Started By
Message
locked post

Different camera angle of Brees' sack for Safety (pics of holding added on pg2)

Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:11 am
Posted by cdaniel76
Ponchatoula
Member since Feb 2008
19741 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:11 am
Sorry if already posted...

I was one of those fans that was sure it wasn't a sack for Safety and that Brees was never down on the ground while being tackled, that he was on top of the defender, but I just saw this pic.

He was down in the end-zone...


This post was edited on 9/24/12 at 12:56 pm
Posted by BTRDD
Member since Jun 2009
3599 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:13 am to
Oh, this picture sure proves that his knees aren't down.
Posted by Chad504boy
4 posts
Member since Feb 2005
172452 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:13 am to
damn nike collars.
Posted by saintsfan92612
Taiwan
Member since Oct 2008
29550 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:16 am to
well, I'd rather a safety there than a fumble. That was not a call I was pissed at the fake refs about.
Posted by Lafayette VooDoo
Lafayette, Louisiana
Member since May 2011
602 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:16 am to
He can be down in the end zone and it still not be a safety if he can get the entire football out beyond the goal line. It's where the ball is at the time he's ruled down.

With that said, from this angle, it looks like the ball is even with his shoulders and in fact, not beyond the goal line, so the call on the field was correct.
Posted by Chad504boy
4 posts
Member since Feb 2005
172452 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:17 am to
His forward progress was at the line of scrimmage when he took the snap.
Posted by Scrowe
Louisiana
Member since Mar 2010
2937 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:44 am to
quote:

Oh, this picture sure proves that his knees aren't down.


No, but doesn't matter being his forearm is down which is the same as a knee down.
Posted by bigpapamac
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
22454 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:48 am to
quote:

Oh, this picture sure proves that his knees aren't down.


How about his forearm?
Posted by CocoLoco
Member since Jan 2012
29108 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:54 am to
Not the call I am angry about.


I am pissed off about the Pierre Thomas touchdown that was called back.

There also was major holding on the long run by Charles.
Posted by TexasTiger1185
New Orleans
Member since Sep 2011
13136 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 10:57 am to
quote:

He can be down in the end zone and it still not be a safety if he can get the entire football out beyond the goal line.


Well that is wrong. He only needs a small portion out of the end-zone. It is the exact opposite of a TD, same as only the tip needs to get in.

You are reminding me of the people sitting near me at the game, they didn't know the rules either.
Posted by Jester
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2006
34710 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:00 am to
quote:

Oh, this picture sure proves that his knees aren't down.


Damn, if only the refs derped this derp, the Saints would have derped.
Posted by Jester
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2006
34710 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:02 am to
quote:

Well that is wrong. He only needs a small portion out of the end-zone. It is the exact opposite of a TD, same as only the tip needs to get in.

What are you talking about? You make'm no sense'm. I am pretty sure the entire ball must be out of the end zone.
Posted by Suntiger
STG or BR or somewhere else
Member since Feb 2007
34637 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:05 am to
quote:

Oh, this picture sure proves that his knees aren't down.




No, but doesn't matter being his forearm is down which is the same as a knee down.


Yeah, the elbow is down. That shows me it's a safety.
Posted by TexasTiger1185
New Orleans
Member since Sep 2011
13136 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:09 am to
quote:

What are you talking about? You make'm no sense'm. I am pretty sure the entire ball must be out of the end zone.


Think about it this way, when you are going for a first down do you have to get the entire ball across the first down marker? No, just the tip, LOS is at the most forward position of the football. If the ball comes 1" out of the endzone, that is the spot, even if the rest of the ball is in the end-zone.

It was still a safety, but the rule is pretty clear.
Posted by stapuffmarshy
lower 9
Member since Apr 2010
17507 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:11 am to
thank goodness it was a safety cause it would have been a fumble the other way around



Posted by Jester
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2006
34710 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:17 am to
quote:

Think about it this way, when you are going for a first down do you have to get the entire ball across the first down marker? No, just the tip, LOS is at the most forward position of the football. If the ball comes 1" out of the endzone, that is the spot, even if the rest of the ball is in the end-zone.



I think you are combining rules to make something up that agrees with you.

quote:

It was still a safety, but the rule is pretty clear.


Okay, post the rule and prove it.
Posted by Jester
Baton Rouge
Member since Feb 2006
34710 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:20 am to
Sorry, Hoss, you are are 100% wrong:

Former Vice President of Officiating (NFL)

quote:

Seahawks at Giants
THE SITUATION: The Giants had the ball, first-and-10 at the New York 5-yard line with 7:07 left in the third quarter. The score was tied 14-14.

THE PLAY: Giants running back D.J. Ware was tackled in the end zone by Seattle’s Anthony Hargrove for a safety. The replay assistant initiated a review to see if the runner broke the plane, and the play was upheld.

MY TAKE: I think this is the first time that the ruling of a safety resulted in the replay official initiating a review. This is the new rule that involves all plays that are ruled a score, including safeties, field goals and extra-point attempts. Once a score is ruled, the replay official has to confirm that the ruling was right or initiate a review by the referee.

In order for this not to be a safety, the entire ball must get out into the field of play. If any part of the ball is still over the goal line, then it would be a safety. It was very hard to tell in replay whether that happened. There was clearly not enough evidence to overturn the call of a safety.
Posted by TexasTiger1185
New Orleans
Member since Sep 2011
13136 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:20 am to
whatever
This post was edited on 9/24/12 at 11:21 am
Posted by bigpapamac
Mobile, AL
Member since Oct 2007
22454 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:24 am to
quote:

If the ball comes 1" out of the endzone, that is the spot, even if the rest of the ball is in the end-zone.


Hahaha, no.
Posted by saintsfan92612
Taiwan
Member since Oct 2008
29550 posts
Posted on 9/24/12 at 11:53 am to
I'd say that's a BOOM.


But can someone tell me how there wasn't a hold on the 91 yard TD? I was in shock that it wasn't called back.
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram