- My Forums
- Tiger Rant
- LSU Recruiting
- SEC Rant
- Saints Talk
- Pelicans Talk
- More Sports Board
- Coaching Changes
- Fantasy Sports
- Golf Board
- Soccer Board
- O-T Lounge
- Tech Board
- Home/Garden Board
- Outdoor Board
- Health/Fitness Board
- Movie/TV Board
- Book Board
- Music Board
- Political Talk
- Money Talk
- Fark Board
- Gaming Board
- Travel Board
- Food/Drink Board
- Ticket Exchange
- TD Help Board
Customize My Forums- View All Forums
- Show Left Links
- Topic Sort Options
- Trending Topics
- Recent Topics
- Active Topics
Started By
Message

MSB: Settle a CFB Rules Debate (NSFW Pic for your Troubles)
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:19 am
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:19 am
So a friend of mine and I were watching the Clemson - Louisville game last night, and at one point there appeared to be an intentional grounding. I made a comment about intentional grounding, and my buddy says "nah it's not intentional grounding". I then said "yea but he was in the pocket" to which my buddy says "doesn't matter if it goes past the line of scrimmage". I look at him like WTF?!?!
We then get in this huge argument. I know 100% fact the rule states that if the QB is outside the pocket all he has to do is throw the ball past the LOS for it not to be intentional grounding, but he won't relent.
There is money on this debate so if we could have the MSB settle this that would be great. TIA!

We then get in this huge argument. I know 100% fact the rule states that if the QB is outside the pocket all he has to do is throw the ball past the LOS for it not to be intentional grounding, but he won't relent.
There is money on this debate so if we could have the MSB settle this that would be great. TIA!

Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:21 am to Question107
You're right. He's an idiot.
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:23 am to Question107
Outside the pocket + ball past the LOS = no grouding
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:25 am to Question107
You can look this up for proof, but your buddy is an idiot. You have to be outside the pocket. If you're in the pocket and it goes near a receiver's area, you're fine, but it can't just go across the line of scrimmage. Congrats on the $
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:26 am to Question107
You should've just googled the actual rule and rubbed his nose in it (literally).
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:37 am to Question107
Is your friend going to be more convinced by a bunch of random people on a sports forum or reading the actual rule? Why don't you just pull up the actual rule and show it to him?
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:39 am to Question107
If the QB is in the pocket the line of scrimmage doesn't mean shite, there has to be a receiver within 10 yards. If the QB is outside of the pocket the ball just has to go beyond the line of scrimmage.
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:40 am to WylieTiger
quote:I definitely want to make a completion inside of it.
She has a nice pocket.
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:40 am to Question107
you created an account just to ask a question that you could've googled?
:smh:
:smh:
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:42 am to elposter
quote:
Is your friend going to be more convinced by a bunch of random people on a sports forum or reading the actual rule? Why don't you just pull up the actual rule and show it to him?
I tried, but he was pulling up all sorts of random blog websites with who knows what explanations. We figured majority would be able to solve the debate.
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:53 am to Question107
...I would go for the deep long completion in that pocket .. 
Posted on 9/18/15 at 9:55 am to Question107
quote:
and at one point there appeared to be an intentional grounding. I made a comment about intentional grounding, and my buddy says "nah it's not intentional grounding". I then said "yea but he was in the pocket" to which my buddy says "doesn't matter if it goes past the line of scrimmage".
You are correct on the rule, but if you are talking about the play at the end with the bad snap, there was a Louisville receiver standing near the sideline and the ball went right over his head. So in that case, even if the qb was in the pocket, he had an eligible receiver in the area of the throw.
Posted on 9/18/15 at 10:14 am to Question107
You're right, but you're an idiot for not going straight to the CFB rules book/website. Much easier and more likely to be right than a message board
Popular
Back to top
12










