Posted by
Message
zachtiger
LSU Fan
Zachary
Member since Oct 2007
192 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@mohawk - sent, good luck.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
Bon81
Member since Sep 2018
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
had no familiarity with excel until it hit me. I missed getting a "B" by 1.3%. Create excel sheets and make sure to do the practice exams as the text problems tend to be different then exams. I am doing the Finance Concentration so I have to wait until Spring AP1 to retake.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
TrailHawkPower17
Member since Sep 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I even asked if I could just go sit in the bathroom and take my test there but they told me no.



1tacocat1
Member since Jul 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone taking Vines recently that could provide any insight on what to expect on his exams? I have made a sheet with formulas but I don't know if that will help pass the first test. really feel as though I am struggling even though I have dedicated time to research his concepts. Any help at all would be appreciated.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
55 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Has anyone taking Vines recently that could provide any insight on what to expect on his exams? I have made a sheet with formulas but I don't know if that will help pass the first test. really feel as though I am struggling even though I have dedicated time to research his concepts. Any help at all would be appreciated


Vines is difficult to predict because he chooses "x" amount of quiz questions and moodle randomly selects 10. For instance, test 2 was only 40% possibility of getting computation questions; yet I ended up getting 6 computations questions out of the 10 quiz questions. My best advice is have your spreadsheet ready and don't go overboard on your written answers. He wants a short sweet answer. Everything asked can be found in your study guide. Be sure to do the practice questions (preferably in excel) and have that spreadsheet handy.


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Really appreciate the forum, but I have to disagree with the forum’s consensus on 2 points.

IMO, I cannot recommend Gibbs for ISDS705. The quizzes are not fair and the course is loaded with busy work. If you aren’t going to learn anything anyway, just take Lin.

Also, White was good for Econ. Very helpful, tests are not easy, but not tricky. Curves are generous.
This post was edited on 9/10 at 6:34 pm


tank123
Member since Apr 2019
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Can you go further into detail on some of the busy work with Gibbs?

Highly doubt I will learn anything in this class that I haven't learned in the real world but almost everyone says Gibbs > Lin if possible.

Thanks!


LK1900
Member since Sep 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hello Everyone! I am a new student starting out this Fall Semester in AP2.

Do you think it’s a good idea to double up with ISDS 705 - Binshan Lin and MADM 701 with Erin McLaughlin, MADM760 with Wyatt, or MKT 701 -Minseong Kim (she doesn't have reviews, hoping to see if anyone had her)?

Suggestions? Work load? Difficulty level? Shooting for 2 classes that I can handle while working full time.

Thanks in advance!! ??


longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Hello Everyone! I am a new student starting out this Fall Semester in AP2.

Do you think it’s a good idea to double up with ISDS 705 - Binshan Lin and MADM 701 with Erin McLaughlin, MADM760 with Wyatt, or MKT 701 -Minseong Kim (she doesn't have reviews, hoping to see if anyone had her)?

Suggestions? Work load? Difficulty level? Shooting for 2 classes that I can handle while working full time.

Thanks in advance!! ??


Hi there, LK1900! I started the program in Summer AP2 with 2 classes while working full time, and I would personally recommend against it for your first session. Here's my background and why I have this opinion (I made A's in both of my classes, but it really took a lot out of me):

- If you haven't been in school in a while, getting back into the bull shite takes a bit. I'm a lifelong self learner who regularly takes new technical certification tests, and I wasn't prepared for (or didn't remember from my college days) the silly restrictions and overhead that are involved in a degree program. It's nothing terrible, but it's more like death by a thousand cuts. My schedule varies daily (I own my own IT company and travel to customer sites), so some days I have a lot of time, and other days I don't. Each week's schoolwork is released individually, so you can't really get ahead with your deliverables. I had enough free time in the first week that I feel like I could have finished all of the work for both classes, but that wasn't an option. And in a couple of weeks during the session, I had almost no time, making it really difficult to get all of that week's work done.

- Changing gears between two different classes/professors can be pretty exhausting. Undergrad without a fulltime job was difficult enough for me in the early 90's. Two different classes with a more-than-fulltime job was just painful. I really didn't have any constructive down time during the session. If I didn't have work to do, I was stressing about the next week's work.

I've now cut down to one class, and it's MUCH easier on my brain. I'm able to enjoy the material without stressing 24/7. I recommend you start with one class to see how it goes, and then POSSIBLY increase to 2 classes.

My $.02.


kikicub
LSU Fan
West Coast
Member since Apr 2019
33 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I agree with Longhorned Tiger. I have been taking 2 classes at a time, though I kind of wish I had just done one my first session just to get back into the swing of things. That way, if you end up not getting as high of a grade as you would have liked, you only sabotage one class' grade instead of two. However, save ISDS705 for another term for doubling up. MADM760 has a good intro to MBA-thinking, though I took it from Meeks, whom I do recommend, though the workload (busywork) can be heavy (1,700-4,000 word paper each week). Good luck in the program and welcome!


GoldenSombrero
Arkansas Fan
Member since Sep 2010
2183 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I even asked if I could just go sit in the bathroom and take my test there but they told me no.


Seriously Proctor U sucks big time. Proctiro (sp?) was awesome.

I've had 4 tests in that app so far. Some of the admins are ok and others are beyond ridiculous. They asked me to put my phone away (no big deal that's standard) so I placed it in my desk drawer. Said nope, can't put it in a drawer. Had to place in on the ground behind me and show them where it was located.

My office is kind of a mess with work papers and stuff around and hanging up. None of which is in arms reach. The first 3 admins had no problem as my work area was cleared and I showed them a view of the other stuff. The last one asked me to clear everything. We went back and forth about 3x because it wasn't meeting their expectations and I finally started just throwing stuff across my office on the floor.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
25 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

My office is kind of a mess with work papers and stuff around and hanging up.


Yea, this was my problem as well -- After pre-test #1 I figured that I was going to have to find a better place to take my tests. What I ended up doing was getting a folding chair and a TV tray, sitting square in the middle of my living room (at least 10 feet from everything) with my laptop and take the tests that way. The proctors seemed OK with the setup and it was a breeze to get through the prechecks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
12 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Seriously Proctor U sucks big time. Proctiro (sp?) was awesome.

I've had 4 tests in that app so far. Some of the admins are ok and others are beyond ridiculous. They asked me to put my phone away (no big deal that's standard) so I placed it in my desk drawer. Said nope, can't put it in a drawer. Had to place in on the ground behind me and show them where it was located.

My office is kind of a mess with work papers and stuff around and hanging up. None of which is in arms reach. The first 3 admins had no problem as my work area was cleared and I showed them a view of the other stuff. The last one asked me to clear everything. We went back and forth about 3x because it wasn't meeting their expectations and I finally started just throwing stuff across my office on the floor.


I cover everything on my desk with a sheet and other surfaces I cover with other similar things, and that seems to appease them. My advice (that I had to tell myself before I threw something at my computer) is to just accept it as how things will be, and try to find a way around the stupidity without letting it get to you. My goal is to keep my aggravation as low as possible so it doesn't affect me on the tests.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
LK1900
Member since Sep 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
longhornedtiger & kikicub - this information is very helpful and I will start with 1 class to get things rolling. Thanks again!! Good luck with the rest of your classes :)


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
84 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I've been a lurker for awhile but felt the need to create an account and post. I've just done my Proctorio Pretest and it was frustrating and was a complete waste of my time. I was with them (i say them because my proctor kept asking for the manager) for over 30 minutes and didn't even get the chance to take my test... I think this system is horrible and I really wish they would go back or change it. I have to reschedule my test again and start all over again. I had to cover any writing even if it was from a packaged box. I had to show what was in front of me, next to me, behind me, all four walls and my desk over and over and over again. Every time I needed to say something to the proctor via chat, the chat box kept closing on its own. I had to type one letter at a time and open it again and again because as I typed, the window would close. I think it was a glitch but it made the whole process even more annoying. They ended up uninstalling the program but was taking a while. Once I was nearing the 45 minute mark of waiting, I gave up and just told the proctor that I'd rather just reschedule. She was apologetic and was overall nice but the entire experience was BS.


Cut and paste this in an email directly to the MBA Chancellor, Larry Clark at Larry.Clark@lsus.edu. The more he hears, the better.


aycademir
Member since Sep 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Good evening all,
l'm starting my MBA for AP2 and signed up for FIN 701 Vines. l dropped ECON 705 as l originally planned to take both but the advisor suggested to start off with 1. I'm an Industrial Engineer working in Healthcare and finished college 2006. Full time employee and mom for 6 years old boy.
l would truly appreciate if someone can share class notes and book info with me so l can get started sooner. My email is: aycabrera@hotmail.com
Thanks so much


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Cut and paste this in an email directly to the MBA Chancellor,


Complain if you wish, but I find proctorU to be a minor inconvenience compared to the “no review” policy or the fact that none of the 5 courses I have taken had any lectures.
This post was edited on 9/12 at 10:21 pm


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
84 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Complain if you wish, but I find proctorU to be a minor inconvenience compared to the “no review” policy or the fact that none of the 5 courses I have taken had any lectures.


I absolutely hate this about the program.


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
11 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Overall, I really like LSUS. My complaints really would apply to MBAs in general.

The MBA works well for me. I’m learning a lot because I don’t have a business background. I don’t understand what someone with a business undergrad would expect to get out of an MBA. I guess schools are selling “networking” so hard because that’s all someone with a undergrad in business stands to gain.
This post was edited on 9/13 at 9:17 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
satpat
Member since Sep 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Zach you mind sending those spreadsheets to me as well, appreciate it
ibmcap@gmail.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Jump to page
Page First 420 421 422 423
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 422 of 423next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram