Posted by
Message
TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
186 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Has anyone received BGS induction ceremony details yet? We are two weeks out and nothing. I sent Dr. Darrat a note a week back and he said something would be sent out "in the coming days".


Getitdone
Member since Apr 2018
51 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Courtesy of aacsb.edu/accreditation:

Standard 8 – Curricula Management and Assurance of Learning

Standard 8 specifies a systematic process for assurance of learning. What do peer review teams usually expect in determining whether this standard is met?

The assurance of learning process is designed to ensure systematic continuous improvement of curriculum. Peer review teams will seek evidence that shows learning goals for each degree program are in place. Generally, some commonly observed best practices of mature AoL programs include four to eight learning goals for each degree program and assessment of the objectives related to each learning goal twice and closing the loop once during the review cycle. Closing the loop is defined as making appropriate changes in the curriculum based on assessment results. Results of the assessment should be documented and available for peer review teams upon request. The assessment processes and results should lead to documented continuous improvement in curriculum.

How often should a school review its learning goals for each program?

There is no prescribed time frame for reviewing learning goals. Schools are expected to have a systematic and sustainable way of reviewing curriculum as well as the assurance of learning process. Normally, each goal should be evaluated at least twice over a five-year AACSB review cycle.

Must all students be assessed?

Assessment data collected from valid statistical samples of student work is acceptable to support conclusions about learning outcomes and identification of areas for improvement. Sample characteristics should be established to provide a high degree of confidence that the data are representative, valid, and reliable.

What is the minimum performance standard?

AACSB does not have an absolute standard. The goal or benchmark for overall student performance on any given learning goal should be determined by each school consistent with its mission, degree programs, and student profile. This performance level provides a basis to determine if the collective student performance on any given learning goal is acceptable or unacceptable. If performance is unacceptable, curricula change should follow to address the problem.

Must all graduates meet the expected standard on all learning goals?

No, but the learning goals do represent the intentions of the faculty for every student. If students are not achieving the learning goals at acceptable levels, action must be taken to strengthen the curriculum for future students.

How many learning goals are needed?

AACSB expects schools to specify 4-10 learning goals for each degree program. There is no limit, but this is the guidance in order to keep the assessment program manageable.
This post was edited on 12/6 at 3:11 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
GeauxUF
Florida Fan
Atlanta OTP, GA
Member since Jun 2018
190 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

If there are no repercussions for not taking this exam then why would anyone take this exam after the fact? They didn't do a great job in framing out why they are asking this from us. If its merely a tool to improve then why have it proctored? If its an AACSB requirement, then why not explicitly state that? The latter would make me more inclined to participate only because I value that accreditation maybe more so than they do.


Right on the money here. There is nothing in the "invitation" that explains the incentive to actually take this "assessment." It implies something vague about AACSB accreditation, but that's it.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
GeauxUF
Florida Fan
Atlanta OTP, GA
Member since Jun 2018
190 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Has anyone received BGS induction ceremony details yet? We are two weeks out and nothing. I sent Dr. Darrat a note a week back and he said something would be sent out "in the coming days".



Darrat is too busy avoiding having to do anything in ISDS 710.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
NSAtoMBA
LSU Fan
Georgia
Member since Oct 2018
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I just got an email from the MBA program telling me I need to take a 35 question Proctorio proctored end of program exam as part of their AACSB accreditation. While this is not a "test" as they put it (wont impact GPA, graduation or anything) I wonder what the content will be like. Hoping its not ISDS705 heavy! Anyone else get this email?


Although I'm well over 20 years into my career, I just finished my undergrad in Business a couple of years ago (also from an AACSB school) -- so my experience there may have some bearing. In that program, everyone had a Capstone class as the final class before graduation. The last assignment in that final class was to take an external assessment, quite possibly the same as you are being asked to take. In LSUS it is not part of any one class (probably because we don't have a specified final class at the end of our program) and has ZERO bearing. With my previous school, you might as well say it had no bearing. I think it accounted for < 0.5% of our grade in that final class... but they wanted us to take it.

The test was all-encompassing and gave results at the end showing your percentile ranking compared to students finishing Bachelors in Business degrees as well as MBAs. I believe it also showed how the school matches up.

I was apprehensive about taking it because, well, I didn't want to realize that I didn't learn crap compared to other business students or feel like my school didn't teach me anything. I briefly considered not taking the test since I was going to get an A whether I took it or not... BUT it was interesting to see how I stacked up. It helped give me a better appreciation for what I got out of my undergrad degree program since I ranked very high among other BBAs and even scored well among MBAs.

We occasionally debate on this board as to the depth of our LSUS education compared to other business schools. Some say that, at a fraction of the cost, we get the same education without the name recognition of "better" schools. Some say LSUS is just sub-standard education compared to "better" schools. This test may be your one chance to answer those questions for yourself. If you bomb the test, who else is gonna see??? Perhaps it puts heat on LSUS to improve. If you do well, you reaffirm to yourself that you made a good decision in choosing LSUS.

Anyway, there are reasons to take it and reasons to pass it by... just wanted to pass on my somewhat recent experience (if it is, in fact, the same assessment).

This post was edited on 12/7 at 8:13 am


NSAtoMBA
LSU Fan
Georgia
Member since Oct 2018
15 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Just looked up the end-of-program assessment I took for AACSB in DEC 2017.

Reviewing my results, it didn't break down my performance vs BBA and MBA separately... it just gave percentile ranking with "all other exam scores completed by students in the US region". It then broke results down in the following areas:

ACCOUNTING
BUSINESS ETHICS
BUSINESS FINANCE
BUSINESS INTEGRATION AND STRATEGIC MANAGEMENT
BUSINESS LEADERSHIP
MACROECONOMICS
MICROECONOMICS
GLOBAL DIMENSIONS OF BUSINESS
INFORMATION MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS (I'm sure Lin prepared everyone for this one!!!)
LEGAL ENVIRONMENT OF BUSINESS
HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT
OPERATIONS MANAGEMENT
ORGANIZATIONAL BEHAVIOR
MARKETING
QUANTITATIVE RESEARCH TECHNIQUES




TigerLuna
Member since Nov 2018
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Lin prepared the Information Management System HISTORY for everyone.


TigerDragon435
South of Canada
Member since Oct 2017
186 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Just took my last exam of my LSUS career (M7 quiz with McLaughlin's MADM760).

I'm officially done, BGS + 4.0 and I'm walking on the 16th. Hope to see you in Shreveport!

BTW, taking McLaughlin's 760 was the best move I think I've done (well maybe taking Lin's 705 before it became a real class was another).

Congrats to all who are done with me!
This post was edited on 12/7 at 8:40 am


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
295 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

@bsramzy Do we need to include the same titles as is in the template such as Strategic Management and the nature of Business"and all others as mentioned?


Sorry I am just seeing this. I adjusted the title to relate to my theme


pineveillj
Pineville
Member since Sep 2018
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
aright well i finished my sheet for isds
i'm done. there is no more reading this nonsense.
i take my one bright and early tomorrow at 5am.


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
295 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

aright well i finished my sheet for isds
i'm done. there is no more reading this nonsense.
i take my one bright and early tomorrow at 5am.


best of luck. Mine is at 6:20...which means I will hopefully start by 7am knowing these people


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
WDE251
Auburn Fan
Texas
Member since Dec 2017
122 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
@tigerdragaon I am with you. Not taking that assessment until after I walk and get my diploma in hand. I have a final exam and 4 more pages of my portfolio in MADM720 and I will be done. Just submitted my synthesis paper for Meeks. It wasn't fun but not as dreadful as I thought because most of it was already written through the skillbuilders.

Congrats to all that are graduating. See some of you next sunday! We made it!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
10
craigp53
Member since Sep 2018
25 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I am not taking mine until the evening. Please provide any pointers.


pineveillj
Pineville
Member since Sep 2018
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Done. Grades where not immediate.

Not bad test. I feel the best about this one.

My protor let me look at him this time. Kinda weird.
I had a bunch of problems at first. Took 30 mins to start.


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
295 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Done. Grades where not immediate.

Not bad test. I feel the best about this one.

My protor let me look at him this time. Kinda weird.
I had a bunch of problems at first. Took 30 mins to start.


Are you kidding? I felt like that test was the hardest by far. He really brought in some concepts. And a couple questions I legit cant find in the material


hollywd
Member since Nov 2018
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Just Finished Mclaughlin. You will have limited to no contact with the professor. Must turn in a post on TUESDAY, do not miss that. Also, you must respond to the others on two separate days. The responses are more important than the post you make.
Current events article as it relates to the readings of the week is required by Sunday, Must be formatted as she requires, That can take up to 10-15% of your Turnitin score which must be lower than 20%

Exams are from the readings, Understand the definitions and practice exams at the end of the chapters.



Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
pineveillj
Pineville
Member since Sep 2018
47 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Lol

I’m telling you. The easiest so far. maybe it was just the I had read almost all the materials this time.
Lots of true and false this time.
At the end of the test I had only flagged 4 that I was unsure of.

With my luck it will be an F.


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
295 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Lol

I’m telling you. The easiest so far. maybe it was just the I had read almost all the materials this time.
Lots of true and false this time.
At the end of the test I had only flagged 4 that I was unsure of.

With my luck it will be an F.

I had a total of about 12 that I was not 100% sure on. But who knows.

My proctor this time was way more easy to work with. He looked around the room and i was set up in less than 10 minutes.


craigp53
Member since Sep 2018
25 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Were there many questions relating to the articles?


bsramzy
LSU Fan
Member since Jan 2012
295 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Were there many questions relating to the articles?

I don't want to answer that because of the academic policy. But trust in yourself and study all the material.


first pageprev pagePage 367 of 370next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram