Posted by
Message
GramFam99
Member since Nov 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
How was ISDS 705 with Gibbs? The thought of 10 question quizzes on an entire chapter give me anxiety. LOL


husigma
Member since Apr 2019
8 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Does anybody have the syllabus for MADM 701 McLaughlin. Please email it to me at kurt_bembridge at yahoo dot com. kurt_bembridge@yahoo.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Any advice on Lin's ISDS exams? I've read that they are trivia-like. Are they based on the text only or also on the videos and articles he mixes in for us to study?


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
audioaxes1
Member since Jul 2019
24 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
dont sweat Gibbs quizzes too much. The easy 100% assignments and projects and 'extra credit' final give plenty of buffer to get an easy A. And simply studying the answers to the weekly chapter review questions should give you a 5/10 baseline on the quizzes right off the bat so any other studying you do should have you passing with flying colors.


GramFam99
Member since Nov 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Thank you!


preppygraduate
Member since Nov 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Ya'll, I can't figure out how to do a new post on here!

I was wanting some advice on the following for Spring:

MADM 710 - I have read mixed reviews about Kungu and Phillips, anyone take either recently?



tasz101
Member since Oct 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hey guys it a challenge trying to make a post here.

I am going to be starting this MBA program this spring.

FIN 701 and ECON 705 - gonna be doing these courses first, if anyone here could provide me with the syllabus and reading material for these courses I would really appreciate it my email address is micotasz@gmail.com.


ah_m
Member since Nov 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I just took FIN740 with Sung Kim. I can send you the syllabus! I went into the class with minimal coding and one statistics class under my belt and passed it with an easy A.

No tests!!!! He gives 7 assignments and a project (due around midterm). I liked that you pretty much know if you got the assignment right by plugging your code into the program and running it- if it worked, yay!, if not, you know you need to fix it.

I think I spent about 5 hours a week max on this class.


Quintus
Member since Jun 2019
31 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anyone have any comments on Si Chen for MKT701?


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

I just took FIN740 with Sung Kim. I can send you the syllabus!


Could I get a copy? I need to take either FIN 710 or FIN 740 to finsish my finance concentration. I just assumed 740 would be a monster. I've done well in all my finance courses so far but am a bit reliant on Excel... Would you recommend 740 over 710 with Hsiesh? gibsonpaulguy@yahoo.com Thanks!


ah_m
Member since Nov 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Would you recommend 740 over 710 with Hsiesh?

Sent!

I haven't taken 710 yet. I was actually looking to schedule it next, ha.
740 is basically an intro on how to use R and RStudio to run analyses. I found the grading lenient: didn't make less than a B on anything.


Ngliparito1
Member since Nov 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Hi everyone!
I only have four classes left and wanted to get some input from everyone. The only classes I need are ISDS and three electives. I would like to take all four classes next semester but do not want to overdue it. Does anyone have suggestions about what electives to pair together? I normally take two classes a semester but I am ready to complete this program.

Any help is appreciated!
Also - I could not figure out how to create a new post. Very sorry for replying to this question.


tasz101
Member since Oct 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I would love to have a look at the syllabus for FIN740. I have a working knowledge of using R. You can send it to micotasz@gmail.com. Thanks


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
tasz101
Member since Oct 2019
5 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
could you send them to me as well, I would really appreciate it micotasz@gmail.com


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
Ivory
Member since Jun 2019
13 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
I’m not sure that Kungu is still teaching at LSUS. If he is, his class was decent. LOTS of writing and the academic coaches were tough graders (follow rubric very carefully), but overall the material was interesting and Kungu seemed like a nice guy (via email). He posted assignments to Moodle and graded them - not much interaction other than that. No test that I remember.

**This was for 701, not sure of the layout for 710.
This post was edited on 11/5 at 11:39 am


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
sens691
California Fan
Member since Oct 2019
1 post

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Here is the review for FIN 701 with Dr. Kim.

LINK


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
01
longhornedtiger
Member since Jul 2019
17 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Anyone have any info on Shaughnessy versus Fawaz for ECON 705? I am currently set to take Shaughnessy but the more I read about him, the more I think I want to drop it. Everyone seems to say he's a great professor but it seems like an extreme amount of work. From what I can tell, Fawaz seems to be half the amount of work as Shaughnessy and has great reviews as well.

I want to learn as much as I can, but I also don't feel like killing myself. I've done that in two of my classes so far and it wasn't worth the headache.


I HIGHLY recommend Fassil Fanta for ECON 705. He's extremely organized and gives you all the material you need to pass the quizzes and tests. And the weekly discussion questions are mostly really interesting. There's some group work, but it's not too bad at all.


Replies (0)
Replies (0)
00
PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
quote:

Does anyone have suggestions about what electives to pair together?


I'm only two weeks in, but i feel that FIN 730 with Choi is extremely doable as a double. I'm doubling it now and doing fine. Basically 3 chapters and a discussion one week, 3 chapters, a discussion and exam the next. 730 could be a prerequisite to FIN 701 really. Not much math. It's more about the market make-up.


PresJohnTyler
Member since Mar 2019
73 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Any advice on my last 3 courses? Econ, MADM 701 & MADM 760.

I will already be taking my last FIN course next semester but would really like to double it with a MADM. Then double Econ with my last MADM. Any tips on doable doubles and which Professors to absolutely not double? So far I've gathered to avoid Meeks, Williams, and James for MADM and Shaughnesssy
for Econ if doubling.


courtknee_
Member since Nov 2019
2 posts

re: LSUS Online MBA Reviews
Anyone currently in ISDS 710 with M. Darrat?


Jump to page
Page First 426 427 428 429 430 ... 433
Jump to page
first pageprev pagePage 428 of 433next pagelast page

Back to top

logoFollow TigerDroppings for LSU Football News
Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to get the latest updates on LSU Football and Recruiting.

FacebookTwitterInstagram