- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message

Intentional Grounding | Rules and Review Protocol
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:04 pm
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:04 pm
I understand and have seen the intentional grounding called in one other game before...spiking with a non-moving clock is grounding. No issues there. My issue and question is the protocol of review earlier. The 40 yarder play DID NOT go OOB. It was ruled as such on the field, but that was an error. Should this point have been reviewed is my question? Hence, the spike was only conducted due to an error.
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:07 pm to rpg37
A review would have been a 10 sec run off. I would have been ok with that given the situation
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:09 pm to Ancient Astronaut
quote:
A review would have been a 10 sec run off.
Which is the rule and in this case would have been what a spike would have been. This is what I feel should have been the case.
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:18 pm to rpg37
quote:
Intentional Grounding | Rules and Review Protocol
the intentional grounding penalty is only 5 yards and loss of the down, yet they moved the ball back 10 yards, to then be 2nd and 20
thats my biggest issue with it, they frickin doubled the penalty yards it should have been.
i guess the justification for that is that its the saints so its ok to cheat
This post was edited on 9/11/22 at 7:21 pm
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:20 pm to keakar
quote:
the intentional grounding penalty is only 5 yards and loss of the down, yet they moved the ball back 10 yards, to then be 2nd and 20
No, it’s 10 yards or spot or the foul, whatever is less beneficial for the offense.
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:23 pm to rpg37
quote:
Hence, the spike was only conducted due to an error.
It would have come full circle with the runoff. We would have bitched either way.
The rule was applied here where it really should not have been applied, but ultimately Jameis has to pay attention there.
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:24 pm to rpg37
It's a needless rule that really doesn't make any sense.
We didn't exactly execute perfectly with respect to the game clock at the end. Luckily, we didn't need to.
We didn't exactly execute perfectly with respect to the game clock at the end. Luckily, we didn't need to.
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:34 pm to moneyg
Another Official's blunder that could have done the Saints in - again!


Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:46 pm to moneyg
it’s bullshite the refs didn’t do the common sense thing and get a booth review for if he was down or not, and that stoppage takes the place of the spike
Posted on 9/11/22 at 8:08 pm to rpg37
A clear call was never made, which is why Jarvis got up and ran
Posted on 9/11/22 at 8:29 pm to Eighteen
The booth is not going to call a review that would result in the clock restarting on the ready for play. Not in that situation.
The problem was the coach did not get a clear indication he was out and the coach then told QB to clock it.
The problem was the coach did not get a clear indication he was out and the coach then told QB to clock it.
Posted on 9/11/22 at 9:33 pm to rpg37
I never knew this was a rule, but since it was called I’ll give you my 2 cents. If spiking the football is intentional grounding when clock is stopped, it should be intentional grounding when clock is running. Should be no difference! And while talking about intentional grounding, throwing a pass 20 yards in the stands should also be intentional grounding!
Posted on 9/12/22 at 6:49 am to moneyg
quote:
We didn't exactly execute perfectly with respect to the game clock at the end
I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left. All he had to do was let it run down to 5 seconds, kick the FG & go home!
Was that on Winston or the Coaching staff? Gotta believe Winston just got a little too amped up & made a colossal mistake that could’ve gotten them best by a better team.
Posted on 9/12/22 at 8:07 am to rpg37
This was an absolutely awful application of the rule. The refs didn’t even give a clear signal whether or not Landry was ruled OOB. Just inexcusably bad officiating.
The PF on the last play was all on Latt though.
The PF on the last play was all on Latt though.
Posted on 9/12/22 at 8:11 am to RightWingTiger
quote:
I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left. All he had to do was let it run down to 5 seconds, kick the FG & go home!
Was that on Winston or the Coaching staff? Gotta believe Winston just got a little too amped up & made a colossal mistake that could’ve gotten them best by a better team.
This was a bigger mistake than the first one.
Posted on 9/12/22 at 9:37 am to RightWingTiger
quote:
I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left.
Same, they had ample time to get set and either spike it with minimal time left or make the Falcons burn a timeout.
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:46 am to Bedtiger
quote:
I never knew this was a rule, but since it was called I’ll give you my 2 cents. If spiking the football is intentional grounding when clock is stopped, it should be intentional grounding when clock is running. Should be no difference! And while talking about intentional grounding, throwing a pass 20 yards in the stands should also be intentional grounding!
The intentional grounding rule specifically states that spiking the ball to stop the clock is not intentional grounding. By that definition, spiking the ball when the clock isn't running is intentional grounding. Winston screwed up twice.
Also on 3rd down he spiked it with a lot of time left on the clock. Should have run a passing play or let the clock wind down closer to 0.
He looked to the sideline afterwards and indicated he thought it was second down. From my perspective, that was partially on him and partially on the coaches.
Posted on 9/12/22 at 11:32 am to RightWingTiger
quote:
I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left. All he had to do was let it run down to 5 seconds, kick the FG & go home!
That blew my mind to, and that was 100% on Winston. The intentional grounding, you could see Winston look to the sideline as they are trying to quickly get everyone set at the line. I did not see the coaches, but based on interviews postgame, it sounded like they all thought/assumed Landry was down in bounds.
I will say, on 3rd down he should have snapped the ball with 12/15 seconds. If they wait until 5 seconds and there is a procedure penalty from the o-line, its an automatic 10 second run off killing the clock with no attempt at the FG. Then again, wouldn't have gotten to that point as Atl would have called a TO, they still had all 3 then.
Posted on 9/12/22 at 5:36 pm to mdomingue
quote:
By that definition, spiking the ball when the clock isn't running is intentional grounding.
His intent was to stop the clock, which the refs weren’t clear on whether or not was running. That’s definitely one you let go since the only alternative would have been to stop for a review.
I agree we should have run the clock down or tried a quick pass on 3rd.
Popular
Back to top

8









