Started By
Message
locked post

Refs just did the same thing to SC that they did us

Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:29 pm
Posted by SuperFlyTiger
Member since Jun 2011
309 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:29 pm
Is it an SEC crew doing that game?? That was not as clear as ours, but definitely not enough to overturn... But they did. Again.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 3:30 pm
Posted by TeamCKennedy
Southern Illinois Baws
Member since Feb 2018
1508 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:31 pm to
Not quite the same but yes they still got hosed.
Posted by atltiger6487
Member since May 2011
19678 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:32 pm to
quote:

Refs just did the same thing to SC that they did us
it’s the rule.

The refs are merely enforcing it.
Posted by kingbob
Sorrento, LA
Member since Nov 2010
69173 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:34 pm to
I appreciate the consistency, but f$&k those should be catches.
Posted by kciDAtaE
Member since Apr 2017
17439 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:34 pm to
quote:

it’s the rule.

What is the rule?
Posted by Padme
Member since Dec 2020
9189 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:34 pm to
What’s the rule? You have to maintain possession until you’re on the bus?
Posted by OldManRiver
Prairieville, LA
Member since Jan 2005
7358 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:53 pm to
I don’t know what the rule was in 2005, but under today’s rules Early Doucet does not win the game at ASU
Posted by SaintLSU
Gretna
Member since Apr 2007
4262 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 3:54 pm to
quote:

What’s the rule? You have to maintain possession until you’re on the bus?


Posted by Tigrdynasty
19th hole
Member since Jun 2018
3134 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:00 pm to
Not the same because our guy caught the ball, had possession with a foot down inbounds outside the endzone then clearly crossed the plane. TD Play over. It's different when the catch is in the endzone
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 4:04 pm
Posted by Tigers4Lyfe
Member since Nov 2010
6096 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:01 pm to
That was not the same thing.
Posted by ibleedprplngld
Lafayette, LA
Member since Jan 2012
4685 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:04 pm to
Actually, they got it right for SC. If you’re catching the ball along the boundary and attempting to stay in bounds, you have to complete the catch to the ground. Thats what happened for SC.

For LSU, Brown made the catch, took a step in bounds and then crossed the goal line. That should’ve been the end of it. Possession of the ball while crossing the goal line.
Posted by Ruarkus
Tiger Town
Member since Sep 2009
342 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:06 pm to
SEC refs have been bad.
Posted by atltiger6487
Member since May 2011
19678 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:08 pm to
quote:

For LSU, Brown made the catch, took a step in bounds and then crossed the goal line. That should’ve been the end of it. Possession of the ball while crossing the goal line.
that’s not the rule
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61625 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:11 pm to
I think that one was worse.
Posted by Turbeauxdog
Member since Aug 2004
24061 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:16 pm to
quote:

that’s not the rule


He also maintained control to the ground.
Posted by LSUSkip
Central, LA
Member since Jul 2012
24717 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:19 pm to
quote:

it’s the rule.

The refs are merely enforcing it.


Im calling BS on this. I can't remember having issues with this in the past and now we've had two in the first two days of the season. Something had to have changed within the rule or enforcement of specific parts of it. I refuse to believe it's just a coincidence.
Posted by Turbeauxdog
Member since Aug 2004
24061 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:19 pm to
quote:

that’s not the rule


The rule requires judgement on whether the fall was part of the catch. A football move typically defines whether the fall was part of the catch or subsequent to the catch.

You must have that definition, otherwise, a receiver could catch the ball run 3 yards to the end zone fall into the end zone and drop the ball and "the rule" would be incomplete pass.



Posted by holdem Tiger
Member since Oct 2007
1218 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:23 pm to
That's exactly it. If the receiver was falling in the act of the catch, a "move common to the game" is not enough. You must also maintain control through the ground.

Was Brown falling? Probably so.
Posted by Pikes Peak Tiger
Colorado Springs
Member since Jun 2023
9145 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:26 pm to
At least they are consistent
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127709 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:30 pm to
quote:

Not the same because our guy caught the ball, had possession with a foot down inbounds outside the endzone then clearly crossed the plane. TD Play over.


I don’t know how many times this needs to be said but this is not correct

The catch rule in the ncaa rule book LITERALLY addresses this.
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 3Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram