Started By
Message
locked post

Intentional Grounding | Rules and Review Protocol

Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:04 pm
Posted by rpg37
Ocean Springs, MS
Member since Sep 2008
53663 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:04 pm
I understand and have seen the intentional grounding called in one other game before...spiking with a non-moving clock is grounding. No issues there. My issue and question is the protocol of review earlier. The 40 yarder play DID NOT go OOB. It was ruled as such on the field, but that was an error. Should this point have been reviewed is my question? Hence, the spike was only conducted due to an error.
Posted by Ancient Astronaut
Member since May 2015
37142 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:07 pm to
A review would have been a 10 sec run off. I would have been ok with that given the situation
Posted by rpg37
Ocean Springs, MS
Member since Sep 2008
53663 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:09 pm to
quote:

A review would have been a 10 sec run off.


Which is the rule and in this case would have been what a spike would have been. This is what I feel should have been the case.
Posted by Ancient Astronaut
Member since May 2015
37142 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:09 pm to
Yep still a crazy play
Posted by keakar
Member since Jan 2017
30152 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:18 pm to
quote:

Intentional Grounding | Rules and Review Protocol


the intentional grounding penalty is only 5 yards and loss of the down, yet they moved the ball back 10 yards, to then be 2nd and 20

thats my biggest issue with it, they frickin doubled the penalty yards it should have been.

i guess the justification for that is that its the saints so its ok to cheat
This post was edited on 9/11/22 at 7:21 pm
Posted by slackster
Houston
Member since Mar 2009
91320 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:20 pm to
quote:

the intentional grounding penalty is only 5 yards and loss of the down, yet they moved the ball back 10 yards, to then be 2nd and 20


No, it’s 10 yards or spot or the foul, whatever is less beneficial for the offense.
Posted by slackster
Houston
Member since Mar 2009
91320 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:23 pm to
quote:

Hence, the spike was only conducted due to an error.


It would have come full circle with the runoff. We would have bitched either way.

The rule was applied here where it really should not have been applied, but ultimately Jameis has to pay attention there.
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61995 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:24 pm to
It's a needless rule that really doesn't make any sense.

We didn't exactly execute perfectly with respect to the game clock at the end. Luckily, we didn't need to.
Posted by Bayou
Boudin, LA
Member since Feb 2005
41494 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:34 pm to
Another Official's blunder that could have done the Saints in - again!

Posted by Eighteen
Member since Dec 2006
36901 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 7:46 pm to
it’s bullshite the refs didn’t do the common sense thing and get a booth review for if he was down or not, and that stoppage takes the place of the spike
Posted by Kankles
Member since Dec 2012
6096 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 8:08 pm to
A clear call was never made, which is why Jarvis got up and ran
Posted by LSUFanHouston
NOLA
Member since Jul 2009
40211 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 8:29 pm to
The booth is not going to call a review that would result in the clock restarting on the ready for play. Not in that situation.

The problem was the coach did not get a clear indication he was out and the coach then told QB to clock it.
Posted by Bedtiger
Thibodaux
Member since Dec 2018
522 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 9:33 pm to
I never knew this was a rule, but since it was called I’ll give you my 2 cents. If spiking the football is intentional grounding when clock is stopped, it should be intentional grounding when clock is running. Should be no difference! And while talking about intentional grounding, throwing a pass 20 yards in the stands should also be intentional grounding!
Posted by RightWingTiger
Louisiana
Member since Oct 2003
5855 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 6:49 am to
quote:

We didn't exactly execute perfectly with respect to the game clock at the end

I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left. All he had to do was let it run down to 5 seconds, kick the FG & go home!

Was that on Winston or the Coaching staff? Gotta believe Winston just got a little too amped up & made a colossal mistake that could’ve gotten them best by a better team.
Posted by ForeverEllisHugh
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2016
16186 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 8:07 am to
This was an absolutely awful application of the rule. The refs didn’t even give a clear signal whether or not Landry was ruled OOB. Just inexcusably bad officiating.

The PF on the last play was all on Latt though.
Posted by moneyg
Member since Jun 2006
61995 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 8:11 am to
quote:

I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left. All he had to do was let it run down to 5 seconds, kick the FG & go home!

Was that on Winston or the Coaching staff? Gotta believe Winston just got a little too amped up & made a colossal mistake that could’ve gotten them best by a better team.



This was a bigger mistake than the first one.
Posted by Damone
FoCo
Member since Aug 2016
32966 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 9:37 am to
quote:

I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left.

Same, they had ample time to get set and either spike it with minimal time left or make the Falcons burn a timeout.
Posted by mdomingue
Lafayette, LA
Member since Nov 2010
42454 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:46 am to
quote:

I never knew this was a rule, but since it was called I’ll give you my 2 cents. If spiking the football is intentional grounding when clock is stopped, it should be intentional grounding when clock is running. Should be no difference! And while talking about intentional grounding, throwing a pass 20 yards in the stands should also be intentional grounding!



The intentional grounding rule specifically states that spiking the ball to stop the clock is not intentional grounding. By that definition, spiking the ball when the clock isn't running is intentional grounding. Winston screwed up twice.

Also on 3rd down he spiked it with a lot of time left on the clock. Should have run a passing play or let the clock wind down closer to 0.

He looked to the sideline afterwards and indicated he thought it was second down. From my perspective, that was partially on him and partially on the coaches.
Posted by Weekend Warrior79
Member since Aug 2014
20710 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 11:32 am to
quote:

I couldn’t believe Winston spiked it on 3rd & 4 w/22 secs left. All he had to do was let it run down to 5 seconds, kick the FG & go home!

That blew my mind to, and that was 100% on Winston. The intentional grounding, you could see Winston look to the sideline as they are trying to quickly get everyone set at the line. I did not see the coaches, but based on interviews postgame, it sounded like they all thought/assumed Landry was down in bounds.

I will say, on 3rd down he should have snapped the ball with 12/15 seconds. If they wait until 5 seconds and there is a procedure penalty from the o-line, its an automatic 10 second run off killing the clock with no attempt at the FG. Then again, wouldn't have gotten to that point as Atl would have called a TO, they still had all 3 then.
Posted by ForeverEllisHugh
Baton Rouge
Member since Aug 2016
16186 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 5:36 pm to
quote:

By that definition, spiking the ball when the clock isn't running is intentional grounding.


His intent was to stop the clock, which the refs weren’t clear on whether or not was running. That’s definitely one you let go since the only alternative would have been to stop for a review.

I agree we should have run the clock down or tried a quick pass on 3rd.
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram