Posted by
Message
Cottonseed
Auburn Fan
Member since Feb 2018
40 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
your AP1 will be busy.

Those are 2 of the most time intensive and mentally taxing courses in the program.

Depending on your pre-existing knowledge of Economics and Accounting of course.


NSAtoMBA
LSU Fan
Georgia
Member since Oct 2018
18 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
This is completely off topic of the LSUS MBA but it just blew my mind. I know most people don't take Liberal Arts very seriously but I find this ridiculous.

I was looking thru the LSUS catalog and stumbled onto their Masters in Liberal Arts program. Ten 3-credit classes sounds on par with other graduate programs, including ours, BUT five of those classes are 3-hr seminars/lectures. A sixth class is a workshop where you work on writing a thesis draft. Another class is simply submitting the written thesis. That class is only graded on a pass/fail basis but I guess fail is too harsh of a word so they call it pass/no credit. So three electives is the only real coursework to get your graduate degree. The first core class in the program is LA701; a 3-hr seminar defending Liberal Arts as being a worth-while education.

Still costs the same as any other Masters degree... just an accredited diploma mill?


pineveillj
Pineville
Member since Sep 2018
67 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Folks.

I’ve been so bored this week. I’m sitting here mindlessly right now. I kinda wish they had squeezed in another class.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
30
baroqen
Member since Jun 2018
193 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

This is completely off topic of the LSUS MBA but it just blew my mind. I know most people don't take Liberal Arts very seriously but I find this ridiculous.


Kinda sounds awesome to me. Are you still restricted to only 5 classes for every 2 sessions? I wouldn't mind squeezing all 10 classes in over the summer and getting a second Masters, just to have one. Haha.

Is it really accredited though? Does somoene even accredit Liberal Arts programs? Not to be mean but... what would be the point?



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
60 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

This is completely off topic of the LSUS MBA but it just blew my mind. I know most people don't take Liberal Arts very seriously but I find this ridiculous.

I was looking thru the LSUS catalog and stumbled onto their Masters in Liberal Arts program. Ten 3-credit classes sounds on par with other graduate programs, including ours, BUT five of those classes are 3-hr seminars/lectures. A sixth class is a workshop where you work on writing a thesis draft. Another class is simply submitting the written thesis. That class is only graded on a pass/fail basis but I guess fail is too harsh of a word so they call it pass/no credit. So three electives is the only real coursework to get your graduate degree. The first core class in the program is LA701; a 3-hr seminar defending Liberal Arts as being a worth-while education.

Still costs the same as any other Masters degree... just an accredited diploma mill?


Here's the thing...it's a Liberal Arts degree. When I see "Liberal Arts" on a degree, I don't take it seriously. It's like you're saying "Hey, I'll do the least necessary for a degree." That's why most pro athletes get a degree in Lib Arts or Sports Management. Reason being, there is no real training or exposure to business theories. On the other hand, an MBA from an accredited program is a win. The ACBSP accreditation speaks volumes and if your goal or desire is to teach business courses some day at the collegiate level, many colleges and universities require that your degree be from an ACBSP-accredited institution.

Also, if your goal is simply to say that you have your masters degree, then that might be the program for you. However you may feel awkward when someone presses further and asks what your area of specialty is and your response is "Liberal Arts." Personally, my goal is to have an MBA and the fact that when I finish this program I will have an MBA from an ACBSP-accredited university.
This post was edited on 12/14 at 9:36 am


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
60 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am taking MKT 701 with M. Darrat next term.

Can anyone send over a copy of the syllabus?

waltersk28@lsus.edu


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
BusinessKnight
LSU Fan
Member since Sep 2017
169 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

When I see "Liberal Arts" on a degree, I don't take it seriously.


That is unfortunate. I don't know about liberal arts degrees at all institutions, but my undergraduate degree was at a liberal arts institution. It was a heck of a lot more rigorous than this near-fraudulent MBA I just earned at LSUS which is basically a junior college level academic challenge or worse. Almost anyone can get in at LSUS, and almost anyone can get a 4.0 with a little effort and good time management.

In my liberal arts undergraduate institution, I was challenged in every class. I was exposed to and learned a great deal that helps me understand the world and people such as history, psychology, biology, chemistry, literature, philosophy, advanced mathematics, law, politics, globalization, cultures, logic, and religion. I learned how to read well, write well, work through issues in discussions and debate, and negotiate well. I developed keen critical thinking skills that continue to serve me well today. It was and continues to be extremely valuable to me as a person, business executive, and leader of people. The MBA at LSUS is so far below it, it is comical. But, hey, you got your letters and everyone thinks you know what you are doing in business. But, you really just figured out how to navigate through a bunch of busy work, learned a little about accounting and economics because you had an actual teacher in those classes, figured out how to BS your way through some online discussion posts and maybe 2 papers, did well-enough on silly test questions, endured hoop-jump professors who have never had a real job in the business world, and did a strategy canvas if you were lucky- and even then you only did one or two sections yourself. Perhaps the most valuable things learned at LSUS are a few Excel functions, how to use Zoom, and the search function in Acrobat. Congratulations.
This post was edited on 12/14 at 10:56 am


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
60 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

quote:
When I see "Liberal Arts" on a degree, I don't take it seriously.


That is unfortunate. I don't know about liberal arts degrees at all institutions, but my undergraduate degree was at a liberal arts institution. It was a heck of a lot more rigorous than this near-fraudulent MBA I just earned at LSUS which is basically a junior college level academic challenge or worse. Almost anyone can get in at LSUS, and almost anyone can get a 4.0 with a little effort and good time management.

In my liberal arts undergraduate institution, I was challenged in every class. I was exposed to and learned a great deal that helps me understand the world and people such as history, psychology, biology, chemistry, literature, philosophy, advanced mathematics, law, politics, globalization, cultures, logic, and religion. I learned how to read well, write well, work through issues in discussions and debate, and negotiate well. I developed keen critical thinking skills that continue to serve me well today. It was and continues to be extremely valuable to me as a person, business executive, and leader of people. The MBA at LSUS is so far below it, it is comical. But, hey, you got your letters and everyone thinks you know what you are doing in business. But, you really just figured out how to navigate through a bunch of busy work, learned a little about accounting and economics because you had an actual teacher in those classes, figured out how to BS your way through some online discussion posts and maybe 2 papers, did well-enough on silly test questions, endured hoop-jump professors who have never had a real job in the business world, and did a strategy canvas if you were lucky- and even then you only did one or two sections yourself. Perhaps the most valuable things learned at LSUS are a few Excel functions, how to use Zoom, and the search function in Acrobat. Congratulations.


BusinessKnight,
Congratulations is actually in order to you as you appear to have taken your academia seriously and I applaud you for that. Most people who take Lib Arts are what I described, but you are an exception to the rule. Liberal Arts is exactly what you described, a wide breadth of various educational experiences. I assume that you picked most of your courses and you picked well and you actually took away what the collegiate experience is all about. I am in banking and most interns/recent graduates that are hired at my bank that are Lib Arts majors don't have the business/financial exposure that is needed in our world. we spend more time explaining concepts that a grad with a BSBA would already know, in theory at least.

Granted, the LSUS MBA leaves much to be desired. Unfortunately most of us didn't realize that until we are in the program. So it's either stick it out knowing the short-comings and get the most education out of it as we can or transfer out to a different institution. I would say that in my 3 classes so far I have learned quite a bit, albeit on my own and not from LSUS.

As with anything that you do, you get out of it what you put into it. With your Lib Arts undergrad, you got more out of it than most others because of your own accord. Kudos to you for that. And I plan on getting as much as I can out of this program to make it worth it.
This post was edited on 12/14 at 12:14 pm


Tracim
Member since Dec 2018
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Looking for the ECON 705 syllabus and any other course materials
mrtracim73 at gmail.com
This post was edited on 12/14 at 4:02 pm


21sunny
MI
Member since Jul 2018
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I believe I still have ECON 705 syllabus, I took the course in Summer 2018.


21sunny
MI
Member since Jul 2018
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
(no message)
This post was edited on 1/8 at 8:32 am


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
188 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Just got back from commencement. Here are my thoughts:

1) While invited to both BGS and SIE, I opted to join BGS. The induction ceremonies were jointly held. There were only 13 BGS inductees vs 34 SIE (although a large majority of BGS folks also joined SIE). The BGS inductees were given a certificate and a pin while the SIE inductees were given a certificate and a shaw to wear during commencement. I am unsure as to why there was a imbalance of people who joined BGS vs SIE ($90 vs $60, entry requirements?)

2) The induction ceremony was 40min long and I give it 7 out of 10 stars

3) The online brunch was from 10 to 12, a small goodie bag was given to each graduate while some video testimonials were played. I give this 7 out of 10 stars

4) The commencement itself was a full 2 hours with undergrad and grad students together. Nice keynote but a really long and drawn out production. There were tons of enthusiastic families yelling and shouting, often drowning out names of the next to be called. Overall a 6 out of 10 stars

5) The diploma itself is a puny 8.5 x 11, no logo and very unassuming. 5 out of 10 stars

I drove 5 hours each way to walk. I mainly did this to show my kids what hard work looks like and would recommend it if you would like to do the same. If its only you or just you and your spouse and you're further than 1hr away, get your diploma mailed to you.

I walk away from this program relived its over but with mixed emotions as to whether I made the right choice, not that I can change anything now.

The best of luck to you all in the rest of the program and in your future endeavors.

One last nana on my way out...

PS. met Dr. S, Dr. James, Dr. Darrat (both)
This post was edited on 12/16 at 9:54 pm


Sactown
Member since Mar 2018
51 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi TD

There were 14 BGS inductees. I was also inducted, but Darrat forgot to add me to the program. Fortunately, I contacted BGS directly prior to the ceremony and obtained my regalia and my induction certificate.

I flew in from Sacramento, CA and thought that it was definitely worth the trip. People really need to stop hating on this program. It doesn't do anyone any good.


GeauxUF
Florida Fan
Atlanta OTP, GA
Member since Jun 2018
195 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Just got back from commencement. Here are my thoughts:


Great to hear your thoughts on commencement!

quote:

4) The commencement itself was a full 2 hours with undergrad and grad students together. Nice keynote but a really long and drawn out production. There were tons of enthusiastic families yelling and shouting, often drowning out names of the next to be called. Overall a 6 out of 10 stars

I drove 5 hours each way to walk. I mainly did this to show my kids what hard work looks like and would recommend it if you would like to do the same. If its only you or just you and your spouse and you're further than 1hr away, get your diploma mailed to you.


While I did not attend in person, I watched the commencement live stream and opted to have my diploma mailed. I would have ended up feeling pretty disappointed if I had driven 10 hours or hopped on a flight to go alone. I would have gone if I lived within a close drive. The ceremony felt very drawn out. While I understand the enthusiasm for those earning their degrees (since I fall into that category), the screaming families seemed a bit over the top.

quote:

5) The diploma itself is a puny 8.5 x 11, no logo and very unassuming. 5 out of 10 stars


That's disappointing but not unexpected given the track record. My undergraduate diploma, which is not from a top-tier university by any means, is 11" x 14", embossed with a university logo, and quite nice. I did end up buying a really nice looking branded diploma frame since the LSUS diplomas I've seen in Google Image search looked fairly pedestrian.

quote:

I walk away from this program relived its over but with mixed emotions as to whether I made the right choice, not that I can change anything now.


You should still be proud of completing the program in the best way possible: an MBA with a 4.0 GPA, and BGS and SIE invites. Regardless of how many of us feel about the quality of the LSUS MBA program at the moment, the best way to add value to this degree is to excel in every way possible and demonstrate that this was a serious personal endeavor.

I can tell you that I exhaled a huge breath of relief yesterday when I finally saw "Degree Awarded: Master of Business Administration" on my transcript with a big 4.0 under it. Now I need to figure out what to do with all this time in my life back.


GeauxUF
Florida Fan
Atlanta OTP, GA
Member since Jun 2018
195 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

People really need to stop hating on this program. It doesn't do anyone any good.


I have to strongly disagree with you on that. LSUS, like a majority of universities, treats students like public school 8th graders that are in compulsory attendance instead of adult professionals that are customers paying for an education.

Anyone who has spent time in MKT 701 or MADM 760 should know that understanding the customer is vital to long-term success. Public, negative customer feedback outside of the formal evaluation process is a tremendous indicator of where improvements should be made. The LSUS MBA program needs to seriously evaluate how it conducts itself and make large improvements moving forward.

Situations like the Fall '18 AP2 ISDS 710 disaster, the tone-deaf Data Analytics concentration, Lin's 10 years out of date ISDS 705 autopilot course, lack of logical prerequisites, content quality due to the free textbook rule, the inconsistency of quality from one course to the next, and vast inconsistency of instruction between sections of the same course are real problems.

Pointing out these problems is not being a hater, it is telling the truth. Personally, I'm not highlighting these issues just to be a complainer. I want to see LSUS improve for everyone's benefit - value for those that are in the program, value for those who may be in the program in the future, and value for the degrees of those that completed the program.


Menace1069
Florida Fan
Jacksonville, FL
Member since Jun 2018
60 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Situations like the Fall '18 AP2 ISDS 710 disaster, the tone-deaf Data Analytics concentration, Lin's 10 years out of date ISDS 705 autopilot course, lack of logical prerequisites, content quality due to the free textbook rule, the inconsistency of quality from one course to the next, and vast inconsistency of instruction between sections of the same course are real problems.


I have only completed 3 courses thus far (MADM 760, ACCT 701, MADM 752) and it does really surprise me about the outdated material. It was my expectation that any current MBA program would be offering material 2-3 years old. Some of the reference material is 10+ years old and is almost irrelevant at this point.

As far as textbooks go, I had a law prof at UF (Go Gators!) that wrote his own textbook and it was as scatter-brained as he was. There was no way to follow it. They may be good professors but maybe they should not be writing their own text book unless they have a background in it.

Hopefully LSUS listens to the course evaluations and are trying to make it better for future attendees.
This post was edited on 12/17 at 11:40 am


sejaxon
Atlanta, GA
Member since Nov 2017
25 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@sactown glad to hear someone say that it was worth traveling to attend. I'll be coming in from Atlanta for spring graduation. I can't imagine not attending but it won't be an inexpensive trip.


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
188 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

While I understand the enthusiasm for those earning their degrees (since I fall into that category), the screaming families seemed a bit over the top.


I've been through these type ceremonies before where a simple instruction like "save all the applause to the end" or at least a logical breaking point would have helped immensely.


Cottonseed
Auburn Fan
Member since Feb 2018
40 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I have no problems with the teachings within a "liberal arts" curriculum. The problem arises when that person tries to make a living using that degree.

I will say that there are many exceptions, but overall there is no industry, vertical, or niche that seeks Liberal Arts graduates to employ.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
GeauxUF
Florida Fan
Atlanta OTP, GA
Member since Jun 2018
195 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

As far as textbooks go, I had a law prof at UF (Go Gators!) that wrote his own textbook and it was as scatter-brained as he was. There was no way to follow it. They may be good professors but maybe they should not be writing their own text book unless they have a background in it.


I had a few of those as well at UF (Go Gators!). I started out pre-law there, and professors with their own textbooks were common, especially in courses like Sociology and Psych.

At LSUS, James offers a self-written textbook, but it's incomplete and has to be supplemented. Vines types a wall of text into a Moodle page instead of using a textbook.

quote:

Hopefully LSUS listens to the course evaluations and are trying to make it better for future attendees.


My understanding from talking to administrators in the MBA program is that the professors receive those evaluations directly. It is unknown how much of that information gets passed along to leadership above them.


Jump to page
Page First 369 370 371 372 373 ... 386
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 371 of 386next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram