Started By
Message
locked post

Was the last play an illegal formation or not?

Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:03 am
Posted by BillyBoy22
Mandeville
Member since Mar 2018
2205 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:03 am
I've not been able to read much after the game due to sick kid. I'm sure it's been discussed here but was the last play of regulation an illegal formation or was it not? If it was, has the league made a statement on this?
Posted by MOT
Member since Jul 2006
30370 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:05 am to
In reality? No

In the minds of people who can’t read or understand rules, or attempt to apply NFL rules to a college game? Yes
Posted by JumpingTheShark
America
Member since Nov 2012
24621 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:05 am to
No, there’s an angle with a view down the line and the receivers are on the ball.
Posted by LSURandomNumbers
Member since Oct 2018
491 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:05 am to
No.

Its time to move on people.
Posted by bencoleman
RIP 7/19
Member since Feb 2009
37887 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:06 am to
Apparently not.
Posted by OceanMan
Member since Mar 2010
22614 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:07 am to
The league will make no statements about this game.

All of the “bad calls” were just judgement calls that went against us. It was very unfortunate but not unfair. Well, the call on Greedy was bullshite and we may still be playing the damn game if that wasn’t called but we have enough people that want to concede that to move on.

In answer to your question though, I have not actually seen anyone talk about the very last play.
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33645 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:17 am to
NO... if the official on that side of the line does not raise his arm up parallel to the ground(chucking the widest out player as off the line) the widest guy is ON THE LINE period.... then the remaining split guys are ALSO on the line LOOK at their feet in line with the rest of the line man.. It's fing simple football....


and yes a team can have more than 7 on the line.. NOT LESS THAN 7.
Posted by Dave England
Member since Apr 2013
5107 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:17 am to
quote:

Its time to move on people.
Posted by tigerpimpbot
Chairman of the Pool Board
Member since Nov 2011
68750 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:19 am to
No. Terry McAullie said every call was right except for the bullshite P.I. call on Greedy. It was just an unfortunate series of events. On to the next game.
Posted by BillyBoy22
Mandeville
Member since Mar 2018
2205 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:27 am to
quote:

No. Terry McAullie said every call was right except for the bull shite P.I. call on Greedy. It was just an unfortunate series of events. On to the next game.
Thanks
Posted by RobbBobb
Member since Feb 2007
33217 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 11:55 am to
It was not illegal

You can have 9 on the line
Posted by the obvious one
Louisiana
Member since Jun 2018
524 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:00 pm to
quote:

No, there’s an angle with a view down the line and the receivers are on the ball.
YES. I don't care what angle you look at, the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB. They are all on the 19.5 yard line. Also, the tackle on the left side is uncovered and I doubt he reported his number as being eligible.
I can easily move on, but the facts are the entire spike play from the time to procedure and formation was incorrect.
Posted by MOT
Member since Jul 2006
30370 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:03 pm to
quote:

YES. I don't care what angle you look at, the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB. They are all on the 19.5 yard line. Also, the tackle on the left side is uncovered and I doubt he reported his number as being eligible.

quote:

In the minds of people who can’t read or understand rules, or attempt to apply NFL rules to a college game? Yes


Posted by LSURandomNumbers
Member since Oct 2018
491 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:04 pm to
quote:

I can easily move on, but the facts are the entire spike play from the time to procedure and formation was incorrect.


Posted by JumpingTheShark
America
Member since Nov 2012
24621 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:19 pm to
You’re grasping at straws.
Posted by choupiquesushi
yaton rouge
Member since Jun 2006
33645 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:37 pm to
quote:

YES. I don't care what angle you look at, the back foot of each receiver is on the same line as the QB. They are all on the 19.5 yard line. Also, the tackle on the left side is uncovered and I doubt he reported his number as being eligible.
matters not... one iota
Posted by nitwit
Member since Oct 2007
13046 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:41 pm to
I've talked to a college official (who is an LSU fan) and he says that on last second, deciding plays, the official is trained to not throw a flag absent an advantage gained or prejudice to one team or the other. In other words, the infraction should be clear and the effect, material to the outcome of the game or the score. They let 'em play.
Posted by dos crystal
Georgia
Member since Aug 2008
4877 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 12:48 pm to
quote:

Terry McAullie said every call was right except for the bullshite P.I. call on Greedy


Which is significant because the two point conversion was incomplete. No flag, we go to an 8th O.T.

I have an issue with putting time back on the clock. He hiked the ball with one second. The clock ran out. Does the ball hit the ground with 1 second showing? Yes. Is that .1 of the 1 second, .9, ? Do we go back and review every play of the game to determine if the clock ran a second? The answer is no. Do we go back and make sure the clock immediately starts exactly when the whistle blows? No.

If the ball truck the ground with .1 of a full second left, then your essentially giving more time to the team if you give them a full second. And, I’m not sure you can hike a ball in .1 second.

I think the rule basically states if the clock runs out when spiking the ball, game over. That’s what happened.
Posted by MOT
Member since Jul 2006
30370 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:00 pm to
quote:


If the ball truck the ground with .1 of a full second left, then your essentially giving more time to the team if you give them a full second. And, I’m not sure you can hike a ball in .1 second.

You’re losing your mind. The clock was stopped after the spike. It doesn’t matter if there was a full second, .01, or .08. The only time they had to beat at that point was the play clock.
Posted by catnip
Member since Sep 2003
16376 posts
Posted on 11/27/18 at 1:42 pm to
quote:

You can have 9 on the line



I thought that 4 had to be in the backfield or behind the line. Every time I see 4 wide outs and 1 back and the qb I see them look at each other to make sure the wide outs have 2 move back behind the guys on the line. Rules obviously have passed me by this season.
This post was edited on 11/27/18 at 1:43 pm
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 2Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram