Posted by
Message
kikicub
LSU Fan
West Coast
Member since Apr 2019
33 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Happy for you!!


beejus
Member since Aug 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Greetings all. I'm starting the MBA program (HR MGMT concentration) this fall. Does anyone have any experience with MADM 715 (Labor and Employment Law) with Nichole Phillips? This will be my first and only class for AP1, and I'm just wondering how grueling it will be. I've been out of school for over 6 years now, so I'm as excited to start as I am nervous about being a student again.
Also, for AP2, I'm taking ACCT 701 with Yu Bai and ISDS 705 with Binshan Lin. I work full-time, so I'll typically only take 1 course at a time, but my research on this forum seems to indicate ISDS 705 is a good course to double up on. Does this seem like a reasonable course load to start out with?

Thanks!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
03
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
does this program offer Microsoft products for free or discounted?
I planned to upgrade my Windows OS and Office version before I start classes but just realized that there may be student discounts available.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

oes this program offer Microsoft products for free or discounted?


Office is free for any student. Just put in student email.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
What’s the deal with the new proctor and new accreditation module requirements? Is the AACSB questioning the program’s legitimacy or something? Very strange. And sounds like the new proctor service will be an absolute headache....


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
84 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

And sounds like the new proctor service will be an absolute headache....

Having used ProctorU at UF, I am not a fan of their service. You have to schedule your exam time, but when you get there it's always 15-20 minutes before you are actually taking the exam due to their checks.
This post was edited on 8/27 at 8:40 am


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Having used ProctorU at UF, I am not a fan of their service.


I guess I’m more concerned that it seems like the programs accreditation is being contemplated. I’m sure we’d all be pissed if we’ve come this far and the AACSB accreditation is revoked.
This post was edited on 8/26 at 6:32 pm


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
84 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I’m sure we’d all be pissed if we’ve come this far and the AACSB accreditation is revoked.


Yea, the bad thing is that all we could say in the future is "well, it was accredited when I graduated." I mean, I guess any school could lose it, but how does that effect us in the long run? It goes both ways, I guess. If a school gets accredited after you attend, bonus for you; if it loses the accreditation after you leave, how is your degree viewed? Negatively, because the reviewer only sees the here and now, and not when you attended?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
22
Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
25 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
4-5 years ago at Colorado State I used a proctoring service where some foreigner would stare at me over my webcam while I took the online exam. Anytime I coughed or really even shifted in my chair, the proctor would demand a room scan. I feel like that service was ProctorU...I hope they've significantly modernized -- it was very strange to have someone in a little window glaring at you while scrutinizing your every move.


Ivory
Member since Jun 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I transferred from another MBA program that used "Examity" and it was a similar situation. You had to schedule test appointments and someone stared at you the entire test - it was nerve-racking!

I also found this on the LSUS website:

LSU Shreveport has been accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges since 1975. The University was last reviewed in 2015, and its next reaffirmation is scheduled for 2025.


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
84 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I also found this on the LSUS website:

LSU Shreveport has been accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges since 1975. The University was last reviewed in 2015, and its next reaffirmation is scheduled for 2025.


That is for the school (LSUS) itself. I believe the new measures in place are for the AACSB accreditation.

On the College of Business page: LINK


tank123
Member since Apr 2019
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I think they will do what's required to keep the AACSB accreditation. There are very few people who will consider this an option without it and this online format seems like a total cash cow.

However, ProctorU sounds absolutely terrible. If these horror stories are accurate, students are going to lose a lot of the flexibility that was promised.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

However, ProctorU sounds absolutely terrible. If these horror stories are accurate, students are going to lose a lot of the flexibility that was promised.


Yep. I have a friend at LSUA. They've been using ProctorU. He says it isn't as bad as it sounds in his experience. Guess we'll see. Wonder if the instructors who currently don't use Proctor will be forced to start using one?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
13
PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am looking to start the LSUS Online MBA program soon.
I did find the following on the LSUS site. It seems like they just became accredited last year. It seems really soon to fall off the wagon.
LINK


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
12
Intangible
Member since Aug 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
They are merging with Louisianna Tech University as one person previously posted. They both have their accreditation. LINK /

As far as people taking courses, I signed up for Fawdi for Econ. Any tips or suggestions for him? I start Monday and got Yin's accounting course knocked out. Her final was a reflection of her inability to teach and I got the 68% she stated most students received last year in her zoom session. Whatever, still got the B for the overalll course.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

They are merging with Louisianna Tech University as one person previously posted


I don't think that's the case. There seems to be one legislature in north Louisiana who has been pushing for this, but he never gets any support.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
84 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

They are merging with Louisianna Tech University as one person previously posted.


That got shut down. Not happening. Was on the news a while ago.


Intangible
Member since Aug 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Appreciate the heads up. I jumped through a few pages and had read the docs that they had dropped the link to while doing the accounting class so haven't had a whole ton of time to do research.

Glad to know there will be accreditation regardless. I got Lynn for Finance coming up at the end of the year, but am looking forward to Econ with Fadi.


PurplePower
Member since Aug 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I wonder what the breakdown by concentration/specialization looks like? I am leaning towards Data Analytics, but it seems like Project Management and Entrepreneurship is where they are receiving good reviews.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
JLaw001
Member since Aug 2018
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Both great professors but it's not a walk in the park - Tough pairing


first pageprev pagePage 420 of 423next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram