Posted by
Message
Jeaux Cool
LSU Fan
Frisco via Mecca
Member since Sep 2015
1251 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Does anyone know when they send Beta Gamma Sigma invites out? How much of the program needs to be completed before they do, and what's the estimated GPA requirement?
Most of, if not all of this information was listed in Moodle when I was in the program.


ElChamp
Member since Sep 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

quote:
Does anyone know when they send Beta Gamma Sigma invites out? How much of the program needs to be completed before they do, and what's the estimated GPA requirement?
Most of, if not all of this information was listed in Moodle when I was in the program.


Thank you!


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
Khakiincolor
Member since May 2018
7 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Did you see in MADM 715 where she said she added bonus points for completion? I’m wondering how much is the bonus.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
not getting all the ProctorU complaints. It worked fine for me... all the proctors I had were pretty chill , only once did they someone ask to look under my desk. Most annoying thing a ProctorU asked was just to unplug my printer which was not even in arms reach. And the closest thing to the hiccup I had was when my Proctor started talking to me giving the intro canned speech in the middle of the test thinking I was a new test taker but that was quickly settled in 30 seconds.


audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Gibbs was officially very easy A. Didnt have to take final. By the 5th week I determined I had a high enough grade to just coast on the remaining quizzes by not reading the chapters... I just reviewed the question assignments, the chapter summary, and a very quick run through of some of the definitions in the chapter appendix... still averaged like 8/10 on those last quizzes.
One complaint is while the weekly excel tutorials and projects were easy 100% assignments, I found it a big waste for MBA level learning where Im hoping to gain some deeper knowledge


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
32
Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
ProctorU got better for me as the semester went on. LSUS did a piss poor job of preparing students what to expect (clean desk, remote takeover, etc.) and once we all adjusted it seemed to get a lot better. Like Kiki mentioned, I try to avoid Sundays nights because it feels like PU is overwhelmed and relying on temporary assistance to get through the crush of students. Aside from my 1st interaction, the strangest thing I had happen was a Proctor forget to mute his microphone and listened to him breathe through an entire test.


kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Bahaha Rybo *immediately imagines Darth Vader while reading your post*


td1
Member since Oct 2015
501 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone other than Wren ever teach MADM715?

Also who is best for FIN 701 - Vines, Kendall, Choi.
I see Kim but can not find anything on him/her.


11kdd
So Cal
Member since Oct 2019
3 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Nichole Phillips also teaches MADM715, but she relies heavily on material from Wren. It's a lot of reading and the quizzes are nit picky about specific details that can be hard to remember from 200 pages of reading material. I did not particularly enjoy her style, although I managed to pull out an A. I don't know how Wren differs from Phillips.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
11
kikicub
Chicago Cubs Fan
Member since Apr 2019
56 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Also who is best for FIN 701 - Vines, Kendall, Choi. I see Kim but can not find anything on him/her.


I signed up for Vines but wasn’t a fan of his seemingly subjective grading and self-written textbook so I dropped and switched to Choi. I was very happy with Choi’s course.

I think it depends on your learning style. If you’re a Zoom-session fan or need video content, Choi is not your guy (Vines provides these). If you’re a terrible test taker, Choi is your guy. You can do very poorly on his exams but still do very well in his class thanks to some written (500 word) assignments.


Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Following up with my FIN 701 Kendall review -- class was entirely PowerPoint presentations, review questions and answers, a weekly 15 item proctored quiz of concepts and equations (you can use 1/2 sheet paper for formulas) and a 15% of your grade 30 question (VERY easy) final. 5 total discussion posts or 250 word papers, graded VERY liberally -- didn't miss a point on these and ultimately got me the A.

I didn't care for the "teach-yourself" method in this class, although the practice questions lined up perfectly with tests making the class at least palatable, yet still painful. I'd look for better options, but know that Kendall is an OK option.
This post was edited on 10/24 at 10:25 am


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
32 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Above post sounds very similar to Choi


tank123
Member since Apr 2019
18 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anyone have any input on how many hours per week ISDS 705 is with Gibbs?


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
32 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’m kind of embarrassed to say, because the forum seems to think it is an easy class. If you do the readings, 9 If not, 6. You will probably need to do the readings for at least the first half of the class.

I have found all the classes in the program so far to be easy (that will probably change), just some are more time consuming than others. Gibbs is pretty time consuming.
This post was edited on 10/24 at 8:23 pm


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
41
Salvyyogi
Member since Oct 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
How many hours a week would you say you put in for this class? I start on Monday and have it doubled up - and I work FT - I’m a bit nervous


addy
Member since Oct 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi... I just enrolled in MBA program and taking 3 classes acct 701, MKT 701 and MADM 701. |Can you send me the syllabus for ACCT 701? I have Fabio as well. Thanks. adison@shawcable.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
13
Rybo44
Colorado State Fan
Member since Apr 2019
34 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
SImilar situation here. I work fulltime and take two classes at a time. Estimate that the review of the course material was about 4 hours, the sample problems are another 2-4, and at least for the 1st few modules, spend another 30m-1h getting to know the calculator. If you cannot work all the problems in the sample without leaning on the answer guide, you're gonna have a bad time on the weekly quiz.

TL:DR 8 - 10 hours per week for an A.
This post was edited on 10/28 at 12:54 pm


AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
29 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anyone have the syllabus for FIN 740 with Sung Kim?

I'm trying to see what the class entails. More specifically, I'm debating if I should drop ISDS 710 for 2019 Fall AP2 and take FIN 740 next year. I'm in the process of helping my fiance plan for our wedding in Spring 2020, and with that plus all the holidays and events coming up, I feel like I should postpone it. It'll be my last course to complete my MBA in Data Analytics.


AN0NYMOUS
Member since Jun 2017
29 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
In addition to my prior request, does anyone have the syllabus for BADM 790 (DV)? I know it’s the first time offered in 2019 Fall AP2 but worth a shot asking.

Thanks.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
23
hollywd
Member since Nov 2018
10 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Do you have the excel formulas you used in the class? How was the Proctor U experience.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
03
Jump to page
Page First 425 426 427 428 429 ... 433
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 427 of 433next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram