Started By
Message

re: Refs just did the same thing to SC that they did us

Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:35 pm to
Posted by jorconalx
alexandria
Member since Aug 2011
10654 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:35 pm to
quote:

it’s the rule


Post what you think the rule is
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127972 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:35 pm to
quote:

For LSU, Brown made the catch, took a step in bounds and then crossed the goal line.


If he had gotten two feet in bounds you may be right. He didn’t

He got one foot in going to the ground, so:

The rule explicitly says that the endzone is irrelevant. It does not matter where it happens. He has to complete the act of the catch and maintain control through the ground and he did not.
Posted by Jabontik
Houston
Member since Dec 2016
4146 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:35 pm to
quote:


What’s the rule? You have to maintain possession until you’re on the bus?


Not only on the bus, but if the ball even wiggles a bit when you're in the shower after the game then retroactively its not a catch
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127972 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:38 pm to
quote:

Post what you think the rule is


Section 4, Article 3, Subsection b

quote:

If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also required for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and going to the ground out of bounds. If he loses control of the ball which then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch. If he regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.
Posted by Lapaz
Member since Dec 2018
745 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:50 pm to
I think it was a TD, but I don’t understand the rule. I know there was a view from the back of the end zone where you can see he lost control of the ball and it hit the ground.
Posted by Tiger1988
Houston
Member since May 2016
29647 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:52 pm to
No it wasn’t as others pointed out. The receiver was in the end zone versus one that was in the field of play headed to the end zone. It is a bull shite call
Posted by Fun Bunch
New Orleans
Member since May 2008
127972 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:53 pm to
quote:

No it wasn’t as others pointed out. The receiver was in the end zone versus one that was in the field of play headed to the end zone. It is a bull shite call


Which the rule explicitly and clearly states is totally irrelevant. It says it doesn’t matter where it is, including the endzone.
Posted by Turbeauxdog
Member since Aug 2004
24102 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 4:55 pm to
Good thing he didn't lose control.
Posted by 6R12
Louisiana
Member since Feb 2005
11548 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 5:35 pm to
quote:

The refs are merely enforcing it.


Just wondering what they are enforcing? Crossing the goal line like our RB did and not holding on to the ball when he went to the ground? Cross goal line and you can fumble that ball all around. They obviously refused to see him crossing the goal line.
Posted by jasonbr1975
Member since Sep 2024
1178 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 5:40 pm to
Yes, I saw it too. That’s a BS rule. If you already across the plane and have control and either you get two feet down or go out of bounds, you shouldn’t have to maintain control when you are out of bounds…
Posted by BTRtoIAH
Kingwood, TX
Member since May 2016
605 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 5:45 pm to
It’s a dumb rule. It was called right according to the rule on both occasions.
Posted by MikeD
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2004
8162 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 5:45 pm to
quote:

Not the same because our guy caught the ball, had possession with a foot down inbounds outside the endzone then clearly crossed the plane. TD Play over. It's different when the catch is in the endzone


If you are going to the ground when making a catch, you have to maintain possession through the ground. The endzone does not matter.
Posted by MikeD
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2004
8162 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 5:46 pm to
quote:

Was Brown falling? Probably so.


Agreed
Posted by taf
Kansas City, KS
Member since Dec 2003
787 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 6:12 pm to
quote:

The rule requires judgement on whether the fall was part of the catch. A football move typically defines whether the fall was part of the catch or subsequent to the catch.


This x 1000.

Don’t know why a few keep defending this stupid interpretation of the rule.

The “control to the ground” thing only applies if someone is “in the process” of making catch. You have to believe that Brown was still in the process of making a catch, which is absurd.
Posted by Adam39
Member since Nov 2019
433 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 6:29 pm to
quote:

in the act of catching a pass

quote:

If he regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.


Brown already completed the catch and made multiple football moves with possession through the end zone. He also never lost the ball prior to or after the ball touching the ground.
Posted by chaso
clinton ms.
Member since Aug 2006
3217 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:03 pm to
PadMe LMAO
Posted by chaso
clinton ms.
Member since Aug 2006
3217 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:05 pm to
Rule is not applicable! He caught the ball and crossed the pylon with foot in bounds!
Posted by bayou1234
Denham Springs
Member since Jul 2021
153 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:28 pm to
Usually neutral site games, its a neutral power 4 officiating crew that the event host will secure depending on what is written on the contract , for the LSU vs Houston 2027 game it will be a neutral power 4 officiating crew.
This post was edited on 8/31/25 at 8:29 pm
Posted by Tiger987
Member since Nov 2021
1169 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:35 pm to
quote:

The rule explicitly says that the endzone is irrelevant. It does not matter where it happens. He has to complete the act of the catch and maintain control through the ground and he did not.


This is correct. Think about it if the catch is made in the middle of the field. All eyes are on …if that ball moved while hitting the ground .
Posted by TutHillTiger
Mississippi Alabama
Member since Sep 2010
49830 posts
Posted on 8/31/25 at 8:37 pm to
That was our guy too but we wanted him to play DB, or really needed him too, and just missed him
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 3Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram