Started By
Message

re: Refs tried to screw us at the end

Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:51 pm to
Posted by Joshjrn
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2008
31522 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 5:51 pm to
quote:

I couldn’t hear the referees call on the field because I was at a bar. I thought the penalty was called because the center snapped the ball before the referee signaled for the ball to be in play. Looking at the box score, the penalty was for intentional grounding .. ??? No telling what the refs called as I’ve never seen that call before.


They called intentional grounding, stating (essentially) that because the clock was not running, the spike was not to stop the clock, and it was therefore grounding as an in pocket throw not to an eligible receiver.

Now, because he spiked it immediately with no delay and not under pressure, I think it was a bad call, but that was their stated reasoning.
Posted by OvertheDwayneBowe
Member since Sep 2016
3458 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:25 pm to
quote:

They called intentional grounding, stating (essentially) that because the clock was not running, the spike was not to stop the clock, and it was therefore grounding as an in pocket throw not to an eligible receiver.

Now, because he spiked it immediately with no delay and not under pressure, I think it was a bad call, but that was their stated reasoning.


The intentional grounding rules don't explicitly say the spike is only protected on a running clock, but then the example fouls in the rulebook do.

LINK

quote:

0 INTENTIONAL GROUNDING—SPIKE TO CONSUME TIME
First-and-10 on B30. The game clock is stopped with six seconds left in the first half. QBA1 takes the snap and
immediately spikes the ball into the ground to take one second off the clock so that a field-goal attempt will run out
the clock.
Ruling: Half over. Intentional grounding and a 10-second runoff. A QB can only spike the ball to stop a running game
clock. An attempt to take time off the clock is intentional grounding.
Posted by Townedrunkard
Member since Jan 2019
13762 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:25 pm to
quote:

And the bull shite holding call on Lattimore. Was pretty weak, especially at that point in the game.


Yea this was complete garbage. No where near where the bell was thrown. Not to mention their db’s were doing it all game long
Posted by gerkin
Member since Sep 2011
1238 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:27 pm to
Id have to re-watch but i think they missed consecutive false starts by atl left tackle on last few plays of game
Posted by gaetti15
AK
Member since Apr 2013
14693 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:32 pm to
quote:

have to re-watch but i think they missed consecutive false starts by atl left tackle on last few plays of game


sheet I thought I was going crazy. like he was a full half second or more before the snap
Posted by CP3forMVP
Member since Nov 2010
15775 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:43 pm to
The refs were terrible the entire game. Gifting ATL three points before half without reviewing that obvious fumble was unacceptable.
Posted by Joshjrn
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2008
31522 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:56 pm to
quote:

The intentional grounding rules don't explicitly say the spike is only protected on a running clock, but then the example fouls in the rulebook do.


Interesting, though the lawyer in me would argue that it’s about intent, and because the intent was to stop the clock, not gain any other advantage, it should not have been called. If they want it to be limited to a running clock, period, they should write it into the rule, in my opinion.
Posted by Joshjrn
Baton Rouge
Member since Dec 2008
31522 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:57 pm to
quote:

sheet I thought I was going crazy. like he was a full half second or more before the snap


I was literally saying “he jumped again” out loud by the end
Posted by porter8
Baton Rouge
Member since Jan 2008
392 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 6:58 pm to
Essentially it all evened out. Landry would have been spotted further back & the clock would have kept running.

Instead he was spotted further up & the clock was stopped, then a 10 yd penalty was tacked on.

This actually may have worked out better for the saints.
Posted by St Stooge
Member since Feb 2017
424 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 8:02 pm to
quote:

Landry was down in bounds

If Landry was down in bounds and they erroneously ruled him out, wouldn’t that be a favorable call for the Saints?
Posted by LSUgrad88
Member since Jun 2009
8309 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 8:45 pm to
[quote]Essentially it all evened out. Landry would have been spotted further back & the clock would have kept running[/quot

I have no idea what you are talking about here. They spotted Landry down at the 40 and didn’t give him the extra yardage he got when he got up and ran with the ball. They just blew it and said he was out of bounds when he was nowhere near the side line when he landed.
Posted by Bedtiger
Thibodaux
Member since Dec 2018
520 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 9:37 pm to
Can’t understand why that was not reviewed! All you can say is that was a home field call or no call. It was a turn over and booth let it slide. I thought all turn overs are reviewed?
Posted by LEASTBAY
Member since Aug 2007
16316 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 9:54 pm to
The announcers said something about it being reviewed. Not sure if it actually was or wasnt.
Posted by trex1250
Roswell
Member since Jun 2007
1151 posts
Posted on 9/11/22 at 9:56 pm to
YES!!!! I was screaming this….
Posted by goatmilker
Castle Anthrax
Member since Feb 2009
73982 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:19 am to
quote:

Id have to re-watch but i think they missed consecutive false starts by atl left tackle on last few plays of game


You don't I yelled that twice from my couch as well
Posted by lsutigers1992
Member since Mar 2006
25317 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:23 am to
They gave us a huge break when they gave MT the first down on the play after the botched screen to Kamara. He was at least half a yard short.
Posted by Rohan Gravy
New Orleans
Member since Jan 2017
20560 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:32 am to
The last personal foul called on Lattimore that gave falcons a chance to win the game.

Replay shows WR hit Lattimore twice before he retaliated.

And the WR also flopped.

This post was edited on 9/12/22 at 10:34 am
Posted by Stirling
Kenner
Member since Nov 2016
307 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:40 am to
I thought the penalty for intentional grounding is where you threw the ball from.
Posted by lsutigers1992
Member since Mar 2006
25317 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:45 am to
Didn't they say the grounding was because nobody was set--which made no sense either?

I was legit shocked that they didn't try to do a 10 second runoff or something.
Posted by Stirling
Kenner
Member since Nov 2016
307 posts
Posted on 9/12/22 at 10:46 am to
I think the falcons had 4 timeouts in the first half.
first pageprev pagePage 2 of 2Next pagelast page
refresh

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram