Started By
Message

re: The phantom/ticky-tack PI calls are ruining the NFL. Refs have way too much power

Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:14 am to
Posted by wildtigercat93
Member since Jul 2011
115555 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:14 am to
Never called it dirty. Certainly against the rules. Gets called 100/100 times.
Posted by Pelican fan99
Lafayette, Louisiana
Member since Jun 2013
38841 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:14 am to
It's far beyond time to end the garbage spot PI penalty. It's so outrageous
Posted by JBeam
Guns,Germs & Steel
Member since Jan 2011
68377 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:14 am to
quote:

Good lord, Gronk hadn't even fully landed. Still had a foot in the air and half turned his head and Church's dome was in his facemask.

I get that you're salty about the Pats winning but this is crazy that you're defending that type of hit. This was nothing like a RB intentionally lowering his head going into a defender and you know it. Come on.
You need to rewatch the actual play IF you actually believe all of this.
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88578 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:15 am to
quote:

It was.


I mean, it's not.
quote:

Good lord, Gronk hadn't even fully landed. Still had a foot in the air and half turned his head and Church's dome was in his facemask.



Church did everything in his power to make a clean hit. Watch the damn slowmo and tell me that was "textbook helmet to helmet."

quote:


I get that you're salty about the Pats winning
Why would I be? I think I'm one of like 5 people in LA that loves watching the Pats win all the time (outside of games against the Saints of course).

quote:

This was nothing like a RB intentionally lowering his head going into a defender and you know it. Come on.


It also was nothing like a dirty helmet to helmet hit like you're claiming.
Posted by TbirdSpur2010
ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
134141 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:15 am to
quote:

So you want him to take out his knees?


Damn you keep on trying to put words in my mouth.

No, I do not say he should just let him catch the ball.

No, I do not say he should target the knees.

Just don't hit the helmet with your helmet in the manner Church did. Didn't say it would be an easy tackle. The mismatch is why Gronk is a threat. But just because there's a mismatch doesn't mean what Church did should be allowed. Absurd.
Posted by TH03
Mogadishu
Member since Dec 2008
171949 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:16 am to
Posted by TH03
Mogadishu
Member since Dec 2008
171949 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:17 am to
quote:

Just don't hit the helmet with your helmet in the manner Church did.


Hit with his shoulder and helmet to helmet contact was inadvertant. Again, helmet to helmet isn't a penalty unless it's forcible contact which this play was not.
Posted by wildtigercat93
Member since Jul 2011
115555 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:18 am to
Helmet to helmet on a defenseless WR. Easy call idk what you're arguing
Posted by wildtigercat93
Member since Jul 2011
115555 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:18 am to
quote:

helmet to helmet isn't a penalty unless it's forcible contact


He got a concussion from that helmet to helmet hit. It must've been a little forcible
Posted by TbirdSpur2010
ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
134141 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:19 am to
quote:

I mean, it's not.


It really is.

quote:

Church did everything in his power to make a clean hit. 


And failed.

quote:

Watch the damn slowmo and tell me that was "textbook helmet to helmet." 


YOU watch the damn slowmo and tell me how the hell Gronk initiated anything when he couldn't even land/get his head around

quote:

Why would I be? I think I'm one of like 5 people in LA that loves watching the Pats win all the time (outside of games against the Saints of course). 


I retract my assertion, then. Dealing with a ton of Pats haters today and I assumed your stance was based on the same. I apologize.

quote:

It also was nothing like a dirty helmet to helmet hit like you're claiming.


I'm willing to modify "dirty" to "imprudent," in the spirit of compromise
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88578 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:21 am to
quote:

It really is.


It's not. I'll literally do this all day if you need me to.

quote:

And failed.



I disagree.

quote:

YOU watch the damn slowmo and tell me how the hell Gronk initiated anything when he couldn't even land/get his head around


At least you aren't trying to tell me you see a textbook example now. We're making progress.

Posted by TbirdSpur2010
ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
134141 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:21 am to
quote:

Hit with his shoulder and helmet to helmet contact was inadvertant.


Dude, he couldn't have hit him more squarely in the head if he'd tried

There are plenty if examples of ticky tack helmet to helmet contact that should go uncalled. The hit on gronk was not one of them.
Posted by TH03
Mogadishu
Member since Dec 2008
171949 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:22 am to
quote:

Helmet to helmet on a defenseless WR. Easy call idk what you're arguing


quote:

Prohibited contact against a player who is in a defenseless posture is:

forcibly hitting the defenseless player’s head or neck area with the helmet, facemask, forearm, or shoulder, even if the initial contact is lower than the player’s neck, and regardless of whether the defensive player also uses his arms to tackle the defenseless player by encircling or grasping him


lowering the head and making forcible contact with the crown or ”hairline” parts of the helmet against any part of the defenseless player’s body


illegally launching into a defenseless opponent. It is an illegal launch if a player (i) leaves both feet prior to contact to spring forward and upward into his opponent, and (ii) uses any part of his helmet to initiate forcible contact against any part of his opponent’s body. (This does not apply to contact against a runner, unless the runner is still considered to be a defenseless player, as defined in Article 7.)


He didn't forcibly contact the head or neck area. It was inadvertant.
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88578 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:22 am to
quote:

Dude, he couldn't have hit him more squarely in the head if he'd tried



Wut? We must be watching different plays.
Posted by wildtigercat93
Member since Jul 2011
115555 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:23 am to
quote:

He didn't forcibly contact the head or neck area.


Forcible enough to get a concussion that play gets called every time. It's how the rules are and have been for a couple years now.
Posted by LNCHBOX
70448
Member since Jun 2009
88578 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:23 am to
quote:

that play gets called every time


For the Pats.
Posted by TH03
Mogadishu
Member since Dec 2008
171949 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:24 am to
quote:

He got a concussion from that helmet to helmet hit. It must've been a little forcible


This logic doesn't check out. You can get concussions without hitting your head, like whiplash.
Posted by slackster
Houston
Member since Mar 2009
91277 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:24 am to
quote:

You call that PI at the end of the half and put NE on the goddamn 4, and you've established that you will look for and call PI aggressively.


That was a weak call, but Bouye has to know better. You can hand fight with your inside hand, but you can't take your off hand and bring it across the guy's chest as he's trying to work back against the ball. I didn't think the pass was catchable anyway, but Bouye did himself no favors.
Posted by TbirdSpur2010
ALAMO CITY
Member since Dec 2010
134141 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:25 am to
quote:

It's not. I'll literally do this all day if you need me to.


It is.


Your turn

quote:

I disagree. 


Your prerogative. Doesn't change his failure.

quote:

At least you aren't trying to tell me you see a textbook example now. 


Textbook helmet to helmet contact?

Yeah that point still stands. Sorry

There is not one football field in this universe in which what Church did isn't a penalty. It was blatant whether he meant it to be or not (for the record, I don't think he's a dirty player).
Posted by wildtigercat93
Member since Jul 2011
115555 posts
Posted on 1/22/18 at 11:25 am to
quote:

This logic doesn't check out. You can get concussions without hitting your head, like whiplash.


But his head was hit. Very hard by the defender which is illegal

Both guys heads snapped back on the hit
first pageprev pagePage 4 of 7Next pagelast page

Back to top
logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on X, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookXInstagram