- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: The control catch rule started with the Dez Bryant play. I’ve been told that’s a catch.
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:13 pm to Fun Bunch
Posted on 8/31/25 at 11:13 pm to Fun Bunch
Your still shot picture proves nothing.
I completely agree the ball came loose when his arm hit the ground.
But Brown had complete possession when hit the pylon just prior to
So that’s a TD. Bc he hit the ground after the score. His arm hit first and not the ball.
The was knocked loose at impact and touched the turf. But the balls was in a tucked away position so Brown never looked he lost control.
I completely agree the ball came loose when his arm hit the ground.
But Brown had complete possession when hit the pylon just prior to
So that’s a TD. Bc he hit the ground after the score. His arm hit first and not the ball.
The was knocked loose at impact and touched the turf. But the balls was in a tucked away position so Brown never looked he lost control.
quote:
Not relevant if he didn’t catch the ball, which per the rule, he didn’t.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 5:48 am to Manswers
quote:
The rule is the call on the field is presumed correct unless clear video evidence to the contrary. Call on the field - catch and ball out at 1 yard line. There is no way anyone can look at that video and say that was clear evidence of "not a catch". The unbiased rules analyst and TV announcers agreed. So, easy decision is - call stands because not enough evidence to overturn.
I agree with this emphatically. But that ship has sailed. Replay officials are constantly overturning calls that are too close. If it’s close enough that people who understand the rules are still debating then the call should be left with the field umpire.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:03 am to Pendulum
quote:
Maybe just maybe, whether something is a catch or not cant be written in black and white terms.
lol you can’t be serious. You know how much anarchy there is when you open up things to interpretation. There is definitely written down in black and white what a catch is.
Don’t want to take my word for it… google “ NCAA Rules Section 4 Article 3”
Posted on 9/1/25 at 6:20 am to Mouth
I think I understand the technicality they're using to say it wasn't a catch.
I think it's because the ball wobbled a little upon contact with the ground, after he only got one foot down inbounds, and went down (the second foot did come down but out of bounds).
I think the rationale is, since there's an OOB element, they want complete control of the ball... ie he doesn't land on his back, the ball bounces up and he recatches it. That would be incomplete since he went out of bounds, whereas if he stayed inbounds it would be incomplete.
So I think the rationale is, it's dead, and thus must be frozen instead of moving.
I also think they got it wrong, and overanalyzed it. The ball shifted but never came free.
I think it's because the ball wobbled a little upon contact with the ground, after he only got one foot down inbounds, and went down (the second foot did come down but out of bounds).
I think the rationale is, since there's an OOB element, they want complete control of the ball... ie he doesn't land on his back, the ball bounces up and he recatches it. That would be incomplete since he went out of bounds, whereas if he stayed inbounds it would be incomplete.
So I think the rationale is, it's dead, and thus must be frozen instead of moving.
I also think they got it wrong, and overanalyzed it. The ball shifted but never came free.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:00 am to Mouth
That was a TD all Day Long. Even with movement of the ball he still had his hand under with it pulled in against his body. None of the arguments that were made as to why it was not a catch were justified.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:16 am to Penrod
quote:
the NCAA rules DO say that, but they also define possession and the replay refs determined he DID NOT have possession.
The rules also say that the MUST be irrefutable video evidence to overturn the call on the field.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:19 am to Mouth
They need to go back to when I was a kid, 2 hands on the ball, two feet inbounds = catch
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:25 am to ArcticTiger
Earlier in the game Caden Durham ran the ball in for a touchdown but the ball popped loose when he hit the ground. That sent a few guys scrambling for it like it was a fumble. Irrelevant. Touchdown called. No hesitation, second guessing or reviewing.
Player had controlled possession when he crossed the goal line. Play over. Touchdown.
How are these two plays different? Yes, I know, one was a pass and the other was a run. But because of THAT...possession while crossing the goal line changes from play to play?
Player had controlled possession when he crossed the goal line. Play over. Touchdown.
How are these two plays different? Yes, I know, one was a pass and the other was a run. But because of THAT...possession while crossing the goal line changes from play to play?
Posted on 9/1/25 at 7:26 am to Scoob
As soon as the ball breaks the plane of the end zone it is a TD. Falling afterwards matters not.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 2:28 pm to jrodLSUke
quote:
The rules also say that the MUST be irrefutable video evidence to overturn the call on the field.
Yeah, that's why I posted that the replay officials are terrible about overturning things that are close calls. I wrote that if reasonable people who know the rules still disagree then the replay official should leave it alone.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 2:51 pm to ChefLSU
quote:
people like you is why the internet sucks. We could say it's pouring rain during this hurricane and you would come up with a retarded AI excuse why that wasn't rain.
Ever notice that it’s ALWAYS the same 4 or 5 contrarians who love to post about something everyone else is in agreement on? They love to argue for the sake of it.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 2:57 pm to inthebr
It did alter the score and, thereby, the outcome.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 3:19 pm to Fun Bunch
Dbl post
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 3:20 pm
Posted on 9/1/25 at 3:19 pm to Fun Bunch
quote:
Not relevant if he didn’t catch the ball, which per the rule, he didn’t.
So if he didn’t catch it it’s not a TD.
Except he did catch it. The ref even called it a catch.
He did not drop it after his arm and the ball hit the ground.
He had possession and took 2 steps with ball secure and hit the pylon. He then hit the ground with his arm making first contact and the ball touched and moved. But he maintained control throughout the fall.
It’s a catch. It was ruled a catch and they overturned it. It was a BS call.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 3:19 pm to Fun Bunch
Triple post wtf
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 3:20 pm
Posted on 9/1/25 at 3:25 pm to Scoob
quote:
I also think they got it wrong, and overanalyzed it. The ball shifted but never came free.
Exactly.
He has possession and crosses the goal line. unless the ball comes rolling out and hit the ground FIRST then it’s not a TD.
But that didn’t happen.
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 3:26 pm
Posted on 9/1/25 at 4:55 pm to smash williams
quote:
It’s been maintaining control throughout the process (falling to the ground) for a while now
Should our "fumbled" goal line TD been called back?
Posted on 9/1/25 at 8:41 pm to ScootiniTiger
quote:Different rule on runs, but I guess you already know that.
Should our "fumbled" goal line TD been called back?
Look- I think it was a TD. But it IS a lot closer than people here want to acknowledge.
He caught the ball (secured it with his hands)around the 2, first foot comes down in bounds about the 1. Leans to the endzone to try to score, goes inside the pylon.
At this point he's golden, IF he can:
a) put the 2nd foot down inbounds
b) land in the endzone with his body, and not lose the ball
c) take 2 more steps, doesn't matter if in or out (first foot was in and he went inside the pylon) while holding the ball
d) if the 2nd foot comes down out of bounds (it did), he needs to maintain control of the ball as he hits the ground.
Due to his momentum, he could not do a or b.
Due to his lean to cross the pylon, he wasn't able to do c.
I thought he satisfied the requirements of d;
BUT- the ball DOES move. And it moves when his body hits the ground, landing on the ball, as he cradles it.
Again, I think he maintained control. But that HAS to be what the replay official is pointing at- that he landed on the ball, and it squished around some.
The play isn't over until a, b, c, or d happens. If none of that happen, it's incomplete.
Posted on 9/1/25 at 8:49 pm to Mouth
Makes you wonder if that ref had an agenda!
Posted on 9/1/25 at 9:10 pm to Mouth
quote:
Forget that he had possession as he hit the pylon. NCAA rules say that is an immediate TD.
He did not demonstrate full possession by the rules before entering the end zone, thus he had to maintain possession to the ground.
It doesn’t matter if the ground didn’t initially help him make the catch, as he went to the ground, the ball hit the ground and moved significantly demonstrating he did not have control. He’s out of bounds on top of that, so the play is dead immediately there.
It was close but the right call to overturn.
Some of y’all need to stop randomly picking parts of rules to apply and others to ignore.
If a player has established full control of the ball and then crosses the plane of the end zone, it is a touchdown. That didn’t happen in this case, and is the same that happened in the South Carolina game yesterday.
Popular
Back to top


0






