Started By
Message

re: Just to clarify...what’s the goaltending rule in college?

Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:31 pm to
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29584 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:31 pm to
Yep
Posted by Boomshockalocka
Member since Feb 2004
59874 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:32 pm to
The easiest way to look at it has been posted a few times. If you can’t see air between the rim and the ball then the ball was in the cylinder.
Posted by catholictigerfan
Member since Oct 2009
59574 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:32 pm to
so I guess it was goaltending. but again we won they lost calls get missed like this all the time. It wasn't obvious like the saints so get over it Kentucky.
Posted by burdman
Louisiana
Member since Aug 2007
22585 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:32 pm to
quote:

2 Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base


This is why it was interference.

It’s all good. No need to apologize for this win. What a great game.
Posted by AnthonyWC70788
Plaquemine, LA
Member since Jan 2013
3309 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:32 pm to
Yes they should have. That is what I stated in another post. But what LSU did was offensive goaltending. The circle of the rim basically goes up from where it is physically. So run that circle up and the ball is still "inside" of the cylinder. No matter if it is moving up or down towards or away. It is in the cylinder. Thing is Kentucky committed interference before that...

Either way it is not reviewable and LSU won so who cares.
Posted by SportTiger1
Stonewall, LA
Member since Feb 2007
29849 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:33 pm to
quote:

It was a goal tend but we will take it.

Wow you suck on all boards huh?
Posted by J_Hingle
LA
Member since Jun 2013
5382 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:34 pm to
Jesus guys when it says imaginary cylinder with rim as its base, the cylinder extends all the way up to the god damn roof as long as it’s within its base (the rim). So any part of the ball touching the cylinder ( not the rim but the cylinder which is the area above the rim) it’s interference.
Posted by Darius David
Member since Apr 2016
1344 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:34 pm to
I agree. ??
Posted by Boomshockalocka
Member since Feb 2004
59874 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:37 pm to
It is clear. anyone who disagrees does not know the rule. And doesn’t watch much basketball.
Posted by ShamelessPel
Metairie
Member since Apr 2013
13032 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:37 pm to
quote:

That's international rules.


Now you just doubled down on stupid holy frick lmao.

You may be the only person to somehow get the same rule wrong twice at the same time in one sentence.
Posted by Darius David
Member since Apr 2016
1344 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:37 pm to
Well call me ignorant. That was goaltending. But we’ll take it.??
Posted by tigerfish7997
Member since Oct 2018
35 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:40 pm to
No it wasn’t goaltending on LSU because goaltending can only be called on a defensive player. Offensive players can be called for basket interference but none of those conditions were met.
quote:

Basket interference occurs when a player: 1? Touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket; 2? Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base; 3? Reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball before it enters the cylinder; 4? Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position, and 5? Causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder? b? The cylinder is the imaginary geometric figure that has the ring as its base and is formed by the upward extension of that ring? c? The ball shall be considered to be within the basket when any part of the ball is below the cylinder and the level of the ring? d? A player may have a hand legally in contact with the ball, when this contact continues after the ball enters the cylinder or when, during such action, the player touches or grabs the basket? Art. 3. Goaltending? a? Goaltending occurs when a defensive player touches the ball during a field-goal try and each of the following conditions is met:
Posted by EasterEgg
New Orleans Metro
Member since Sep 2018
5284 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:40 pm to
Dick Vitale said it was good after the replay and before the call. He may be aggravating but he knows his stuff. Good enough for me.
Posted by burdman
Louisiana
Member since Aug 2007
22585 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:41 pm to
#2 from your post is the applicable part
Posted by Boomshockalocka
Member since Feb 2004
59874 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:41 pm to
Wow. I am bowing out.

This was textbook interference or whatever it is called now. No part of the ball can be over the rim.
Posted by CheeseTiger251
Member since Jun 2011
372 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:42 pm to
So it’s not goaltending. It doesn’t even apply because the ball wasn’t in a downward trajectory.

Now the question is was it basket interference (not the same thing):

Honestly it probably was. That being said the Kentucky guy commits goaltending immediately before. So the result was the correct result regardless of whether the call was correct.
Posted by landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
4904 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:45 pm to
As long as I’ve been watching basketball, that is a clear interference. Guess ref had bad angle. As someone else said, it’s pretty funny that LSU fans bitched about the refs the entire game, then can’t admit they got this call even with photo evidence.

I think the reason people are confused is Karl Ravech kept implying that because the ball bounced up off the rim, it wasn’t interference. Ravech is a baseball guy. Hell, he even confused me. But, that’s just never been how the rule works. All the evidence clearly shows half of the ball clearly over the rim and in cylinder, which is interference.
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26305 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:47 pm to
quote:

wasn’t in a downward trajectory


This doesn't apply in this scenario. Even if it's going up it's still a goal tend bc it's over the rim.

That rule only applies outside the rim
Posted by Lester Earl
3rd Ward
Member since Nov 2003
288099 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:49 pm to


Look at the damn picture. 100% this is interference

Who cares, LSU won. But at least use this time to educate yourself
Posted by landrywasbeast30
Member since Nov 2011
4904 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:50 pm to
quote:

basket interference but none of those conditions were met.


Your own post proves why it was absolutely interference. Man we have some people who probably don’t know much about, or watch much basketball.
first pageprev pagePage 4 of 5Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram