Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10
Started By
Message
locked post

Here is the NCAA Catch Rule...interpret it as you will...

Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:29 am
Posted by Chicken
Jackassistan
Member since Aug 2003
26243 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:29 am
quote:

To catch a ball means that a player:

- Secures control of a live ball in flight before the ball touches the ground, and

- Touches the ground in bounds with any part of his body, and then

- Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable him to perform an act common to the game, i.e., long enough to pitch or hand the ball, advance it, avoid or ward off an opponent, etc., and

- Satisfies paragraphs b, c, and d below.

b. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone. This is also required for a player attempting to make a catch at the sideline and going to the ground out of bounds. If he loses control of the ball which then touches the ground before he regains control, it is not a catch. If he regains control inbounds prior to the ball touching the ground it is a catch.

c. If the player loses control of the ball while simultaneously touching the ground with any part of his body, or if there is doubt that the acts were simultaneous, it is not a catch. If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.

d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control and continues to maintain control, and the elements above are satisfied, it is a catch.

...

When in question, the catch...is not completed.
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 11:31 am
Posted by RonFNSwanson
1739 mi from the University of LSU
Member since Mar 2012
24087 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:33 am to
quote:

Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable him to perform an act common to the game


Like take steps dive for the end zone

quote:

If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent) he must maintain complete and continuous control of the ball throughout the process of contacting the ground, whether in the field of play or in the end zone.


The catch was already completed at that point
Posted by SuperFlyTiger
Member since Jun 2011
306 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:33 am to
A drunk coonass on the Scoreboard Rant said it best Saturday night...

"A player must maintain possession all the way to the team bus to erase all doubt.'

We can put men on the moon, but can't clearly explain what is and what isn't a catch. SMH
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 11:37 am
Posted by Pizza Dan
Member since Apr 2023
635 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:33 am to
Touchdown.
Posted by liquid rabbit
Boxtard BPB®© emeritus
Member since Mar 2006
64440 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:33 am to
He wasn't in the act. He had completed the catch and scored by crossing the goal/touching the pylon. Then fell down.
Posted by Rouge
Floston Paradise
Member since Oct 2004
138107 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:33 am to
quote:

Secures control of a live ball in flight before the ball touches the ground, and

- Touches the ground in bounds with any part of his body, and then

- Maintains control of the ball long enough to enable him to perform an act common to the game,


Act common to the game is crossing the goal line.

Once the goal line is crossed, the play is over.
Posted by supersaints9
Colleyville,Tx
Member since Dec 2009
18035 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:34 am to
quote:

d. If the ball touches the ground after the player secures control and continues to maintain control, and the elements above are satisfied, it is a catch.


I’m not sure how anyone that watched that saw anything different than this. He possessed the ball took two steps before hitting the pylon and falling to the ground. It was a horrible call.
Posted by Purplehaze
spring, tx
Member since Dec 2003
2280 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:35 am to
Plain and simple, it is a judgement call.


Fortunately, LSU won the game.
Posted by Mouth
Member since Jan 2008
22750 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:35 am to
I feel that interpretation has a total different meaning when a player posses the ball and crosses the goal line or hits the pylon.
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 11:36 am
Posted by Gene Heinous
the Pleasure Dome
Member since Sep 2021
658 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:36 am to
He took 3 steps after catching the ball.....right foot, left foot, right knee.....before the hand with the ball in it hit the ground and might have been bobbled.

The 3 steps satisfies the possession requirement and obviates the need for him not to bobble the ball on the ground.

This is a Touchdown in any world not controlled by the cocksucking Birmingham SEC.
Posted by chaso
clinton ms.
Member since Aug 2006
3154 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:38 am to
Let's put this to rest once and for all...LSU-24 clemson-10
Posted by BeepBopBoop
Northshore
Member since Dec 2023
1097 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:41 am to
Imagine, there’s players that cross the goal line and immediately drop the ball and celebrate but that’s not a fumble because he crossed the plane with possession.

Brown catches the ball, crosses the goal line with possession, falls, tumbles out of bounds, the ball moved, he regains full possession and they call no catch.

This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 11:44 am
Posted by Rjlebla
Houma
Member since Jan 2014
19568 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:43 am to
By this definition, Sharp’s fumble should have been an incomplete pass and not a fumble. If his fumble was a catch then Brown’s incompletion was a touchdown.
Posted by texastigerr
Texas
Member since Jan 2005
9080 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:47 am to
So under this rule no matter how you apply it this case it was a catch
Posted by BeepBopBoop
Northshore
Member since Dec 2023
1097 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 11:48 am to
I agree. Sharp’s fumble was closer to an incomplete pass than a fumble
Posted by minister of truth
Somewhere new for 6-12 months
Member since May 2022
1870 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 12:07 pm to
it's a ridiculous rule/interpretation

if a player has possession of the ball prior to and during the act of crossing the goal line (which no one disputes was the case), it should be a TD and everything afterwards regarding possession should be irrelevant. whether the ground causes the player to lose possession after the goal line, whether inbounds or out-of-bounds, should not be relevant.

an analogy would be field goals - once the ball goes over the crossbar, it's a field goal whether the ball hooks or slices out of the plane of the uprights beyond the crossbar
Posted by honeybadger07
The Woodlands
Member since Jul 2015
3663 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 12:10 pm to
quote:

If a player has control of the ball, a slight movement of the ball, even if it touches the ground, will not be considered loss of possession; he must lose control of the ball in order for there to be a loss of possession.




frick them
Posted by minister of truth
Somewhere new for 6-12 months
Member since May 2022
1870 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 12:11 pm to
the rule is too subjective.

a particular play during 1 of the OTs in the 7 OT Texas A & M game several years ago was ruled an incomplete pass after the A&M player made a "football move" in which LSU recovered what should have been a fumble to end the game
This post was edited on 9/1/25 at 12:13 pm
Posted by MikeTheTiger71
Member since Dec 2021
4078 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 12:15 pm to
This is someone else’s editing of the rulebook. I’d like to see the actual ruie in full. The AND between the first set of conditions and the additional conditions related to going to ground seems contradictory on its face. How can you complete a move common to football but still be considered in “the act of catching” the football? I don’t believe those two sets of conditions have to be satisfied in conjunction. I think an OR seems more correct. That’s why I want to see the original wording.
Posted by Vanilla Thunder
Member since Apr 2022
1155 posts
Posted on 9/1/25 at 12:18 pm to
Once the pylon was touched, it was dead. It’s a TD.
Jump to page
Page 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 1 of 10Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram