Posted by
Message
WPBTiger
USA Fan
Parts Unknown
Member since Nov 2011
13418 posts

Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
LINK

Image: http://a57.foxnews.com/images.foxnews.com/content/fox-news/entertainment/2018/03/08/oprahs-ultra-pc-wrinkle-in-time-stung-with-bad-reviews-as-cringeworthy-100-million-dollar-disney-movie-could-bomb-experts-say/_jcr_content/par/featured_image/media-0.img.jpg/1862/1048/1520517195666.jpg?ve=1&tl=1


quote:

Disney’s $100 million gamble to turn the classic children’s book “A Wrinkle in Time” into a politically correct film filled with liberal talking points on feminism and diversity may be backfiring badly, with the poorly reviewed Oprah Winfrey-starring movie possibly teetering toward a tank job at the box office this weekend, according to some predictions.

The film is currently rated a “rotten” 43 percent on “Rotten Tomatoes,” but “woke” cultural critics don’t seem to mind. They say that the movie, directed by anti-Trump filmmaker Ava DuVernay, is so important in terms of its social justice messages that whether it’s a terrible movie or not just doesn’t matter.

Parade Magazine said the film is a “crinkled, jammed, over-crammed hot mess,” but praised the casting of Hollywood's favorite 2020 presidential possibility.


quote:

The film is often billed as “the first $100 million movie directed by an African-American woman,” and DuVernay, who’s well known for her Twitter attacks on President Trump, doesn’t seem to mind if it bombs at the box office.

“I don’t care what anybody thinks about it,” she told the Times. “I know it’s $100 million for the studio. They’ll be fine.”


Michael T. Tiger
LSU Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Jul 2004
4659 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
So...Another liberal spending other people’s money and not caring about the consequences. Got it.

For some reason, “liberal” was autocorrected to something else. Hence the edit.
This post was edited on 3/8 at 11:05 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
934
DanglingFury
VCU Fan
Living the dream
Member since Dec 2007
19865 posts
 Online 

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

“I don’t care what anybody thinks about it,” she told the Times. “I know it’s $100 million for the studio. They’ll be fine.”


I don't think she understands how Hollywood works.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
450
TROLA
Chicago Cubs Fan
BATON ROUGE
Member since Apr 2004
9388 posts
 Online 

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

“I don’t care what anybody thinks about it,” she told the Times. “I know it’s $100 million for the studio. They’ll be fine.”


Well... if the movie truly sucks and she still gets big budget films after this statement then we may be nearing a tipping point of absurdity


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
440
StringedInstruments
Auburn Fan
Member since Oct 2013
8376 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
If you watched the Oscars, you know it takes copious amounts of marijuana to get through it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
230
Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
19253 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
What makes it Ultra-PC? Have they changed the book that much?


JasonMason
SMU Fan
Memphis
Member since Jun 2009
2761 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

What makes it Ultra-PC?


I'm curious about this too. I saw something interesting about the reviews on this movie on twitter yesterday though. Someone posted a few of the "fresh" reviews of the movie. If you read them, they weren't actually positive.

ETA: I just glanced at some of the fresh reviews and they gave ratings like 2.5/5 or 2.5/4 and 3/5. I guess ratings are subjective, but where do they draw the line at fresh/rotten?
This post was edited on 3/8 at 11:24 am


TotesMcGotes
Virginia Fan
New York, New York
Member since Mar 2009
22590 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
Can’t be. I was told that any film starring a minority would be a critical success.


hogfly
Arkansas Fan
Fayetteville, AR
Member since May 2014
3291 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

What makes it Ultra-PC? Have they changed the book that much?


In this day of "rightwashing" of entertainment where any hint of progressivism brings out alt-right trolls to spam bad reviews on RT and flood people's feeds with negativity, it likely is "ultra PC" because it has... a black person in it.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
1976
Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
19253 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

Can’t be. I was told that any film starring a minority would be a critical success.


You're doing it wrong.

Any minority film that has critical success achieved it due to it being a minority film.


TD SponsorTD Fan
USA
Member since 2001
Thank you for supporting our sponsors
Advertisement
Green Chili Tiger
LSU Fan
Lurking the Tin Foil Hat Board
Member since Jul 2009
27579 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

What makes it Ultra-PC? Have they changed the book that much?


Asking the real questions.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
51
OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
67871 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
Personally I didn't like the book, so I had no desire to see this. It really looks like a piece of shit, and I'm glad critics didn't fall for it this time.


P-Dawg
Georgia Fan
Atlanta
Member since Sep 2012
1178 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

I just glanced at some of the fresh reviews and they gave ratings like 2.5/5 or 2.5/4 and 3/5. I guess ratings are subjective, but where do they draw the line at fresh/rotten?


Rotten tomatoes, as far as individual reviews, rates anything that scores a 50% (or just "not terrible" for ratings that don't give an alphanumeric rating) or higher as "fresh." So as long as it's a 50% rating, it's a positive.

Then, their total rating is changed to give anything with an average "fresh" rating of like 70% or higher as "fresh." But keep in mind, they're basing the average off of the individual "fresh" ratings.

So basically, a film can get nothing but 50% or higher reviews, but get a 100% Rotten Tomatoes score.


buckeye_vol
Ohio State Fan
Member since Jul 2014
28030 posts
 Online 

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

Rotten tomatoes, as far as individual reviews, rates anything that scores a 50% (or just "not terrible" for ratings that don't give an alphanumeric rating) or higher as "fresh." So as long as it's a 50% rating, it's a positive.
This is false. The reviewer provides the fresh or rotten rating, and in the few instances that one doesn’t, then they assign one after multiple people review the review.


Fewer Kilometers
LA-Lafayette Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2007
19253 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
RT has also said that in coin-toss ratings from reviewers, they'll look at the actual review to see if it leans towards being positive or negative. So a 2 out of 4 star review could go either way.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
Fox Mulder
New Orleans Saints Fan
Yo mama
Member since Dec 2010
63374 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
Even if I weren’t bored by identity politics in movies, I don’t want to see a fantasy movie with very famous people cast in major roles


Fezzik
LSU Fan
Gilder
Member since Oct 2017
61 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
Reese Witherspoon has publicly said Oprah was a bitch to most of the people on the set throughout filming. Reese got fussed at for chewing gum on the set between takes and for not taking her shoes off when eating with the cast.

Sounds like Oprah is a beeeeotch.


OMLandshark
Ole Miss Fan
Member since Apr 2009
67871 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

Reese Witherspoon has publicly said Oprah was a bitch to most of the people on the set throughout filming. Reese got fussed at for chewing gum on the set between takes and for not taking her shoes off when eating with the cast.

Sounds like Oprah is a beeeeotch.


I've heard multiple stories about Oprah being a bitch. One of my dad's best friends father lives in the same apartment complex as her, and has quite a few stories on how she's a bitch.


P-Dawg
Georgia Fan
Atlanta
Member since Sep 2012
1178 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

This is false. The reviewer provides the fresh or rotten rating, and in the few instances that one doesn’t, then they assign one after multiple people review the review.


I read that in an old article from the AV Club website, so either they just made that up or didn't do their research. Either way, I'm not sure that's better if a reviewer can give a 4/10 review but still mark it up as fresh, or vice-versa.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
VanRIch
LSU Fan
Abita Springs, La
Member since Sep 2007
5749 posts

re: Oprah's ultra-PC ‘Wrinkle in Time’ stung with bad reviews as ‘cringeworthy’
quote:

so important in terms of its social justice messages that whether it’s a terrible movie or not just doesn’t matter


HOL.EEEEE SHIT


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
60
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram