Started By
Message

re: UGA committed a backcourt violation on the game winner

Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:31 pm to
Posted by Fus0623
Lafayette, LA
Member since Jan 2015
91314 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:31 pm to
quote:

Refs were horrible yet again. They were camped out in the lane all night. Unless they threw the rule out you can't stay in the lane longer than 3 seconds. There best player yante or whoever he is was making pancakes in the lane for everyone all night and they didn't call it.

Does anyone here know the rules of basketball? There’s no Defensive 3 seconds in College Basketball
Posted by Fus0623
Lafayette, LA
Member since Jan 2015
91314 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:32 pm to
quote:

Mick, if you and I could sit down with an ncaa official and view that tape with him, I would bet you a grand he would say I am right on this. Anyone that knows basketball rules knows this!!!!

Are you trolling are something?
Posted by Pintail
Member since Nov 2011
11875 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:34 pm to
quote:

The specific exceptions are described in Article 3 of Rule 9.9 and states during a JUMP BALL, THROW-IN, or WHILE ON DEFENSE, a player may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the the floor, and then return to the floor with one or both feet in the back court.
Posted by JPLSU1981
Baton Rouge
Member since Oct 2005
28241 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:34 pm to
Yeah, that’s not a backcourt violation.

You are incorrect.
Posted by rkf4lsu
Memphis, Tn
Member since Aug 2013
21 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:35 pm to
Not on defense, on offense!! Hes was in the lane just sitting there.
Posted by Madking
Member since Apr 2016
66007 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:35 pm to
The player can be in the air while catching the ball and crossing from the front to the back court but cannot straddle the mid court line the way the Uga player did. It was a back court violation that wasn’t called.
Posted by The Mick
Member since Oct 2010
44860 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:37 pm to
Wrong. You can straddle the line.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:37 pm to
quote:

Mick, if you and I could sit down with an ncaa official and view that tape with him, I would bet you a grand he would say I am right on this. Anyone that knows basketball rules knows this!!!!


I officiated HS basketball for 4 years. The backcourt rule is the same in the NCAA.

He caught the ball with one foot in the backcourt. He hasn’t established himself in the frontcourt. Both feet and the ball have to be in the frontcourt for there to be a backcourt violation.
Posted by Pintail
Member since Nov 2011
11875 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:42 pm to
Straight from the NCAA rule book. 9.12.9

quote:

Art. 9. A defensive player shall be permitted to secure control of the ball while both feet are off the playing court and land with one or both feet in the backcourt? It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or backcourt?


ETA I meant 9.12.10
quote:

Art. 10. After a jump ball or during a throw-in, the player in his front court, who makes the initial touch on the ball while both feet are off the playing court, may be the first to secure control of the ball and land with one or both feet in the backcourt? It makes no difference if the first foot down was in the front court or backcourt?
This post was edited on 1/16/18 at 8:44 pm
Posted by The Mick
Member since Oct 2010
44860 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:42 pm to
And even if both feet are established in front court, on throw ins you can jump in the air catch the ball and land with one or both feet in backcourt and no violation.

UGA player caught the ball with one foot in front court and one foot in backcourt- totally fine.
Posted by tigahlovah
virginia beach, va
Member since Oct 2009
4167 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:46 pm to
Golfer, I will defer to your experience as an official. I guess I was wrong, and mick I'm glad I didn't bet you a grand.
Posted by The Mick
Member since Oct 2010
44860 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:48 pm to
It’s definitely weird looking when it happens live.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:48 pm to
Backcourt violations are probably the most confusing violations for the average fan. They see something like this, or a guy get both feet across into the front court but dribble the ball in the backcourt then put a foot in the backcourt.
Posted by Hold That Tiger 10
Member since Oct 2013
24598 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:50 pm to
quote:

He caught the ball with one foot in the backcourt. He hasn’t established himself in the frontcourt. Both feet and the ball have to be in the frontcourt for there to be a backcourt violation


If he had one foot in front court, and one in back court when he caught the ball he still had front court status.

From the position he caught it, if he would have brought the other foot in the back court, as well as the ball...he would have been back court.

If he would have had both feet in the front court, and for whatever reason, jumped in the air and caught the ball (with both feet off the ground), landing both feet in the back court after the catch..it would have been back court.

Thats what I believe the rule is. Would that be correct?
Posted by Madking
Member since Apr 2016
66007 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:51 pm to
Looked like he caught the ball in the front court and continued to the backcourt. Looked like one foot was down at least. I said straddling but that was a bad way to describe it he was running toward the mid court had possession before crossing then crossed. That’s a back court violation.
This post was edited on 1/16/18 at 8:52 pm
Posted by Hold That Tiger 10
Member since Oct 2013
24598 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:52 pm to
quote:

Golfer, I will defer to your experience as an official. I guess I was wrong, and mick I'm glad I didn't bet you a grand


Back court rules can get pretty confusing for someone who doesnt really really get it.

You aren't as dumb as others are trying to make you sound. They probably didnt totally understand it either, but they just so happened to be correct in this case.
Posted by Rebel
Graceland
Member since Jan 2005
141244 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:55 pm to
wrong.

everything over - anything back.


that is the best way to think of a backcourt violation.


Posted by The Mick
Member since Oct 2010
44860 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:55 pm to
If only 1 foot was down then he was never established in the front court and therefore it’s impossible to have a backcourt violation.
Posted by Golfer
Member since Nov 2005
75052 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 8:58 pm to
quote:

If he had one foot in front court, and one in back court when he caught the ball he still had front court status.


The ball hasn’t been touched by an offensive player in bounds in the front court. So he has no status in either front court of backcourt. He established backcourt when he first touched the ball with one foot in the backcourt. Therefore he can pull his other foot and the ball to the backcourt without violation.
Posted by Hold That Tiger 10
Member since Oct 2013
24598 posts
Posted on 1/16/18 at 9:00 pm to
quote:


The ball hasn’t been touched by an offensive player in bounds in the front court. So he has no status in either front court of backcourt.


So ball has to be touched for a front court/back court status to be established?
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 4Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram