Started By
Message

re: The overturn

Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:58 am to
Posted by AlxTgr
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
86209 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:58 am to
quote:

Let’s just say a QB or RB went to stretch out for the pylon and hits the pylon with any of their body part but loses the ball after the fact. Wouldn’t they then not survive the ground like Barion apparently did?
Different rule for pass completions. Don't take this comment to mean I agree with the outcome.
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
45825 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:59 am to
That’s how I see it
Catch
Tuck
Step and a half
Lunges to the pylon and crosses
Knee hits

Very quick but All before the Ground causes slight wobble
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:00 pm to
But it was a catch by rule. Made a football move, had one foot in bounds and had firm control/possession. He did all 3. At that point he’s a ball carrier
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 12:06 pm
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
45825 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:01 pm to
Go look at Lance Moores 2pt conversion in Super Bowl XLIV.

Ruled incomplete on the field and later overturned. Were THOSE refs wrong or are these? See what I mean?
Posted by AlxTgr
Kyre Banorg
Member since Oct 2003
86209 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:03 pm to
quote:

But it was a catch by rule. Made a football move, had one foot in bounds and made a football move
I agree which is why I don't agree with the call
quote:

At that point he’s a ball carrier
I think that's how it works.
Posted by BhamTigah
Lurker since Jan 2003
Member since Jan 2007
17248 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:04 pm to
Even if you ignore the crossing of the plane, the ball can move when it hits the ground…it just can’t move out of the hands. His hand never moved from the same spot on the ball when he hit.
Posted by Asleepinthecove
Lafayette
Member since Jan 2023
1949 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:05 pm to
He has to survive the ground to complete the catch, which is what he did. The ball can move when it hits the ground but as long as the receiver exhibits control of the ball through contact with the ground, then it’s a catch. The ball can move, as it did, but he never lost control of it. It should have been a touchdown.








Posted by OceanMan
Member since Mar 2010
22536 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:07 pm to
quote:

Yes he was by the letter of the rule. Blame the rule.


Not really. The letter of the rule leaves lots of discretion, so not sure how you can even come to this conclusion. It can certainly be argued that brown made a football move by advancing the ball, and Hitting the pylon, after satisfying the first two requirements. It can also be argued that he made the catch upright and being pushed slightly to the ground afterwards didn’t require him to “complete the catch”. Finally, it can be argued that he maintained control, since the rule allows for it to touch the ground.

And I believe the ref didn’t not apply the standard that it must be clear and indisputable to overturn the call on the field.

This rule was applied differently in 3 different reviews during the same game. Each time to Clemsons benefit. So stop with the “letter of the rule” nonsense
Posted by NotaStarGazer
Member since Dec 2023
2545 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:08 pm to
I agree the rule should be changed but that play wasn't even relevant to the rule. The rule does not apply to receivers who make a football move. At that point, they would be classified as a "runner" and not a "receiver in the act of making a catch". Also, these receivers who lose possession in the end zone are NOT ones who have crossed the goal line with possession. These two circumstances I just mentioned negate the relevance of "the rule". The ABC official said it exactly right..."it was a touchdown."
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:08 pm to
I agree with you either way but prior to that it was a catch already by rule. So that no longer applies. He’s a ball carrier once he catches it. Touchdown regardless.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287757 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:09 pm to
quote:

But it was a catch by rule. Made a football move, had one foot in bounds and had firm control/possession.



the receiver has to survive the ground with possession. That is the contention of the play by the referees. This play happens so frequently in football games, its amazing to me people keep citing this rule partially or incorrectly lol.
Posted by Gabe Rippen
New Orleans
Member since Jul 2016
597 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:12 pm to
i can certainly see the Brown touchdown call go either way so i am not going to argue your stance, however to me it does feel inconsistent to say that Sharp had enough possession to fumble the ball while Brown apparently didn’t have enough possession to score a touchdown.

since you believe the Brown catch was incomplete, what do you think the difference between the 2 catches? or would you say the fumble call was actually the incorrect one?
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:13 pm to
He’s no longer a receiver Lester. He did all 3 by the time he hits the grown after the pylon and crossed the plain. Either way it would be a dead and a TD. The catch rules wouldn’t be applied. He’s a ball carrier. Watch it again he had possession with one foot down made a football move. Knee hits pylon. Then goes out of bounds. Clear as day a ball carrier. Even then it survives the ground. If you wanna go that route.
Posted by Asleepinthecove
Lafayette
Member since Jan 2023
1949 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:15 pm to
quote:

I agree with you either way but prior to that it was a catch already by rule. So that no longer applies. He’s a ball carrier once he catches it. Touchdown regardless.



By the rule, I don’t feel like he was truly a runner after a catch and would then be seen as what happened when Durham crossed the goal line, scored, then fumbled. The rule needs to be changed to where, if clear evidence can be shown as a catch with the appropriate foot in bounds when touched and crossing the goal line, then it needs to be a TD, regardless of what happens when contact with the ground is made.
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29488 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:17 pm to
quote:

He established possession by pulling the ball in, getting a foot down and touched the pylon. The rule that SHOULD have been utilized is the same one used when Durham scored in the first half and lost the ball after he hit the ground.

The second freaking foot down before he even started to fall IS a football move.
WTH is the argument.
Posted by Vacherie Saint
Member since Aug 2015
45825 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:17 pm to
Not if you contend that a football move was made. Even if it wasn't theres some subjectivity around how much that ball needs to "move".
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29488 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:18 pm to
quote:

Fun Bunch
fricking POOLAME - BAMMER FAN. fricking leave dumbass
Posted by TigerSooner
Member since Nov 2023
3569 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:18 pm to
It was a catch and a touchdown. Refs are stupid and will always be stupid. End of story.
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
287757 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:21 pm to
quote:

He’s no longer a receiver Lester. He did all 3 by the time he hits the grown after the pylon and crossed the plain. Either way it would be a dead and a TD. The catch rules wouldn’t be applied. He’s a ball carrier. Watch it again he had possession with one foot down made a football move. Knee hits pylon. Then goes out of bounds. Clear as day a ball carrier. Even then it survives the ground. If you wanna go that route.



lol completely wrong. jesus frick
Posted by Biggiebam
Saint Martinville
Member since Jan 2018
340 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 12:26 pm to
Then correct me if I’m wrong. Would love to hear your insight bub
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 8Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram