Matthew Emmons-USA TODAY Sports
LSU's Joe Burrow was named one of 14 nominees for the 2019-20 Male Roy F. Kramer Athlete of the Year Award on Monday.

Track and Field star Tonea Marshall was named the female nominee from LSU for the award. Per SEC Sports:

Each institution nominates one male and one female student-athlete for the award.

The SEC Athletes of the Year Awards were first presented in 1976 for men and 1984 for women. The award was renamed the Roy F. Kramer Athletes of the Year in 2004 to honor the former Commissioner who served the conference from 1990-2002.

2019-20 Female Roy F. Kramer Athlete of the Year Award Nominees:

Bailey Hemphill, Softball, Alabama
Katie Izzo, Cross Country, Arkansas
Alison Maillard, Swimming & Diving, Auburn
Trinity Thomas, Gymnastics, Florida
Sabrina Vega, Gymnastics, Georgia
Leah Edmond, Volleyball, Kentucky
Tonea Marshall, Track & Field, LSU
Julia Johnson, Golf, Ole Miss
Rickea Jackson, Basketball, Mississippi State
Kylie Deberg, Volleyball, Missouri
Tyasha Harris, Basketball, South Carolina
Erika Brown, Swimming & Diving, Tennessee
Ally Watt, Soccer, Texas A&M
Maria Bulanova, Bowling, Vanderbilt

2019-20 Male Roy F. Kramer Athlete of the Year Award Nominees:

Zane Waddell, Swimming & Diving, Alabama
Mason Jones, Basketball, Arkansas
Derrick Brown, Football, Auburn
Kieran Smith, Swimming & Diving, Florida
Rodrigo Blankenship, Football, Georgia
Immanuel Quickley, Basketball, Kentucky
Joe Burrow, Football, LSU
Waleed Suliman, Cross Country, Ole Miss
Reggie Perry, Basketball, Mississippi State
Danny Kovac, Swimming & Diving, Missouri
Itay Goldfaden, Swimming & Diving, South Carolina
Carey McLeod, Track & Field, Tennessee
Shaine Casas, Swimming & Diving, Texas A&M
John Augenstein, Golf, Vanderbilt

The Male and Female Athletes of the Year will be announced on Wednesday, June 17.
Filed Under: LSU Football


Nothing for transgendered athletes? Give it time
Reply18 months
Burrow in a landslide. In typical Ole Miss fashion they nominate a male Cross Country runner who’s season was cancelled. Hoddy What?
Reply18 months
Rodrigo?? wth?? He missed critical FG in Sec Championship game, uga might as well have nominated their head male cheerleader, rodrigo has Has zero chance. LMAO
Reply18 months
lol @ auburn and Georgia trying to put up a football player for this award against Joe fricking Burrow
Reply18 months
If he wins, the SEC is racist.
Reply18 months
Time to take a break guy
18 months
Shut it down. Joe’s name all over that
Reply18 months
They dare not award it to a biological male in the current cultural climate. /s
Reply18 months
hold on just one sister humpin' minute...Zane Waddell had one hell of a year rahwl dam tahd
Reply18 months
Will also win the ESPY
Reply18 months
We love you, Joe!!!
Reply18 months
Congratulations to Joe Burrow for winning the SEC Male athlete of the year.
Reply18 months
How could he not be? Had possibly the GOAT FB season and every other sport was cancelled.
Reply18 months
Popular Stories

LSU QB Max Johnson Is Entering The NCAA Transfer Portal

Johnson started in every game this season.
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.