- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message
re: Miles on the illegal formation call
Posted on 9/28/15 at 7:56 pm to NC_Tigah
Posted on 9/28/15 at 7:56 pm to NC_Tigah
He's on the line.
The vertical from that line would go through the shoulders after the center had started to pull up (drawing his waistline close), waistline is about 1/2 yard back which is all that is needed. Extremely close either way and most officiating crews would have let it go.
quote:
ARTICLE 4. a. Lineman.
1. A lineman is any Team A player legally on his scrimmage line (Rule 2-21-2).
2. A Team A player is on his scrimmage line when he faces his opponent’s goal line
with the line of his shoulders approximately parallel thereto and either (a) he is the
snapper (Rule 2-27-8) or (b) his head breaks the plane of the line drawn through the
waistline of the snapper.
b. Interior lineman. An interior lineman is a lineman who is not on the end of his
scrimmage line.
c. Restricted lineman. A restricted lineman is any interior lineman, or any lineman wearing
a number 50-79, whose hand(s) are below the knees.
d. Back.
1. A back is any Team A player who is not a lineman and whose head or shoulder does
not break the plane of the line drawn through the waistline of the nearest Team A
lineman.
The vertical from that line would go through the shoulders after the center had started to pull up (drawing his waistline close), waistline is about 1/2 yard back which is all that is needed. Extremely close either way and most officiating crews would have let it go.
Posted on 9/28/15 at 8:14 pm to chadr07
This is a iphone photo of TV screen shot of the split second the ESPN video cuts to the play at the LOS. The extra lines are from the graphic that was displayed prior to this scene. The image is from the second the graphic fades out and the field view fades in. It happens so fast we don't notice it when watching in normal speed. You can see Dural is checking with the Ref closest to him... Don't know what he told him.
The image clears up a fraction of a second later but for some reason my DVR will not stop on the clearer image. The only way you will find this shot is in super slo mo view.
Posted on 9/28/15 at 8:16 pm to White Tiger
Nm
This post was edited on 9/28/15 at 8:17 pm
Posted on 9/28/15 at 8:19 pm to TigerBait1127
This is what someone sent be during the game
Posted on 9/29/15 at 8:00 am to White Tiger
Nevermind. It's been covered. Time to move on.
This post was edited on 9/29/15 at 8:10 am
Posted on 9/29/15 at 8:20 am to GetmorewithLes
quote:l
GetmorewithLes
Great shot! Here you clearly see the white out checking with the ref to tell him he's on(note the differences in gestures between this still shot of the wideout and the video of the slot checking with the ref). The wideout is signaling to the ref that he's supposed to be on the LOS. He's clearly a yard and a half back. It was the right call.
Now it's. It the refs job to correct alignments. this is one of the most basic and most fundamental thing in football. Lining up correctly. 3rd game we shouldn't be making these mistakes.
Posted on 9/29/15 at 8:26 am to Lefthash
quote:
Extremely close either way and most officiating crews would have let it go.
not ritters crew. he ain't letting ANYTHING go if it's close. his calls are extremely tight against LSU. the facts show his games against LSU have DOUBLE the amount of penalties as other ref crews.
Posted on 9/29/15 at 9:07 am to gizmoflak
quote:
it was clearly an illegal formation
Ehh, no, it wasn't.
quote:
ARTICLE 4? a? Lineman.
1? A lineman is any Team A player legally on his scrimmage line (Rule 2-21-2)?
2? A Team A player is on his scrimmage line when he faces his opponent’s goal line with the line of his shoulders approximately parallel thereto and either (a) he is the snapper (Rule 2-27-8) or (b) his head breaks the plane of the line drawn through the waistline of the snapper?
b? Interior Lineman. An interior lineman is a lineman who is not on the end of his scrimmage line?
c? Restricted Lineman. A restricted lineman is any interior lineman, or any lineman wearing a number 50-79, whose hand(s) are below the knees?
d? Back.
1? A back is any Team A player who is not a lineman and whose head or shoulder does not break the plane of the line drawn through the waistline of the nearest Team A lineman?
Obviously Dural's head broke the plane of the center's waistline.
The only thing I can imagine is that the tight end on the opposite side (side where the flag was thrown) was in the backfield, but he looks good to me.
This post was edited on 9/29/15 at 5:38 pm
Posted on 9/29/15 at 9:30 am to NC_Tigah
The rule that was quoted earlier in the thread clearly states that Dural doesn't need to be even with the yard line where the ball is, only even with the waist of the closest lineman, and he is CLEARLY even or ahead of the waist of the RT.
Posted on 9/29/15 at 10:37 am to GetmorewithLes
quote:
Why did the two not confer on this? That is where the problem is. One official evidently OK'd the alignment and another overruled it from literally 50 yds away.
SEC officials use radios to communicate with each other. The HL and LJ have their mics always on. They are talking to each other as the offense lines up. To say that they did not confer with each other is ignorant.
Posted on 9/29/15 at 12:16 pm to monsterballads
quote:
not ritters crew. he ain't letting ANYTHING go if it's close. his calls are extremely tight against LSU. the facts show his games against LSU have DOUBLE the amount of penalties as other ref crews.
I would really appreciate a LINK if you know of one...?????
Posted on 9/29/15 at 12:29 pm to slackster
Looks good to me.
The question then arises: Why was the flag thrown? Also, is this a consistently called penalty? If not, why not?
The question then arises: Why was the flag thrown? Also, is this a consistently called penalty? If not, why not?
Posted on 9/29/15 at 12:57 pm to dgnx6
quote:
refs suck, its an embarrassment.
I don't think they suck I think they are bias and the statistics in favor of that belief are hard to defend.
I think the Big 12 refs suck and the statistics in favor of that belief are also hard to defend.
Posted on 9/29/15 at 5:12 pm to NC_Tigah
quote:
I've superimposed yard marks at Dural's location.
Looks to me like he's on the LOS.
Posted on 9/29/15 at 8:40 pm to GetmorewithLes
I would assume that if Dural is checking, then he got cleared by the official as did Dupre
Posted on 9/29/15 at 10:09 pm to mikecno
has anyone talked about the two or three occasions that an LSU player crawls out of a pile with his helmet ripped off, yet no flags?
Or the time LF7 got punched in the nuts so hard he couldn't stand? This came two plays after they ripped his helmet off.
Or the time LF7 got punched in the nuts so hard he couldn't stand? This came two plays after they ripped his helmet off.
Posted on 9/30/15 at 9:01 pm to White Tiger
Any word from Miles on this ? He has access to the coaching tape which should show what happened more clearly than the ESPN replays
Posted on 9/30/15 at 9:08 pm to mikecno
Would we still be discussing this had it not been for a td that was called back? And if it hadn't gotten LF the yards needed to surpass the record??
Posted on 10/1/15 at 12:21 pm to White Tiger
I was an official for 25 years. Here's our mechanics on this issue:
When a player comes out wide, the official was to mark the line with his foot. If the player asked if he was on or off the line, the official's response was, "My foot is on the line." The official was not to answer "yes" or "no". If the official responded, it may have caused the player to adjust his position. If the ball was snapped, or a man went into motion, while the payer was adjusting, there would be a foul for illegal motion. It is the player's responsibility to clearly be on or off the line.
When a player comes out wide, the official was to mark the line with his foot. If the player asked if he was on or off the line, the official's response was, "My foot is on the line." The official was not to answer "yes" or "no". If the official responded, it may have caused the player to adjust his position. If the ball was snapped, or a man went into motion, while the payer was adjusting, there would be a foul for illegal motion. It is the player's responsibility to clearly be on or off the line.
Popular
Back to top


1







