- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:08 pm to Biggiebam
I understand why they overturned it. I don’t agree with it, but I understand the logic. My main issue is consistency. How the hell is Bauer Sharp’s fumble a fumble if we are interpreting the rules this way. Just be consistent.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:10 pm to TNTigerman
quote:
and took two steps in the process.
Where do you get this? What in the rule says that running with the ball is part of the process of making a catch?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:11 pm to Dire Wolf
quote:
I don’t see where he lost control of the ball
I thought it was a catch.
They questioned the ball and its contact with the ground
Loading Twitter/X Embed...
If tweet fails to load, click here. Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:13 pm to Biggiebam
Not sure you understand why it was overturned.
It was bc he did not have possession when he broke the goal line, then stepped out of bounds.
It was bc he did not have possession when he broke the goal line, then stepped out of bounds.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:15 pm to TNTigerman
The problem with most have here and you seem to ignore is that Brown was a RUNNER after he caught the ball. As the ABC paid official said, he "made a football move". Plus he while RUNNING his knee hit the pylon with the ball firmly in his possession! The play is DEAD at that point since the catch has been made. For some EXCUSE you and a few others are making, you are acting like it was a Dez Byrant play against the Packers...a diving catch in the middle of the field. That "Dez Bryant' rule does NOT apply here...it is irrelevant because Brown became a RUNNER when he ran and made a football move. So yeah, I can't help you and a FEW others if you don't understand the rule. The rule differentiates between a receiver in the act of catching a ball and a ball carrier/runner. AFTER making the catch and making a football move, he WAS a runner!
You mixing apples and oranges with your assessment of what happened.
You mixing apples and oranges with your assessment of what happened.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 2:16 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:16 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
This is simple football 101
Yes, it is. When a guy catches a ball and starts running with it, and breaks the plane, it's clearly a TD by the rules.
quote:
happens frequently.
Correct. TD catches and bad calls do both happen frequently.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:16 pm to smooth99
smooth99 learn the rules of college football, once he crossed the goal line, the ball is dead. The one step with the football is a football move, meaning the ball is dead and it is a catch. The ground at that point cannot cause a fumble but having already crossed the goal line it means it is a touchdown and the ball is dead.
In the Ohio state game, you have a clear case of the ground helping a catch and it was called a touchdown, this without a football move.
Every rule pro all said it was a catch, every show called it a catch, everyone replay review today (Sunday) called it a catch and many showed the Ohio State game catch and all said if that is a catch for a TD with no football move then this is clearly a catch.
In the Ohio state game, you have a clear case of the ground helping a catch and it was called a touchdown, this without a football move.
Every rule pro all said it was a catch, every show called it a catch, everyone replay review today (Sunday) called it a catch and many showed the Ohio State game catch and all said if that is a catch for a TD with no football move then this is clearly a catch.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 2:18 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:17 pm to Lester Earl
If I remember they said the play was under review for being spotted at the half yard line and reviewed to see if it was a TD ( broke the plane of the goal line ), not whether it was a catch. The play was already ruled a catch when he was marked out at the half yard line.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:18 pm to Lester Earl
quote:
I am just going to assume you are trolling me at this point.
Interesting projection. I'm curious which one you are asserting was not a step?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:18 pm to xBirdx
quote:
It was bc he did not have possession when he broke the goal line, then stepped out of bounds.
He had 100% possession until the ball hit the ground. He was holding it like a loaf of bread.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:18 pm to tigger1
tigger1….Dear God man learn to read. I said I don’t agree with it. Grow some brain cells. Are you 12?
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:20 pm to King Joey
(no message)
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 2:23 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:20 pm to King Joey
Yeah, a few of the posters here keep trying to make it a difference between a receiver in the ACT of catching the ball and a running back carrying the ball. The FACT of the matter is as mentioned by the ABC paid official is that he WAS a ball carrier...catch made upright, NOT diving for the ball, and made a football move. Not only is the play dead when his knee hit the pylon with the ball over the goal line BUT his running WITH the ball in his possession made him a ball carrier. These people are using an irrelevant situation which results in the usual overturn which is like he never had possession of the ball. Simply that is a misrepresentation of the play!
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 2:22 pm
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:21 pm to Biggiebam
Ever body in here, every announcer, commentator, and rules analyst on tv said it was a catch. The sec said it wasn't.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:25 pm to King Joey
quote:
When a guy catches a ball and starts running with it,
Sure that’s not what happened. He started falling
Which triggered the ground rule.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:26 pm to Lester Earl
Lester's correct on this one.
And fwiw, I noted he DOES think it should have been called a TD.
But like he's pointed out, this is what the reviewer looked at:
*Brown "gets" ball, one foot in. So far so good.
*Brown crosses plane of goal line with ball in control. So far, so good.
*Brown second foot down, out of bounds on edge of endzone. He is going down, but has control of ball. So far so good.
*Brown hits the ground. This is where the questions are. The ball does move, but it doesn't come free (in my opinion). That's because he lands on his hand and the ball, instead of turning fully and cradling it.
It's my opinion, and obviously many others', that he did adequately maintain control of the ball. You heard Mike Pererra (the rules specialist the announcers ask) say "no. that's a touchdown", looking at the replay, AFTER the review and the play was called incomplete.
The replay official apparently disagreed, and felt that shift was enough to say he did not maintain possession throughout the act of making the catch.
If Brown would have made one more step upright, TD.
If Brown would have rotated and landed on his shoulder or back, without ever going out of bounds, TD.
Anything else is up to interpretation, and if you want to be ultra ticky-tack, when you watch on super slo-mo, could be cherry-picked into calling an incompletion. Which is stupid, but is the rule.
What gets me about that game and replay, I thought the replay official had to have indisputable evidence to overturn it. On the LSU catch, he can "say" he did, because the ball wiggled...
but on the incompletion for Clemson, that was overturned, he doesn't. Clemson guy 'got' the ball, LSU player pulls it out, call on field is incomplete. Replay, although it seems pretty evident, only shows player's backs. You NEVER see the ball, don't know if it was moving or not. For the record I thought it was a catch, and our guy pulled it out after his knee was down and play over... but that isn't the rule in question. I can't visually confirm he maintained full control of the ball while he had it, so I can't tell when the play is actually dead or not. I never see the ball until it comes out. It wasn't ruled a fumble, it was ruled an incompletion... lack of control. No indisputable evidence on replay saying it wasn't incomplete.
And fwiw, I noted he DOES think it should have been called a TD.
But like he's pointed out, this is what the reviewer looked at:
*Brown "gets" ball, one foot in. So far so good.
*Brown crosses plane of goal line with ball in control. So far, so good.
*Brown second foot down, out of bounds on edge of endzone. He is going down, but has control of ball. So far so good.
*Brown hits the ground. This is where the questions are. The ball does move, but it doesn't come free (in my opinion). That's because he lands on his hand and the ball, instead of turning fully and cradling it.
It's my opinion, and obviously many others', that he did adequately maintain control of the ball. You heard Mike Pererra (the rules specialist the announcers ask) say "no. that's a touchdown", looking at the replay, AFTER the review and the play was called incomplete.
The replay official apparently disagreed, and felt that shift was enough to say he did not maintain possession throughout the act of making the catch.
If Brown would have made one more step upright, TD.
If Brown would have rotated and landed on his shoulder or back, without ever going out of bounds, TD.
Anything else is up to interpretation, and if you want to be ultra ticky-tack, when you watch on super slo-mo, could be cherry-picked into calling an incompletion. Which is stupid, but is the rule.
What gets me about that game and replay, I thought the replay official had to have indisputable evidence to overturn it. On the LSU catch, he can "say" he did, because the ball wiggled...
but on the incompletion for Clemson, that was overturned, he doesn't. Clemson guy 'got' the ball, LSU player pulls it out, call on field is incomplete. Replay, although it seems pretty evident, only shows player's backs. You NEVER see the ball, don't know if it was moving or not. For the record I thought it was a catch, and our guy pulled it out after his knee was down and play over... but that isn't the rule in question. I can't visually confirm he maintained full control of the ball while he had it, so I can't tell when the play is actually dead or not. I never see the ball until it comes out. It wasn't ruled a fumble, it was ruled an incompletion... lack of control. No indisputable evidence on replay saying it wasn't incomplete.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:28 pm to Scoob
Correct.
If both feet had been in bounds, he crossed the goal line and same thing happens…TD
But one foot was out, he went to ground and didn’t control it.
Not a catch. Not a TD.
That’s how it works. It’s F’ing retardation. But it’s the reality.
If both feet had been in bounds, he crossed the goal line and same thing happens…TD
But one foot was out, he went to ground and didn’t control it.
Not a catch. Not a TD.
That’s how it works. It’s F’ing retardation. But it’s the reality.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:29 pm to King Joey
quote:
Interesting projection. I'm curious which one you are asserting was not a step?
He only made one step in bounds with possession of the football. So whatever fantasy 2nd step you see would be the one I’m talking about
Posted on 8/31/25 at 2:31 pm to Lester Earl
The 2nd step is essentially irrelevant because it was OOB
Popular
Back to top


0


