Started By
Message

re: I Could See it was Clearly an Interception

Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:28 pm to
Posted by LSU Bayou Jim
Houma, LA
Member since Feb 2013
1132 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:28 pm to
The worst part of that whole play/replay was watching a ref fix the divot PP made with his toe (Yes a foot in bounds) and trying to pretend he was doing nothing........
Posted by TigerLunatik
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jan 2005
104230 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:31 pm to
quote:

Regardless of anything else you say, that right there is why the call stands.

IF the receiver touched anything, it was Peterson's hand. Peterson's hands are in between the ball and the receiver's hand. There's no physical why that the receiver could have touched the ball.
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:32 pm to


From two angles, the first frame where it's certain that the ball is touching someone. It isn't certain that the ball isn't touching the receiver's hand, and it isn't certain that he is in-bounds.

LINK From the angle shown at 2:58, you can see clearly that at some point the receiver's hand deflects off the ball. Therefore, the most generous you can be to the LSU cause is for the call on the field--an interception--to stand.
This post was edited on 7/18/19 at 3:33 pm
Posted by flyingtexastiger
Southlake, TX
Member since Oct 2005
1755 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:33 pm to
I regret that I have but one downvote per post to give XIV.

That has to be the most tortuous, belabored excuse for that horrendous call that I've ever heard. And I've heard a lot of them!
Posted by flyingtexastiger
Southlake, TX
Member since Oct 2005
1755 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:37 pm to
So, by your own admission, there is no conclusive video evidence that the ball was touched by a player while out of bounds, while it seems to clearly and conclusively show that PP had possession with two feet inbounds???

Thank you.
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:38 pm to
quote:

There's no physical why that the receiver could have touched the ball.
Obviously that's not correct. The shape of the ball and the way PP caught it--the way you're taught to catch a football at face-level--has the nose of the ball protruding through the "diamond" you make with your hands. Here's a frame of the receiver touching the ball right here. If your argument is that he touched PP's hands, then it's well in position to touch the ball, too, since the nose of the ball is closer to him.

Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:39 pm to
quote:

So, by your own admission, there is no conclusive video evidence that the ball was touched by a player while out of bounds, while it seems to clearly and conclusively show that PP had possession with two feet inbounds???
Not gonna work. The call on the field was an incomplete pass, on account that an out-of-bounds player touched the ball before it was caught. There is no conclusive evidence that this is not the case--therefore, the call stands.

That is what happened, and proper replay protocol was performed.
Posted by LSU Bayou Jim
Houma, LA
Member since Feb 2013
1132 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:40 pm to
Using XIV's logic if a receiver catches a ball but a DB who is out of bounds touches it, there is no catch.........
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:42 pm to
quote:

if a receiver catches a ball but a DB who is out of bounds touches it before possession is attained by the receiver, there is no catch
Posted by Thorny
Montgomery, AL
Member since May 2008
2212 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:43 pm to
quote:

Here's a frame of the receiver touching the ball right here.


This frame is after PP begins moving the ball to his hip. That's a football move while he is inbounds, meaning he has possession and it's an interception.

GEAUX TIGERS
Posted by TigerLunatik
Baton Rouge, LA
Member since Jan 2005
104230 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:44 pm to
quote:

If your argument is that he touched PP's hands, then it's well in position to touch the ball, too, since the nose of the ball is closer to him. 

So, the receiver touched the ball while Peterson had control of the ball with both feet in bounds. That's still an interception.
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:45 pm to
quote:

This frame is after PP begins moving the ball to his hip.
No it isn't, sorry.
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:46 pm to
quote:

So, the receiver touched the ball while Peterson had control of the ball with both feet in bounds. That's still an interception.

I understand that you feel that it's an interception, but your feelings just don't count here. The refs made a call, and there's no conclusive evidence that their call was incorrect, no matter how much you wish for it.
Posted by Thorny
Montgomery, AL
Member since May 2008
2212 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:47 pm to
BTW, it fit into a pattern:

There were a lot of questionable calls in the 2009 season that all went in favor of the higher ranked team: This one, the AJ Green celebration call that set up LSU's game winning touchdown by forcing UGA to kick off from the 20, and a hugely questionable pass interference against Arkansas that prevented them from holding on to a win in The Swamp.

2009 was a terrible year for officials.

GEAUX TIGERS
Posted by JumpingTheShark
America
Member since Nov 2012
24694 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:47 pm to
Robin Williams jumanji what year is it meme
Posted by LSU Bayou Jim
Houma, LA
Member since Feb 2013
1132 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:48 pm to
well I have no idea what your eye glass prescription is but PP clearly possesses that ball in that photo....... again your argument is if someone touches a caught ball and the touching player is out of bounds there is no catch.....
Posted by LSU Bayou Jim
Houma, LA
Member since Feb 2013
1132 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:50 pm to
Oh BTW in your last photo the Bama players down foot appears in and the trailing foot is in the air...........
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:56 pm to
quote:

PP clearly possesses that ball in that photo
Whether or not PP possesses the ball is not in question.
quote:

again your argument is if someone touches a caught ball and the touching player is out of bounds there is no catch.....
No it isn't. The rule is this--Rule 4, Section 2, Article 3
quote:

A ball not in player control, other than a kick that scores a field goal, is out of bounds when it touches the ground, a player, a game official or anything else that is out of bounds, or that is on or outside a boundary line.
LINK

It was ruled that the ball touched an out-of-bounds player before possession was attained by PP, and there is no conclusive evidence to the contrary. Notice Ritter said that the call "stands" and not "is confirmed."
quote:

well I have no idea what your eye glass prescription is but
I, like less than 1% of the world's population, have 20/10 vision, and I have experience working in replay.
Posted by OGtigerfan87
North La
Member since Feb 2019
3861 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 3:59 pm to
At best for your argument they touched it simultaneously but even that looks unlikely
Posted by xiv
Parody. #AdminsRule
Member since Feb 2004
39508 posts
Posted on 7/18/19 at 4:01 pm to
quote:

At best for your argument they touched it simultaneously but even that looks unlikely
Therefore, the call stands.
first pageprev pagePage 3 of 4Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram