota and the general frustration that people have with the treatment of black people by law enforcement officers.

There is a large segment of the population, heavily represented on this board I might add, that has condemned both these riots and peaceful protesting by athletes.

When it was peaceful - it was considered too disrespectful, attention-whoring, not going to lead to any real change. When it is violent it is considered dangerous, counter-productive to good change, and only hurting the communities.

So I ask - what would be acceptable forms of protest in your opinion?

This will get derailed quickly but let's start by addressing a few deflections and straw-mans that will inevitably be posted in lieu of a logical and rational response to the bolded question:

1) I am not condoning violent protest. I think kneeling for the anthem was a good way to do this. I am addressing the question to the folks that were upset by both kneeling and rioting

2) The anthem kneeling was not directed at the troops. Just because you disagree with the cause/reason, does not mean you get to twist it into a position that is more easy for you to refute. It has been stated multiple times, and from the beginning, the kneeling was directed towards the treatment of black people by law enforcement

3) It doesn't matter whether or not you agree with the core reason that these riots/protests occur, i.e. if you do not believe there exists a cultural problem between blacks and law enforcement. The question is what form of protest would be acceptable, not whether or not you think protest should occur.

This question is geared to those who condemned kneeling and rioting. What should the avenue be?
This post was edited on 5/29 at 7:31 am


Centinel
Alabama Fan
South Carolina
Member since Sep 2016
25774 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

So I ask - what would be acceptable forms of protest in your opinion?



Burning and looting. #Blacklivesmatter


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
305
tduecen
New York Yankees Fan
Member since Nov 2006
151876 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
We should burn and destroy more property, probably rape, plunder, and pillage in a more dramatic way as well. More guns and shootings of those who disagree


DomincDecoco
New Orleans Saints Fan
Hell in a handbag son...
Member since Oct 2018
2749 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
NON VIOLENT NON DESTRUCTIVE


Proximo
USA Fan
Member since Aug 2011
3838 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
You sound like a cuck


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
1120
The Sea Otter
LSU Fan
AR-Kansas
Member since Mar 2019
546 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
IMO, peaceful protests go further. If your goal is to stop violence, then it shouldn't be protested in the form of violence.

These aren't protests, they are robbery through temper tantrums thrown by a bunch of adult adolescents.


LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
None. None more black.
Member since Mar 2006
83516 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

o I ask - what would be acceptable forms of protest in your opinion?


Blocking an interstate during rush hour.


Tigerfan56
LSU Fan
Member since May 2010
8675 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

Burning and looting. #Blacklivesmatter


quote:

We should burn and destroy more property, probably rape, plunder, and pillage in a more dramatic way as well. More guns and shootings of those who disagree


2 responses in, 2 deflections already addressed in OP (i.e. I do not condone the rioting)

Off to a great start, as expected


marchballer
Stanford Fan
The Greatest Country on Earth
Member since Aug 2008
3925 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?


tduecen
New York Yankees Fan
Member since Nov 2006
151876 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
Don't forget throwing things and hitting cars that get close, destruction of personal property is ok because they probably have insurance


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
62
Tigerfan56
LSU Fan
Member since May 2010
8675 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

IMO, peaceful protests go further. If your goal is to stop violence, then it shouldn't be protested in the form of violence.

These aren't protests, they are robbery through temper tantrums thrown by a bunch of adult adolescents.


I agree. So shouldn't kneeling at the anthem be acceptable?


Centinel
Alabama Fan
South Carolina
Member since Sep 2016
25774 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

2 responses in, 2 deflections already addressed in OP (i.e. I do not condone the rioting)

Off to a great start, as expected




Cry more bitch.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
1314
t00f
Tulane Fan
Eating with a mask in the zone
Member since Jul 2016
37827 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
Something behind a barricade so when I walk by I can’t hear them.


The Sea Otter
LSU Fan
AR-Kansas
Member since Mar 2019
546 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

I agree. So shouldn't kneeling at the anthem be acceptable?


If no one would have paid them any attention then it would have been a nonissue.

They got what they wanted, attention.
This post was edited on 5/29 at 7:37 am


jfw3535
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Mar 2008
345 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
Certainly not robbing and torching places of private business.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
70
lsupride87
LSU Fan
Member since Dec 2007
65671 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
Something short of burning things, robbing people, and attacking people




Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
SulphursFinest
LA-Lafayette Fan
Lafayette
Member since Jan 2015
3119 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
Kneeling for the anthem didn’t bother me. I would never disrespect the flag, it’s not what I would do, but it’s literally harmless.


crazyLSUstudent
LSU Fan
391 miles away from Tiger Stadium
Member since Mar 2012
3321 posts

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
This is way to well said and thoughtful for the OT. Prepare thy self for poli board mouth breathers coming in here and stinking up the place.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
185
Picayuner
Member since Dec 2016
1955 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
The second Kap put on a Castro shirt and pig socks it became NOT ok. The Kneeling during the national anthem is NOT ok. He had the forum of fame and the opportunity with ESPN etc.. and chose a disrespectful path. He's also an idiot so that didn't help


LSUBoo
Bowling Green Fan
None. None more black.
Member since Mar 2006
83516 posts
 Online 

re: What are acceptable protests in your opinion?
quote:

I agree. So shouldn't kneeling at the anthem be acceptable?


It was an acceptable form of protest, he wasn't breaking any laws or harming anyone else. That doesn't mean you have to agree with the guy. It's also acceptable to me that it made him unhireable as an NFL player.


first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram