Started By
Message

re: Just to clarify...what’s the goaltending rule in college?

Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:22 pm to
Posted by Boomshockalocka
Member since Feb 2004
59874 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:22 pm to
NCAA rules
Posted by Jester
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2006
34717 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:22 pm to
quote:

Ecstatic about the win. Just curious.


It absolutely looked like goaltending. It was off the rim and coming out, but it was still "in the cylinder." Not reviewable, though, and UK got their fair share of calls tonight
Posted by monsterballads
Gulf of America
Member since Jun 2013
31146 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:22 pm to
quote:

It was the right call


Ball was bouncing up and away from the basket. It was absolutely the right call.
Posted by Howyouluhdat
On Fleek St
Member since Jan 2015
8902 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:23 pm to
quote:

The ball has to be clear of the imaginary cylinder when touched. This clearly shows that the ball is not clear of the imaginary cylinder when bigby touches it.



What? No it has to be inside the imaginary cylinder when touched to be goaltending. This ball was clearly above the rim and moving out of the cylinder. There’s no debating that
This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 8:24 pm
Posted by rondo
Worst. Poster. Evar.
Member since Jan 2004
77493 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:24 pm to
Violations- Goaltending. (Rule 9-17.5). When the ball contacts the backboard and any part of the ball is above the rim on a field goal attempt, it is considered to be on its downward flight. In such case, it is goaltending when the ball is touched by a player as long as it has a possibility of entering the basket.
Posted by VL Lsutiger
Gonzales
Member since Sep 2006
3247 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:24 pm to
If you look at replay kentucky hit the backboard and might of touched the rim also , goal tending on them
Posted by Boomshockalocka
Member since Feb 2004
59874 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:24 pm to
There’s post in the thread that could not be any more obvious. If you can’t see space between the ball and the rim the ball is in the cylinder.
Posted by burdman
Louisiana
Member since Aug 2007
22585 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:25 pm to
quote:

there’s an imaginary cylinder coming up from the rim. If the ball is in that you can’t touch

That's international rules.


It’s actually the opposite. Once the ball touches the rim you’re good to do whatever under FIBA rules
Posted by rondo
Worst. Poster. Evar.
Member since Jan 2004
77493 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:26 pm to
quote:

UK had goaltending on Mays layup anyways.



Yeah I thought I saw the UK guy grab the rim
Posted by PaperTiger
Ruston, LA
Member since Feb 2015
26305 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:27 pm to
Did your miss this rule?

quote:

Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base; 
Posted by texastigerr
Texas
Member since Jan 2005
9163 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:27 pm to
No it wasn't. The ball was not in the cylinder and not touching the rim. It was the right call. Nothing controversial about it. You know what was a bad call? Over the back I've Naz that sent them to the line to the the game.
Posted by Jester
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2006
34717 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:27 pm to
quote:

There’s post in the thread that could not be any more obvious. If you can’t see space between the ball and the rim the ball is in the cylinder.



Has anyone posted the NCAA rule? I know it's a little more forgiving than the NBA and international rule, but I don't know it verbatim
Posted by catholictigerfan
Member since Oct 2009
59574 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:27 pm to
quote:



1 Touches the ball or any part of the basket while the ball is on or within the basket;

2 Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base;


ball is bouncing above the rim, doesn't apply to this rule.

quote:

3 Reaches through the basket from below and touches the ball before it enters the cylinder;
4 Pulls down a movable ring so that it contacts the ball before the ring returns to its original position, and
5 Causes the basket or backboard to vibrate when the ball is on or within the basket or the backboard and/or is on or in the cylinder


not applicable.

quote:

b The cylinder is the imaginary geometric figure that has the ring as its base and is formed by the upward extension of that ring
c The ball shall be considered to be within the basket when any part of the ball is below the cylinder and the level of the ring


I guess they mean the rim or the red ring.

he touched the ball above the rim with the ball completely above the rim.

unless I'm reading the rule incorrectly not goaltending.
Posted by Howyouluhdat
On Fleek St
Member since Jan 2015
8902 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:28 pm to
quote:

as long as it has a possibility of entering the basket



Exactly. If the ball is on its way out it’s not goaltending period.
Posted by AnthonyWC70788
Plaquemine, LA
Member since Jan 2013
3309 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:28 pm to
You can see it in that pic someone posted. If the rim is not 100 percent visible from above that means the ball is still 8nside of the cylinder. Leaving the rim area does not matter. As long as it is above or inside and touched it is goaltending. The rule is written like that because it states there is a possibility it will go back in. That is why it is goaltending. The Kentucky player before this committed interference by reaching through the rim from below
Posted by EXPLAYER
Member since Jul 2017
10791 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:29 pm to
Wasn’t goal tending because Kentucky players hand was in net from bottom of net. Refs should have called defensive interference
This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 8:29 pm
Posted by Boomshockalocka
Member since Feb 2004
59874 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:30 pm to
quote:

2 Touches the ball while any part of it is within the cylinder that has the ring as its lower base;


You can’t touch the ball while any part of the ball would touch the imaginary cylinder (the rim). Ie if any part of the ball is over the rim you can’t touch it.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:30 pm to
quote:

Yeah I thought I saw the UK guy grab the rim


Touched the rim and had his hand inside the cylinder.
Posted by Big Bang Rookie
Louisiana
Member since May 2017
834 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:30 pm to
It's definitely not goal tending!
Posted by Joshjrn
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2008
31461 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:30 pm to
quote:

I guess they mean the rim or the red ring.


When they say "ring" you should read it as "rim". When they say "cylinder" you should read it as "rim extended upwards".
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 5Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram