Posted by
Message
ProSocial
LSU Fan
Member since May 2018
7 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Sounds about consistent with what I experienced. What is an A one week is a low B or C the next week. It's insane! I would not recommend her just based on that.


Lutzhill
Member since Oct 2017
46 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Well folks, I’m done. 4.0 easily obtained with dedication and attention to detail. This forum was a great asset. The experience was worth it. A few thoughts:

Dr. Kim Williams: great professor (MADM 720). Super elective to get you back into the writing and critical thinking process.

Dr. S (ECON 705): best quantitative professor in the program.

Ambrosio (ACCT 701): take accounting with this gent. Trust me.

Dr. M. Kim (MKT 705): best marketing course in the program. Much better than 701 from any other faculty. She should be teaching 701. Take as an elective and learn a lot.

Thanks to all that contributed to the forum. Search for and understand Baroqen’s posts, they are spot on.

Congratulations to all that are finishing up!

LH


Armexc
Member since Feb 2019
4 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Baroqen,

I've taken your suggestion and signed up for Fin 701 with Joey and Acct with Huang would you happen to have the syllabus for each? can you email me them to armmika@aol.com...Yes I still use AOL.com


socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
448 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Congrats Lutzhill! Job well done!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
228 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I've taken your suggestion and signed up for Fin 701 with Joey and Acct with Huang would you happen to have the syllabus for each? can you email me them to armmika@aol.com...Yes I still use AOL.com


I'm more surprised that it even still exists.... but seriously...

I want to update one thing. FIN with Choi will be VERY time consuming. I'll post an updated review, but the second and third test were much more difficult than the first one for many people.

That said, many people probably failed those tests because they chose to be complacent with their studying. You need to make sure you know how to SOLVE the quantitative problems, don't just memorize answers from the problem sets. That might work decently well for the first test, but I guarantee it won't work for tests two or three (don't be lazy and do it for the first test either).

I won't be able to post my updated reviews for another two weeks (they're on another computer and I'm travelling atm) but I ended up with a high A... but it took a LOT of work to do so. The class was hard but I can't imagine it being easier with anyone else. Easily one of the two hardest classes in the program along with Econ. There is a small shortcut I will include in my updated review, but you will need to dedicate a lot of time to the class.

Pairing it with Huang's ACCT was probably the best thing I could have done... I don't have my grade yet for ACCT, but short of getting a ridiculously bad score on the final project, I will stand by my previous review, although I will update that one later as well.

Both of them release their final modules ahead of time as well, which is another blessing and I was able to finish these last two classes, and therefore the program, several days early as a result. Huang's ACCT 701 is probably the second least time consuming core class (along with Lin or Gibbs' ISDS 705 classes) making them good options to pair with ECON or FIN (if you must pair those two at all).












crimsonsasquatch
Member since Apr 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Can you share what textbook is used for FIN 701 Kendall.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
crimsonsasquatch
Member since Apr 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just want to provide some insight on ISDS 705 with Lind it is very unorganized at times, three different manuals to follow, deadlines change often depending on GA preference and get ready to have your group dwindle from 9 to ....

It is doable though, just focus on the PPT's and discussions early in the week. Be prepared for deadlines to change on submissions for the discussions. I am not even sure this past term is the Milestone 7 peer evaluation even played into the overall course grade which is a shame.
This post was edited on 5/5 at 12:50 pm


codfam
Member since Feb 2019
6 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thought I'd leave a review of Yin for Acct 701 and Hsieh for FIN 720.

Yin-Acct 701 - I think she uses the same material as McGee from what I could gather. Review the powerpoints and the text. The text is some open source thing, so it's not the greatest of writing but gets the point across. After week three do all the practice problems that she posts. She does Zoom sessions which are somewhat helpful but not absolutely necessary to attend. There was an extra credit assignment (an excel course) as well as a curve on the comprehensive final (ended up being 6 whole points). Not all that bad of a class. The exams are all proctored but open book/notes.

Hsieh - FIN 720. If you've never taken a finance class and also do not have great excel skills I would put this one off. It's some challenging math at times (statistics/standard deviation, NPV, ENPV, IRR, MIRR blah blah) so if those terms aren't familiar I'd get FIN 701 out of the way first. There are only 4 tests of unequal weight. He has some challenging T/F questions, most of the calcs are easy. He has his own "Readings" in a word doc that are the basis for the text. Somewhat hard to follow but helpful for the open book/notes not-proctored exams. All in I'd recommend him. He does offer one zoom session per module and is responsive to email.

Hope that helps!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
vasukv
New Orleans Saints Fan
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2018
21 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

FIN 701 took a LOT of work to do so. The class was hard but I can't imagine it being easier with anyone else. Easily one of the two hardest classes in the program along with Econ. There is a small shortcut I will include in my updated review, but you will need to dedicate a lot of time to the class


As I'm taking FIN 701 with Vines in this summer AP1, waiting on your shortcuts and inputs to make it successful. ISDS 705 booked with Lind, but I depend on the syllabus to drop off soon. Thanks.!


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
308 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I also wrapped up FIN 701 with Choi. I didnt mind his teaching style at all.
Workload was decent if you kept up. everyday I would do about 1-2 hrs of review and a bit more on the weekends.

Tests were very fair. He did throw 4 step advanced level math problems at you. He also answers emails or forum posts very quickly.


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
308 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
congrats @lutzhill I will be there with you after summer ap1. Im excited to wrap this up.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
70 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Yes I still use AOL.com.

So YOU'RE the one. LOL


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
70 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Review: MADM 715-Labor & Employment Law with Amy Wren

Where to begin with this one? Well, I passed with a B so there's that.

Hear me when I say this...Avoid her if possible.

Low Points:
Excessive reading of cases and various chapter reading that are haphazardly thrown together with grammatical errors galore. Tests are on the most minute details so as long as you can read the excessive material and retain all of the information, then you should be good. There is a research project due that is worth 400 of the 1100 points so if you opt out of that, you will leave with a C. Pet peeve of mine: During the entire course she stated that the project grades would be posted on May 4th - that didn't happen and they didn't post until very late the following day. She tries to hold Zoom sessions each week, but there is usual an issue for about half of these, such as a technical glitch, she has another meeting, she just didn't get to it, etc.

High Points:
Will answer your emails in a timely manner; certain items will start to stand out in the reading that you should pay attention to once you understand her method of testing; She does look at the test and if the threshold of 40% or less of the class gets the answer correct on a test, she will review the question and make the necessary adjustments for the points.

Overall, I did walk away learning quite a bit about the subject matter and that is the point, right? But, it could have been much more enjoyable if she just tweeked a few things.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
go_tigres
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2013
2242 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I've just finished my 1st term. I had Phillips MADM 701 and McGee Acct 701. Phillips required a ton of reading and rereading. I probably spent upwards of 15 hours a week on her class alone. Her test were tricky. I finished just shy of an A. Acct 701 was easy for me, but my undergrad is business, so I've had plenty of accounting already.

I also have a question for everyone. I'm needing ISDS 730, 720, or BADM 790. I've looked into the 2nd fall term and none of these are offered. Any one with more experience know if they tend to open these up?


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I had Phillips MADM 701 and McGee Acct 701


Go_tigers. In my experience, if the courses aren't showing up then they won't be offered that semester. Very unfortunate for some of us.

Curious, did MADM 701 have a group project? I'm trying everything i can to avoid group project since my job requires me to be on call. I've had some bad weeks recently and don't think that would be fair to a group.


tchoula
Member since Feb 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Appreciate your insight, I'm taking MKT701 summer AP1 and as this is only my second course, this helps. Reach out if you feel like, it I am in Jax area also.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
go_tigres
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2013
2242 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
It did not. BUT every test was proctored through procterio. I read each chapter, took notes, used flash cards, and still got high c's, low b's on the test. The way she does it, what was Herzberg's 3 characteristic of two factory theory. Now, I truly learned the material, and I believe it was highly beneficial to me, but the nit picking questions on the test was kind of piss poor.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
20
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
202 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Baroqen, I completely agree with you on the fact that the biggest benefit of an MBA is the networking -- if you're able to afford and get accepted into a top school.

Getting access to the alumni network at a school like Wharton, Harvard, Stanford, or USC can be worth the cost for some. It opens doors that would overwise be extremely hard to get into.

Outside this though, the LSUS on-line MBA program is the best value, with the AACSB accreditation from the nationally recognized LSU academic syste


It really depends on how you define value. It has the most value considering these factors:

1) How quickly one can earn the letters, MBA. This provides opportunities.
2) Total cost of the program
3) It is online and you do not have to go to campus
4) Accreditation.

It is a very poor value considering these:
1) Quality of education. If you think the education is equal to the top schools and the only difference is networking, you are self-deceived. It is the great myth propagated by those who cannot get into the best schools. I have another graduate degree from an IVY. There is no comparison. Not even the same solar system.
2) Quality of teaching. You might get two or three actual teachers during your entire experience. Everything else is self-taught.
3) How easy it is to get a 4.0. You don't really have to know anything about much. You just have to navigate well and spend your time on the right things. This forum proves that out.
4) Quality of your peers. Almost everyone gets in and it shows. Many of your peers shouldn't be in graduate school. You should hope many of them work for your competition.

I know this post isn't going to be popular for many on this forum. But, you should have a realistic understanding of what it is and isn't.

I am glad I did the program and have no regrets. It wasn't worth the cost in terms of dollars or time to earn an MBA from a top school even though I could have done it. At this point in my career, LSUS was the right decision for me. I already have an IVY on my resume so I don't need the name recognition. If I were new in my career, I would find a better situation in terms of learning, teaching, and the level of respect a school has if I had any aspirations of being at the top of my field. Since I am already near the top of my field and at the top of my firm at which I am staying until I retire, LSUS was fine for me because an MBA was a personal goal not a career strategy. Everyone has different reasons, but let's not fool anyone into thinking that an MBA from this institution compares in any way shape or form to an MBA at a top school. The only things in common are: the letters, MBA and accreditation.

I suppose one strong argument for LSUS is that it provides opportunities for those who would otherwise not have them. I will let you decide whether that is a good thing in your world.
This post was edited on 5/7 at 10:02 am


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
22 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Any tips on avoiding the group project in ISDS 705? From scrolling through comments, I haven't seen anyone mention Lin (not Lind) requiring a group project. Same for Gibbs, but I can't seem to find him. Lin is available. Can anyone confirm whether or not Lin requires a group project? Or do you know another professor that doesn't require it?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
21
socal77
LSU Fan
Southern California
Member since Jul 2016
448 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

It really depends on how you define value. It has the most value considering these factors: 1) How quickly one can earn the letters, MBA. This provides opportunities. 2) Total cost of the program 3) It is online and you do not have to go to campus 4) Accreditation. It is a very poor value considering these: 1) Quality of education. If you think the education is equal to the top schools and the only difference is networking, you are self-deceived. It is the great myth propagated by those who cannot get into the best schools. I have another graduate degree from an IVY. There is no comparison. Not even the same solar system. 2) Quality of teaching. You might get two or three actual teachers during your entire experience. Everything else is self-taught. 3) How easy it is to get a 4.0. You don't really have to know anything about much. You just have to navigate well and spend your time on the right things. This forum proves that out. 4) Quality of your peers. Almost everyone gets in and it shows. Many of your peers shouldn't be in graduate school. You should hope many of them work for your competition. I know this post isn't going to be popular for many on this forum. But, you should have a realistic understanding of what it is and isn't. I am glad I did the program and have no regrets. It wasn't worth the cost in terms of dollars or time to earn an MBA from a top school even though I could have done it. At this point in my career, LSUS was the right decision for me. I already have an IVY on my resume so I don't need the name recognition. If I were new in my career, I would find a better situation in terms of learning, teaching, and the level of respect a school has if I had any aspirations of being at the top of my field. Since I am already near the top of my field and at the top of my firm at which I am staying until I retire, LSUS was fine for me because an MBA was a personal goal not a career strategy. Everyone has different reasons, but let's not fool anyone into thinking that an MBA from this institution compares in any way shape or form to an MBA at a top school. The only things in common are: the letters, MBA and accreditation. I suppose one strong argument for LSUS is that it provides opportunities for those who would otherwise not have them. I will let you decide whether that is a good thing in your world.


BusinessKnight, well-written post and you make some great points. I'm also 20+ years into my career and didn't need an MBA from a high profile IVY-type school to open doors. Like you, obtaining this MBA was a personal goal for me. If I were at the beginning of my career I would have looked to pursue my MBA on campus at a more prestigious school with a strong Alumni network.

So I guess the answer is effected by where each of us is in our careers and what we need out of the MBA.


first pageprev pagePage 398 of 401next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram