Posted by
Message
Cottonseed
Auburn Fan
Member since Feb 2018
54 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Finished Choi with an A.
All 100s on papers
95, 75, 55 on the 3 tests.

The last test I did not even read a single math problem. Just memorized the regular multiple choice.

Definitely recommend this class. I learned a great deal and enjoy how much the papers put real conceptual meaning into Finance. Takes you beyond just memorizing formulas.


AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
27 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Trying to decide on which professor to take for MKT701 - Koksal or Khan? I know these are new professors for this course but was wondering if any one had recommendations? Thanks in advance.


sernt18
Member since Aug 2018
29 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
On the same note, has anyone taken Marketing class with Imran Khan ? How is the course designed ? Is there any group assignment every week ? Any suggestions or recommendations ?


EBP2280
Member since Jan 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This site has been useful and beneficial in terms of course and professor information, but it really baffles me to see folks on here who complete the program to then turn around and try to discredit it. You went to an IVY league school, and you're near the top of the chain at your company, CONGRATS! It sounds like you probably should have opted to get your MBA from an IVY league school as well. What happened, you couldn't get in? You wanted to enroll in a program that was less competitive so you could have some bragging rights or feel superior to others? Just the arrogance and pure narcisism is so unnecessary! Please let people try to enjoy what they're getting out of this program! Good Luck to you!


zachtiger
LSU Fan
Zachary
Member since Oct 2007
161 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Looking for anyone who took MKT 701 with Khan as well, have gotten really mixed reviews. Would appreciate if anyone had any feedback or input on the class.


sernt18
Member since Aug 2018
29 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I looked up previous pages and couldn't find any detailed reviews on Marketing with Imran Khan. Does anyone have any suggestions on who would be the best to take ISDS 705 with among Lind, Darban Mehdi or Gherfal Sam ? Do they all require group work ?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Looking for anyone who took MKT 701 with Khan as well, have gotten really mixed reviews


I enjoyed Khan. From other review I've read here, it looks like he switches the course up so it's hard to predict what he will do this term. Last term there was a 25 pt exam weeks 1-6 and a final on week 7. The standard exams were 25 questions worth 1 pt each and the final was 25 questions worth 2 points. In addition, there was a 5 pg "maximum" single spaced paper required in weeks 2, 4, 5, and 6. To me the course was easy and I don't consider myself a top-notch student. I finished with a 94% A. My strategy was to read the assigned chapters early in the week (typically 2 chapters per week) and make highlights. Then I would listen to his provided lectures (typically 2 @ 30 minutes each). I could have this done by Thursday. Then I would skim my highlights throughout the rest of the week and listen to the lectures one more time just before taking the exams. That worked for me.

He tends to offend people that are easily offended. He makes fun of "safe-spaces," "the green new deal," Hollywood in general, and cracked a joke about Joe Biden being handsy. So if those things may offend you, I could see you not liking him. I enjoyed the course. Considering the reviews on the other Marketing instructors, I'd say he's your best pick. I'd estimate the course requires 8-12 hrs per week, depending if it's a week with a paper or not.


zachtiger
LSU Fan
Zachary
Member since Oct 2007
161 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Awesome, thanks a ton PresJohn. I figured this was the case, as the folks who were complaining seemed like whiny types, and there were a few folks that chimed in and called them out. Theres one former student who is very outspoken calling Khan rude and arrogant - and just seemed like a snowflake to begin with. Really appreciate your feedback.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
22
neev2016
Member since Jun 2018
9 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
The class is very difficult.
He picks latest topic, like event in last week. This is good you learn about new event, but bad because you were not able to find lot of material.

Exam is impossible to pass with A. We have only 6-10 in entire batch got A. Around 30% were in C and couple of D/F which Khan explained as they missed assignment.

Exam are not book, chapter, PPT or like. They are made on fly with the learning of the course. So no matter you mug/read the content, you need to understand to pass.

I won't take him next time.


zachtiger
LSU Fan
Zachary
Member since Oct 2007
161 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Were you able to pass with an A or B?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
Lutzhill
Member since Oct 2017
46 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hiring someone based solely on their IVY league degree is nothing more than elitist rubbish. To those that embrace this practice, knock yourselves out. I’ll allow my work product to represent my capabilities. No degree, regardless of the granting institution, should define the quality of a person as a contributor to an organization.

As for a 4.0, I earned mine. Was it difficult? Nope. Earning an MBA was a personal goal. I didn’t need it, and I’m not bitter because it didn’t live up to my every expectation. Buyers remorse can be a real bitch.

LH



jsowell
Member since May 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I will be starting the program SummerAP2 and could use a bit of advice on course selection. There are a few times in a year where I travel to Indonesia and Malaysia for work. While not always, I usually have some notice of when I will be there. I am sure I will make it work, but what are some classes that don't have much 'group work', as I could see this being tricky with the time difference. Thanks in advance for the help/advice.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
02
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
202 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
EBP:

It is pretty clear that the point is that the degrees are not the same as was claimed by some on here. Everyone should have a realistic understanding of the differences and make their choices. There is something to be said for getting an MBA in 12 months and paying less than 13K for it. But, one thing that cannot be said for it is that it is equivalent to going to a top business school except for the networking. That idea is completely erroneous. Not everyone can go to the top schools. Not everyone can afford the tuition or the time either. That is ok.

But, those who are offended because someone articulated the reality that an MBA from LSUS is not as good of an education as the top schools in the nation just need to get over it. It is the truth.
This post was edited on 5/13 at 2:02 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
23
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
202 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I agree, Socal77.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
12
page37
Member since May 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
MADM 725 Module 1 has a lot of dates and information. Has anyone taken this class with Odonell? If so can you offer any suggestions on what to focus on for Module 1?
This post was edited on 5/14 at 10:15 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Mountain West
Member since Apr 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
THANK YOU SO MUCH for the detailed instructions. I just enabled this. Appreciated!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
thomasbowen
Member since May 2019
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am presently in ACCT 701 with Fabio Ambrosio. Took the first week practice exam and will take the end of week assessment tomorrow.

Can anyone shed any light on the difference between the two tests, other than the assessment being no open browser and Proctorio?

Thanks,
Thomas
This post was edited on 5/15 at 3:05 pm


zachtiger
LSU Fan
Zachary
Member since Oct 2007
161 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@Thomasb - I found that the exams were similar to the practice exams just tougher, and Ambrosio always seemed to throw a curveball in there. The examples and practice problems, and questions on the practice test always seemed to be straightforward and simple, and then on the actual tests he would ask the same question in a different format, different order, or leave out one piece of the puzzle that you have to figure out backwards. Hard to explain but he tests a little different than he teaches or gives example. Just make sure you know the material and quantitative problems frontwards and backwards. Not sure this helps but just make sure you do well on all of the quizzes to pad your grade.


baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
228 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone know if the MBA assessment (the one they send out after graduation) is required?


BTX722
Member since Jun 2018
48 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anyone here have any advice or guidance about Kungu’s weekly quizzes for MADM701


first pageprev pagePage 399 of 401next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram