Started By
Message

Does the ball have to be COMPLETELY outside of cylinder???

Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:55 pm
Posted by Charlie Arglist
Wichita, Kansas
Member since Nov 2012
5550 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:55 pm

...or just not TOTALLY inside of cylinder?
Posted by Sir Fury
Member since Jan 2015
4557 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:57 pm to
I don’t know. But the defenders hand can definitely not go through the inside of the net and rim.
Posted by eddieray
Lafayette
Member since Mar 2006
18014 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:57 pm to
I don’t know but when the ball is coming OFF of the rim like this one, I never see it called.
Posted by burdman
Louisiana
Member since Aug 2007
20685 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:58 pm to
If any part of it is over the cylinder no one, offense or defense, can touch it.
Posted by MetArl15
Washington, DC
Member since Apr 2007
9466 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:58 pm to
It can before the ball gets there.

They missed the call on LSU. Great win regardless.
Posted by cj35
Member since Jan 2014
6153 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:59 pm to
quote:

Does the ball have to be COMPLETELY outside of cylinder???
yes
Posted by Styxion
St. George, LA
Member since Sep 2012
1596 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:59 pm to
quote:

I don’t know but when the ball is coming OFF of the rim like this one, I never see it called.


And that's why it wasn't called on the floor. At game speed it looks like the ball is already out
Posted by GeauxtigersMs36
The coast
Member since Jan 2018
7644 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:59 pm to
Which you see all the time. That’s what’s so funny. Cal acts like this never happens
Posted by Charlie Arglist
Wichita, Kansas
Member since Nov 2012
5550 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:59 pm to
quote:

I don’t know but when the ball is coming OFF of the rim like this one, I never see it called.


I agree with this, but I can't find the rule that clarifies.

I sort of always thought the ball had to obviously be completely still on the rim or completely inside the cylinder.
Posted by jawnybnsc
Greer, SC
Member since Dec 2016
4924 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 8:59 pm to
Completely out.
Posted by rilesrick
Member since Mar 2015
6704 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:01 pm to
Completely out. We can stop reaching it was a missed call benefiting. Us. We’ve been in he other side. Enjoy this side
Posted by Breaux
Member since Nov 2005
3965 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:03 pm to
No part of the ball can be over the rim. So completely out
Posted by SoloTiger
Member since Aug 2016
9455 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:08 pm to
Whine Cal whine.

Sooo many BS calls went UK’s way tonight.

Horrible over the back no call by U.K. on Reid late.

Gave them chance to tie at FT line.
Posted by tonydatigah
Youngsville, La
Member since Aug 2007
638 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:10 pm to
quote:

Completely out.


Every single game, college or pro, there are tip ins where the ball is not completely out of the cylinder. I’m no rules expert but based on what is always called that is not offensive goal tending. The fact the ESPN guys are harping on it is their obvious pro-Kentucky bias. We just ruined their Saturday matchup with #1 Tennessee.
Posted by Sir Fury
Member since Jan 2015
4557 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:13 pm to
quote:

I don’t know but when the ball is coming OFF of the rim like this one, I never see it called.



How often do you see guys jump and slam that back in and it’s called a great play? Often.
Posted by lsufanz
NOLA
Member since Dec 2008
4726 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:13 pm to
Agreed, a ball on its way out like that rarely if ever results in interference.
Posted by Ford Frenzy
337 posts
Member since Aug 2010
6876 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:14 pm to
I don’t think it has to be completely off after coming off the backboard
Posted by tigerpimpbot
Chairman of the Pool Board
Member since Nov 2011
66857 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:14 pm to
You can touch it in the cylinder in international rules, but not in NCAA or NBA. It was so obvious when it happened I couldn't believe they didn't overturn it. Then I heard from the studio guys that it's not reviewable. Which made J WIlliams And made me to the "blue bloods"
This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 9:15 pm
Posted by nola000
Lacombe, LA
Member since Dec 2014
13139 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:32 pm to
It was basket interference by LSU because it wasn't outside of the cylinder. The entire ball has to be outside of the cylinder the way the rule is worded.

But more importantly, before that even occurred, TWO Kentucky players touched the basket, the net and the backboard and caused the entire goal to vibrate while the ball was in the imaginary cylinder extending up above the basket and also right as the ball kissed off the backboard. That was goaltending and should have been two points anyway.

Everyone keeps focusing on the tipin but you can forget that because it was goaltending on Kentucky before the tipin even occurred. ESPN needs to backup to tape and look at that first. But they won't because it doesn't fit their agenda and because thier only job is to know sports rules and they don't know them.
This post was edited on 2/12/19 at 9:36 pm
Posted by noonan
Nassau Bay, TX
Member since Aug 2005
36895 posts
Posted on 2/12/19 at 9:37 pm to
quote:


I don’t know but when the ball is coming OFF of the rim like this one, I never see it called


That's what I just said in the other thread. It may have been interference, but I never see it called. They seem to always count it.
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 5Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram