Page 1
Page 1
Started By
Message
locked post

Commentator is wrong about interference.

Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:12 pm
Posted by asullivan12
Many, LA
Member since Nov 2015
1913 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:12 pm
The rule is that its fair game so long as the runner does not make contact with the fielder or the ball (if the ball hasnt passed an infielder yet). So the runner could literally stand in front of the ball and wait until the last second to move as long as he doesnt make contact with the ball or fielder.

I’ve umpired high school ball and played college ball. You would think these announcers would know the rules.
Posted by Meauxjeaux
102836 posts including my alters
Member since Jun 2005
45673 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:14 pm to
Yea h the players to move through the runner to make a play.
Posted by Mid Iowa Tiger
Undisclosed Secure Location
Member since Feb 2008
23650 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:14 pm to
Correct. The color guy saying “I just feel he hung back” so it should be called is BS. If the defender rushes the ball and gets run into it is then interference.
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29538 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:14 pm to
Yep. He is absolutely wrong
Posted by Hold That Tiger 10
Member since Oct 2013
24579 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:14 pm to
Yeah. They are as clueless as the umps who don't know what a balk is apparently.
Posted by SeaBass23
VA
Member since Jul 2019
1761 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:15 pm to
Greg Olsen is an Auburn alum. It was the correct call, that’s why no one from Auburn was arguing. The missed balk though…
Posted by Madking
Member since Apr 2016
65996 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:18 pm to
Umps and announcers are total jokes
Posted by tigernut777
Member since Aug 2009
171 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:34 pm to
I can’t tell which sucks more and making this game horrible to watch
Posted by mdomingue
Lafayette, LA
Member since Nov 2010
42112 posts
Posted on 5/6/23 at 9:42 pm to
quote:

Correct. The color guy saying “I just feel he hung back” so it should be called is BS.


One of them was saying because he hung back it should not be called but the fielder should have moved up and made contact to get it called because he had no chance to make the play if he hung back.
Posted by Gulf Coast Tiger
Ms Gulf Coast
Member since Jan 2004
20422 posts
Posted on 5/7/23 at 6:05 am to
The color guy has been pretty much clueless the whole series. He still calls Morgan, Jr,even though it clearly says III on his jersey.
Posted by MikeBRLA
Baton Rouge
Member since Jun 2005
17117 posts
Posted on 5/7/23 at 6:17 am to
quote:

One of them was saying because he hung back it should not be called but the fielder should have moved up and made contact to get it called because he had no chance to make the play if he hung back.


I agree. The fielder CHOSE to yield to the base runner. That’s the fielder’s mistake for not knowing that he has the right of way on a batted ball.

I preach this to my infielders all the time. They need to play the ball as if the base runner is not even there. If the base runner gets in their way it will be ruled interference and they are out. But if the infielder yields to the base runner, no interference.
Posted by TopWaterTiger
Lake Charles, LA
Member since May 2006
11962 posts
Posted on 5/7/23 at 8:19 am to
Just trying to make something out of nothing. It was painful to watch and listen to.
Posted by Penrod
Member since Jan 2011
51733 posts
Posted on 5/7/23 at 9:10 am to
That’s just what the commentator said. He said that if the SS had charged the ball, and initiated contact, it would have been interference.
Posted by notbilly
alter
Member since Sep 2015
6710 posts
Posted on 5/7/23 at 9:20 am to
quote:

That’s just what the commentator said. He said that if the SS had charged the ball, and initiated contact, it would have been interference.



I watched it again this AM. That's what he said after a minute of saying it should have been interference. The a-hole was upset it wasn't called then backed off acknowledging that there was no interference b/c the runner didn't hit the ball or the fielder.
Posted by TigerDM
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2013
1763 posts
Posted on 5/7/23 at 9:15 pm to
It is the same for a fielder as it is a base runner with defensive player not fielding the ball, has to be contact for interference. If the SS had kept charging, he almost surely would have made contact and got the call
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 1Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram